[SIZE=7]What happens to men who stay bachelors for a lifetime?[/SIZE]
[SIZE=6]What you need to know:[/SIZE]
[li]Despite plenty of studies that show how parenthood and marriage benefit men, a growing body of research show that it’s more of a mixed-bag for bachelors than it was previously thought[/li][li]There are plenty of upsides (and some downsides) to staying alone forever. We spoke to four sworn bachelors who gave us insights on why they are not willing to say I do[/li][/ul]
Unlike in past decades, modern society has become far more accepting of men who remain bachelors. Also, recent studies indicate that modern-day bachelors are financially stable and have adopted an enjoyable lifestyle on their own and some find time to pursue a wide variety of women for company.
Samson Gitau, 50, Marketing Manager
“I often look at my close family and married friends and I can state with conviction that marriage is not a bed of roses. I have interacted with friends who feel compelled to cheat yet they are married, others abandon their children or some couples who argue and fight over everything. Rather than go through such marital disasters with someone I genuinely care about, I rationalise that remaining single is a much safer bet that will never cause harm to self and others. I hate making someone suffer because of my actions and hence, I would never want to commit to a relationship that is not bringing joy to the other party. I believe in giving the best in all that I do and hence, I have decided to be single and enjoy life. I love the freedom I have as a bachelor as I can go out with any woman I want without being controlled or inflicting pain to the other party. I enjoy the space that I have as I can travel anywhere in the world at any time without having to worry about anyone. With this, I have met many people from diverse cultures, religions, and races and this sparks joy and allows me to enjoy the beauty in the world.”
Stephen Mutahi, 47, a businessman
“Being a bachelor is fun as I am not accountable to anyone. I believe a relationship takes work and hence, you should invest your emotions and time. But, what happens when it does not work? You end up hurting and projecting the pain to your significant others. I have closely watched my friends who are married and I don’t like how their wives monitor every move they make. I love my space and this explains why I have chosen to be single and enjoy every single moment with my friends. Bachelors are not necessarily isolated and, we are more likely to have several close friends than married men. I don’t find a reason why your partner should monitor who you talk to, where, and how you do it. I believe in building friendships with a variety of people helps one to live longer and stave off cognitive debility. I spend most of my time traveling as my business involves importing and exporting farming products. I have met many friends who I believe I would never have met if I was married or in a serious relationship.
Of course, I hang out with women, but I always make it clear that I am not willing to be in any relationship. I have met women who find this very odd especially after spoiling them with expensive gifts and traveling together. I treat all women equally and I don’t have a favourite. Despite the peace and space, there are moments I am lonely and I just need some company. In such times, I go for a trip and by the time I am back, I have fully reenergized. Singlehood is fun but it depends on how you take it.”
Ile najua MGTOW lifestyle in African culture is frown upon by many especially watu wame grow up ocha.
If you are in your 60s without children, most of your friends and family will say you are either gaaaay or infertile.
Kama uko na kunguru wengi, they will say you are immature, childish and doesn’t want to grow up
Kama uko na mtoi lakini bibi haishi na wewe , you will be called a dead beat father who prefers kuhanya and doesn’t want responsibilities
Most of your friends and family will never call you to meetings when they need to discuss serious issues
My personal opinion ni ukitaka kukua MGTOW, after kuweka dem ball, wewe unaweza ingia karura partially but atleast agree to co parent, provide for the child, be there for the child, when they are sick in hospital, celebrating their birthday, graduations and always know what is happening kwa maisha ya mtoi.
Going full MGTOW has its advantages and disadvantages but mimi siwezi kua MGTOW and i will never judge someone who is one. But it takes some serious balls to live that life without regret
@Karoga likes this…
I actually bought today’s paper because of this story … meanwhile MGTOW=Freedom
I support MGTOW 100% tho’ in my case I’mma bout to hit a dead end. Yaani planteshen ni lazima in the near future nipende nisipende. That’s just the card I got dealt … it’s a shitty hand. But haidhuru…
Nani anakulazimisha kuingia mtego?
Or maybe the author of this article ni member wa this forum.
Huko pokot ukijaribu MGTOW viboko ndio zitakutoa huko
Mimi nimekuwa planteshen almost nine years, nasijaona challenge… Bora ukuwe na a good wife otherwise usijaribu
Ushawai tombewa bibi?
Ikifika ni bachelor for life, count me out.
I still wanna settle down in future.
Zi. Wangu nilmchukua akiwa mless akiwa form three she is 28 now…
Nilijilelea:D
Future warriors must be born to replace the current ones once they age.
Wakikuyu wamekataa kuoa. That story is highly sanitized. Ukienda campus and see what these thots do, you lose all interest in marriage.
Tuongee ukweli. Madem wamekuwa malaya juu mama zao walienda Beijing conference kuambiwa wanaume ni ghasia na bitter feminazis huenda shule weekends kuwafunza kuwa mang’aa in the name of motivational koso koso
Umetombewa. Acha kujisifu mbele ya wanaume hujui mwenye hukutombea
Nice. Am happy for you.
Ngumu sana. Si kuoa whore.
ata wenye hutombewa husema “hoo my ngoti i kent belifu thiis!!!” booohoohoohoo
Hehe ni rahisi sana kujua mwanamke aki cheat…