Celebrations in Elgeyo Marakwet County today to mark the transformation of 1200 women who previously were illicit brewers and who contributed to widespread alcoholism in their community. Four Governors to grace the important event.
Good move.
Was it a community driven initiative @gashwin ? Any other details?
from what i’ve gathered from a live report on Citizen TV it is the culmination of a campaign spearheaded by the county govt and NACADA.
They just created 1200 new jobs…addicts ni wale wale.
This is great, huko mashinani the uptake of changaa was getting out of control. The only thing which helped them is that the area has plenty of food so they ate well during the day as they tend to the farms but drunk a lot at night. That vicious cycle would weaken the body and soon it was unsustainable. I’m glad change is here.
Other counties with alcoholism issues should follow suit. I won’t mention names for fear of my analysis being labelled a stereotype
alcoholism and other drug abuse is a plague countrywide and you don’t have to single out any counties. kila watu wanapambana na hali yao kivyao ilhali wengine wanajifanya hawaoni kinachoendelea kwao.
Hata mimi pia hunywa tembo
hata mimi hunyua mvinyo kiasi lakini kunao wamelemewa hivi kwamba wanavyo tegemea ulevi ni ugonjwa.
what of their customers ? Reform the brewer lakini kastamaaa ako tu hapo
we mzee the magnitude of alcoholism in some counties is ten times worse than in my county.
can you provide some empirical data
What have they transformed to?
I hope they have new income generating jobs.
Statistics and Trends
Current use of alcohol is defined as those reporting use of alcohol in the last one month. About 16.6% of urban dwellers are current users of various types of alcohol compared to 11.4% of rural dwellers. This represents a marginal decline from the estimates of the 2007 rapid assessment survey. Besides North Eastern and Central regions where current usage of alcoholic drinks is less than 10%, in all other provinces at least 10% of the residents are current alcohol consumers. Considering individual alcoholic beverages, Nairobi has the highest current usage of packaged/legal alcohol (15.7%) followed by Central (9.2%). For chang’aa, Nairobi has the highest current usage (7.2%) followed closely by Western (7.1%). Rift Valley has the highest current usage of traditional liquor (6.0%) followed by Nyanza (5.1%). For current usage of 2nd generation alcohol, it is highest in Rift Valley (2.0%) followed by Nairobi (1.3%).
Nairobi has highest rate of alcohol consumption, according to a recent survey by the National Campaign Against Drug Abuse (Nacada).
Nyanza and North Eastern have the lowest consumption rate.
Central Kenya also has one of the lowest rates, highlighting the success of the ongoing anti-drinking campaigns.
LOWEST RATE
The Nacada data shows North Eastern and Nyanza have the lowest rate of 2.0 and 10.2 per cent respectively.
Central is third with a prevalence rate of 10. 6 per cent compared to Nairobi, Eastern, Western and Rift Valley, which have 17.5, 14.3, 13.4 and 13.2 per cent respectively.
ni nyani haoni kundule,
subjective research
copied from the NACADA resource you directed me to. he he…i have the feeling you really want to go by the stereotype coz it is more juicy…:D:D:D