Israel still does this to date. The young men and women are taught life skills. Mtu akitoka hapo anajua self defence as well as what line of work to pursue. Africa has millions of youth who end up in drinking dens due to lack of such opportunities. NYS was a good idea but it was hijacked by Uhuru’s girlfriend and looted like sh!t.
We go back to the same problem. Poor governance. Why can’t we execute 100 corrupt mofos on camera liwe funzo?
It’s not easy with the democratic space we have, its best for one to really hustle, educate kids to college and even Msc while exposing them to various business environments and let them define a path for themselves.
Path to devt should be self conscious, not battle drilled into one. Secondly, the govt doesn’t have the finances to enlist all youth for some paramilitary sort of training, even for free such camps need alot of capital to establish and give them purpose.
Either way, what happens if joblessness persists and one turns out hard-core? Before such policies are passed an end game by govt should be drafted, absorb the youth into some form of gainful employment as they get a footing.
Hapa uko na point but its not really going to help Kenya much.
The problem with Kenya i would say is:
A culture of selfishness, self centredness and lack of national unity. This breeds citizens who only care about themselves and who will do anything and everything to acquire wealth and power
Lack of good old dollars. Kenya does not generate a lot of money to enable it do some of these things that we desire. E.g. look at Konza city…the dream is there, the good will is there but hakuna pesa ya ku develop. Look at all the highways we desire to build…again hatuna pesa ya kujenga and we must take loans from external sources.
What benefits mwananchi wa kawaida will never see the light if the day…when they oppossed increasing nssf from ksh 200 and instead increased nhif to a max of 1800 such that a 70k pays the same na 2M pay i knew africans are cursed lot
if 12 years of useless education cannot instil discipline and initiative sasa miaka mbili ya useless military training itasaidia kweli. ata ningekuwa mbali sana if it wasn’t for the crappy 8-4-4 system