Addis- Djibouti Electric Rail

An electric rail cutting across Ethiopia from its capital Addis Ababa all the way to the Red Sea state of Djibouti will start operating by September this year, Getachew Betru, the CEO of the Ethiopian Railway Corporation, has said.

“We have completed 95 per cent of the project. We are waiting for allocation of electricity for the line and will start full operation in September,” said Betru.

The Addis Ababa-Djibouti Railway links Addis Ababa with the port of Djibouti, providing landlocked Ethiopia with improved railroad access to the sea. The line is expected to boost Ethiopia’s trade by reducing the goods movement duration from two days to eight hours. Currently, hundreds of trucks were transporting goods between the two countries, taking a total of four days for a round trip.

The $3 billion railway will boost trade in the region by introducing faster movement of goods, reducing the time to two hours from eight hours. However, hundreds of trucks take a minimum of four days for a round trip between the two points.

China is building the 756km electric railway with financing from the Export-Import Bank of China.

Swali langu ni what then happens to LAPSSET?

[ATTACH=full]51374[/ATTACH]

nikiona izi train I get a hardon. seriously wen are we building ours like this ata kaa ni 10km

Hapa Djibouti wanakula kilazima! Ethiopia inawabidi kuendeleza huko ili kwao kuendelee! Ni kama mpishi wa Uhuru hula kile Uhuru mwenyewe anakula!

and we are constructing a locomotive

Unajua, @Okiya, what is funny is that if you search the Internet for the Ethiopian sgr the results that come out are the ones about the Kenyan sgr, especially the images! Why is it that way?

I don’t know. Maybe the Kenyan one is discussed more ( both positively & negatively) than the Ethiopian.

I work with Ethiopians, I know how they think, these people never boast on anything,they prefer to do things on silence.
What I’m wondering though is their budget is 3b and is electric, ours is 200+ billion and is locomotive? Even if it’s land compensation things aren’t adding up

I think the subject you are raising has been been discussed exhaustively, here and elsewhere, especially in the Skyscrapercity forum on the Kenya sgr project. What I now understand is that the two projects are not comparable, or perhaps they are too comparable! The land question is even not in the budget for the Kenyan sgr. The standards of the work is what makes most of the differences! Most of the Kenyan sgr is elevated over long stretches, but the Ethiopian sgr is largely on the ground. The Kenyan budget includes more rolling stock than the Ethiopian. Besides, what was initially given as the cost of the Ethiopian sgr was not conclusive, at least at the time when there was euphoria about the cost of the Kenyan sgr. After the final cost was calculated and made public the Ethiopian sgr turned out to be more expensive than the Kenya sgr by a long shot! I will try to get the link.

Ethiopia is more of a command economy, meaning if the government wants to implement such a project, you can be evicted without compensation and there’s nothing you’ll do about it. Even if you’re compensated, it’ll be some shitty amount that will always amount to less than what the land is worth. The same model has allowed China to build infrastructure quite rapidly. For every shiny new project these governments commission, there are thousands of bitter citizens who have been displaced and/or dispossessed.
Contrast that with Kenya where the government has to consult with and offer landowners above market rates before they can allow projects to commence.

Ethiopians wamekaziwa sana hata internet access ni shida. Ukiona mwenye ako active online labda ni sonko. Government propaganda is also dull so even if state media puts up articles concerning such projects, I doubt they get wide circulation. Also, Ethiopia’s official language is Amharic so I doubt the few who have internet connection post in English.

And you really believe that? OK, what about the electric and locomotive part? IT’S LIKE TRYING TO CONVINCE ME TO BUY A BLACK AND WHITE TV OVER AN LED TV AT A HIGHER PRICE…!! Why? Because you had to transport it on a donkey to the shop. Does that make sense to you?
Nonesense

We Cheki hiyo train. First world standard. Then compare to the chieth the govt wants to put here… Hehehe… I now agree with people who say that sometimes we Kenyans are full of ourselves until we step outside. Getting ancient shit for a dear price…
@spear Ebu kam kiasi

That’s is not a train. For more info research on it.

I

They could have lied to me, but it is a damn good lie that it convinced me! I, therefore, don’t want no more argument, because I cannot be prevailed upon to believe otherwise!

Tueleze zaidi

@Okiya, LAPSSET targeted southern Ethiopia, eastern Ethiopia will be served by Berbera, Northern Ethiopia will be served by Port Sudan, and Central Ethiopia where Addis is based will be served by Djibouti, so LAPSSET is still alive. Then even if they closed all their borders with Kenya, we still have oil we need to ship out and half a country that needs to be opened up

Mdomo mrefu lakini hujui what you are discussing, vile @spear amesema that’s not the train.

The fuck are you getting your figures from? What currency is that?

Sawa @shocks lakini hawa Sudan na vita zao wanatulet down

So to power their trains they are killing our Lake Turkana. Time we put our aged F5’s to good use and level that dam instead of useless sorties killing half starved skinnies.

If you want to engage in a reasonable conversation f-bombs don’t give a shit to me . Ask like someone who has a Dick hanging in there not one who has two genitalias. I can drop f-bombs If I want to and use it selectively not at will as you …

So to answer your question like a one Dick handler, I got 3 billion from the newspaper I read somewhere up here .the 200b I got it estimates of total costs including the total loan repayments .it’s my estimate …and can be proven wrong .prove me wrong like one Dick handler :D:D

Do you think of kenya adopts the Ethiopian model we will be more progressive than all this political back and forth swing