We have all the ingredients here in Africa to set up serious manufacturing. When you go to supermarkets in Kenya even toothpicks are from China, toothpaste is from Vietnam. What don’t we have? We have Human capital that is young, we have the minerals, we have untapped geothermal along the Rift Valley from Northern Ethiopia to Mozambique.
Fools export raw Coffee to Europe and Import Nescafe from Swiss at double the price
[SIZE=5][FONT=arial]Manufacturing is the only way out![/FONT][/SIZE]
We are still an agrarian economy. It is unfortunate that we do not have the skills to match the manufacturing capacity of the eastern and western countries.
manufacture what? tax on power, tax on fuel, tax on water, tax on everything kampuni gani itengeneze kitu hapa? Hata mahindi you cant produce in kenya uuze popote coz cost of production. Na bado hujuma number tuko nayo sasa tutatax mpaka waruu
We were not at par..That’s a lie told repeatedly to show us how badly we’ve Don. Singapore’s population is mainly Han Chinese and to say that we were on the same level with them is to be a joker
Niliona clip flani ya cocoa farmers somewhere in Ivory Coast wenye hata hawajai onja chocolate, which is derived from the plant they grow and export.Hata kucheka ama kulia nilishindwa wallai.
People are competing about making reusable rockets na sisi hapa we can’t even sell our maize, we have to import it from Mexico. Kwani Mwafrica ni Nyani ya Sampuli gani?
How can an OX cart be at par with a ROCKET? Who told you that We Black Africans are Real Human Beings? We are only good at USELESS business such as Churches. On Sunday all TV stations in Kenya are occupied with nonsense and bullsh!t preachers conning people. Africa needs to be nuked tuishe generation ingine iletwe waanze upya.
I concur 101% Mwafrika sio mtu Kamili. Na kama watabishana waulize mbona wana import toothpicks from China. Mnaimport mpaka dawa zimeandikwa kwa Kichina! Why don’t Africans have their own Scripts like the Indians, Chinese, Hebrews, Caucasians. Why didn’t the gods leave us with scripts like the other races? Because they knew we use muscles instead of brains.!
Good observation. The Chinese, Indians, English, Hebrews, Arabs,Japanese etc all had their own alphabet and writing system. I wonder why we never had ours as a race or in our tribes.
All of you are partly right and also completely wrong. You have no idea on the direction the world is taking because you do not read enough and only regurgitate bar talk. Here goes: manufacturing should be left to those who can do it cheaply and efficiently like the Chinese. The Western world understands this very well, even iPhones are manufactured in China.
The World is moving in 3 areas: 1. The internet of things. 2. Data analytics. 3. Robotics. Now you all know that the worlds biggest taxi company Uber does not own a single taxi - reason? - data and analytics. The world’s retailer Amazon does not have malls or crap like that and Google knows when your kunguru is pregnant before you do - heck, they even know a there is an epidemic before govt knows. For the young people in Kenya, this are the areas to focus, learn your IT, forget about buying plots or shambas crap - that is soo 1970’s. Lastly you have a brain, use it and leave the afro-pessimists behind - it does not matter anymore your physical location as long as you are wired - end of rant.
Singapore was coming out of the second world war and Japanese occupation but had a 100% literate population of traders etc- this is a small detail people don’t know.