Acting Police IG in Hot Water

@Lionheart

Hehehehe .:joy: :rofl: :fire: :fire:

IG

It’s called learning by experience. Long live the judge

Let us see if the IG ( … already himself a victim of the Law …) , the DCI , the DPP or Commissioner of Prisons will rise to the occasion:joy: :rofl: :hotsprings:

Hii ni mnyambo ya perdition

ii ni sarakasi. judiciary iache kutuharibia wakati na sideshows mingi.

The 7 days he was given are a stretch, too gracious. Keep the sentence neat and final, and let’s see the outcome.

Kenyan jail is for the poor.

A Notable Commentary:

So, Omwami Masengeli, the big Afwande, has been sentenced to jail for six months. Contempt of court.

Acting Inspector General Gilbert Masengeli inspecting a guard of honour

I kinda feel the brother. Even you, would you have gone to court to be asked by a kali judge, “Masengeli, it is you I am asking. Where are those three people?” Yet you knew that you could not answer where those people are because… No way the kamanda was going to stand there with a dry mouth.

Do you remember when we was kids, and you had broken your mother’s pot (iyamunyu), and you heard your name being called with thunder in the voice? Would you respond “I yam here!” and run to mama like a good child, or would you wisely go loitering far away, near the stream, praying that the broken iyamunyu problem would somehow go away?

As a veteran of several near-death sentences from the wife of the Polis on account of various crimes, including caning a noisy chicken, hata mimi ningejipandisha mutoka niende ziara huko Wajir - on a “classified” mission.

Smart move. He won’t be arrested. He won’t serve time. He won’t get fired. And the judge can’t now force him to appear and answer that question. Or can he?

And if he wanted a certificate of good conduct, he would get it today-today. :grinning:

By Ted Malanda

The problem with Kenya is that no part of the leadership is clean. Of it was, this would not be a puzzle. He would simply stand fired on grounds of that criminal conviction, as per the law. Once he’s no longer a cop, even a recent graduate of Kiganjo, the local area chief, or a market idler, can arrest him and take him to Kamiti. It’s a joke of a country, where leaders talk about “the rule of law”, yet they cannot understand that simple phrase.

Ni wewe haujui
kuna kitu inaitwa Tyranny by law ambae pia ni rule of law kijumla (generally)

The security assigned to High Court Judge Lawrence Mugambi has been withdrawn with immediate effect.

This comes barely three days after the judge sentenced Acting Inspector General of Police Gilbert Masengeli to 6 months in prison for contempt of court.

Mugambi had been assigned security after he raised concerns about being surveilled by police officers concerning multiple summonses of the acting IG.

According to the judge, senior police officers had made several inquiries of Mugambi’s whereabouts, reaching out to his driver and bodyguard.

Acting Inspector General of Police Gilbert Masengeli (left) and High Court Judge Lawrence Mugambi.

The commandant of Security of Government Buildings Lazarus Opicho was at the centre of the controversy, having been the one calling the driver and the bodyguard.

However, appearing before the court on Friday under the summon of Judge Mugambi, Opicho said that the calls were made out of genuine concerns for the judge’s security, especially after the shooting of a magistrate at Makadara Law Courts.

He then apologised to the judge saying, “After the Makadara Law Court shooting incident, I found it prudent to personally call the police assigned to the judge for a briefing,” Opicho said.

Asked why he had chosen to contact his aides instead of him directly, Opicho apologised for that as well and promised to be more direct the next time.

“I endeavour to serve you diligently and all the judicial officers and this will not happen again," Opicho stated.

Noting that the Acting IG was holding the judge at ransom, Judge Mugambi consequently sentenced him to 6 months in prison after missing court summons 7 times.

Despite his conviction, Masengeli is yet to start serving his sentence although he has been given a period of seven days to present himself.

Masengeli had been summoned in court to answer for the abductions and disappearances of activist Bob Njagi and siblings Jamil and Aslam Longton who were arrested by suspected police officers and never seen again about a month ago.

Acting Inspector General of Police Gilbert Masengeli has once again found himself between a rock and a hard place after petitioners sued him following the disappearance of Wajir Member of County Assembly, Yussuf Ahmed.

In their petition, the victim’s family moved to court seeking orders to compell the police IG and the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) boss Mohamed Amin to produce the lawmaker.

Ahmed’s family further demanded that the politician be released and presented in court alongside the two police bosses.

The MCA’s family while filing the case, faulted Masengeli and other police officers for failing to provide information regarding the disappearance of their kin.

Acting Police Inspector General Gilbert Masengeli

In the case filed jointly by the victim’s family and the Wajir County Assembly, the petitioners further called on the court to compel Masengeli and Amin to ensure the MCA’s safety wherever he is.

According to the petitioners, unless the court intervenes and compels the two senior officers into action, they will continue living in fear about their kin’s fate.

Wajir County Assembly speaker Abdilleh Yussuf while commenting on the matter, noted that activities at the County Assembly had been brought to a standstill following Ahmed’s abduction.

Yussuf was reportedly abducted on September 13 by unknown people while being driven through the Enterprise Road in Makadara Sub-County at around 9 pm.

While detailing his abduction, the family claimed that the assailants took the victim’s phone to bar him from communicating.

Following the incident, the taxi driver promptly reported the abduction to the Industrial Area Police Station and an immediate probe was launched.

However, efforts to reach the politician have hit the rocks despite efforts by the police to trace his whereabouts.

The MCA’s family while addressing the press noted that they had reported the matter to various police stations but no information about the lawmaker’s whereabouts was forthcoming.

Meanwhile, the new petition against Masengeli comes hardly days after he was sentenced to six months imprisonment after being found guilty of contempt of court.

Hehehehe
Now about to Roast:worried: :hotsprings:

:hotsprings:
#Ruto Must Go