About Judge Odunga.

Wow. Just wow. These are indeed interesting times. A simple matter that started with an unknown taking on the establishment has opened debate on a question I’ve often pondered: is it possible to actually jail a big shot in Kenya?

And now we are heading somewhere. Judge Odunga has scratched at Pandora’s box. This little piece … this small little juggernaut is what is holding Kenya back from pushing through to the developed nation status. Can a judge in Kenya jail a big shot?!

In South Korea they certainly can. In the U.S. they certainly can. In Singapore they certainly can. Nations we aspire to be like!

And its not just that. In the same week, the Kenyatta-Moi-Odinga-Kibaki axis has been rattled. An unknown by the name of Miguna is trying to break through the veneer!

And anyone who understands Kenya’s simple, kingpin based politics can see that this guy is being bashed from both sides of the divide.

You see it’s safer in Uhuru’s mind to face off against the Raila he knows than a popular unknown. It is also safer in Raila’s mind to face off against the Kenyatta’s and the Kibaki’s and Kalonzo’s than against an unknown. What if this unknown won? What if he actually became a president who would wrought out all their ill gotten riches and well laid plans to remain in power and relevant forever? What if he fucked with their legacies, their progenies’ futures?

But that is a topic for another thread. But I love this new Kenyan constitution. It is doing things that are unheard of in Africa! It is asking questions that are too scary to ask. Can a small insignificant little judge bring a colossus to his knees?

A presidential election being repeated. Unknowns want to run against the establishment. And a judge asks the most difficult question ever asked not only in Kenya but in Africa: IS IT POSSIBLE TO JAIL A BIG SHOT?!

We can no longer blame the judiciary. Uhuru said his hands are tied it’s the judiciary’s fault…

That’s a big fat lie. Now it is evidently clear more than ever before who actually protects these people!

Who protects Waiguru, Matiang’i, Mangiti, Gichuru, Kidero, Biwott, corrupt police bosses etc etc. THE BIG FISH!
I asked Pamba in another thread why he can’t have tha balls to arrest someone like Samuel Gichuru and his friend Okemo na gazeti ziko na evidence ya kutosha against this guy and many others like him and the guy was completely mum.

What Pamba and other cops don’t understand is that a police officer in a normal democratic society, is the most powerful individual in that society. He is the sheriff!

And cops support judges and vice versa. A cop in the U.S. can arrest any motherfucker because he knows he is protected by the law. And that is a cost that came at a very great expense including American presidents who decided to let purges happen to even their personal close friends and relatives because the nation was almost destroyed by corruption. The mafia for instance almost completely destroyed America at one point.

So, officer Pamba do your job. This new constitution protects you as a junior as Odunga put it, just as it protects Wanjiku or even Odunga himself. But I’m not talking to all Pambas I’m talking about the good Pambas that love their country and are not corrupt. Hata huyo governor mwizi unaweza mshika. Hata Rai… mwenyewe hehe. Interesting times ahead.

That lady president of South Korea who was jailed recently for corruption is about Uhuru’s age. In fact they know each other from childhood. Her father used to come to Kenya to marvel at our progress in the early days of independence. But he chose a different route for his country. And because he took a different route, today not even his daughter is allowed to steal. And the economic difference between both nations today is obvious to anyone. We type on their phones and even heat our food in their microwaves. Everything is related and connected. Meanwhile hapa kwetu the mere thought of asking Kamwana a question is treason. Ati you put him in a black sedan, handcuffed like Madam Park Geun-hye… and drag him before a judge… Judge Odunga hehehehe…

But there is some hope with this new katiba. And thank you Judge Odunga partisan or not for bothering to ask this very dire question.

No matter how careless a man is, he cannot sit on his balls

Forthright and well put

Well put but the judiciary should first put it’s house in order the same case with office of DPP

The same judiciary that’s unable to jail corruption suspects.
The same courts where the moneyed run circles around the system to get away scot free from prosecution.
Duh, tell me another.

I doubt if umesoma the post

Kuna kitu huitwa ‘being realistic’…a judge in Kenya maybe protected but a cop may loose his life while playing hero.
As you also rightly castigate the senior govt officials, ask yourself how many Kenyans pay bribes to avoid jail time and also how many even have people who have sued them killed.
The same courts have cleared economic thugs and these thugs have gone ahead and vied for public office, yet the constitution and the judges were still in existence.
By the way in my opinion the judiciary needs to sober up. Kenya is a third world country, has poor foundations as a nation therefore there’s a level of liberalism that cannot work in this country but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t work towards it.

Judiciary uses evidence produced by the prosecution. If the evidence is insufficient then they have to acquit otherwise I today I claimed Mathaais came to my home, beat me up and robbed me Ksh 200 yet that did not happen then you will be accused of Robbery with violence and jailed just because I claimed it and nobody bothered to investigate. Same to those corruption cases, if the prosecution doesn’t provide sufficient evidence then the courts cannot jail otherwise we will be setting dangerous precedents. It is not the court’s job to collect evidence but the police and the prosecution so blame the prosecution

The constitution holds the independence of each arm of government at high level, and each arm should respect each arm in it’s duty. But the judiciary has been putting it’s fingers up the as.s of the other arms up due on activism level. Stopping the JSC to appoint members, stopping the parliamentary process, you name it they have stopped it… Well at some point this dictatorial of the judiciary had to be face hard on. It’s a pity that the have learnt it the hard way, when you push the other arm.

Miguna is a nobody, he is even too unstable for his own good.

Kenyan judiciary is biased and corrupt. Too much activism and anti establishment forces inside, a purge is necessary.

Justice Odunga is following the spirit of the law, an admirable traits in a judge. But he forgets that any ruling should be backed up with the coercive power of the government that is firmly in the executive court. Nowhere in the world does the judiciary try to dictate to the executive and yet it gives anticipatory bail to friendly politicians and deep pocketed individuals who have participated in malfeasance.

hapa hapana.

The Kenya National Commission on Human Rights has hit back at the self-proclaimed NRM general Miguna Miguna for refusing to present his travel documents for clearance at JKIA.
Chairperson Kagwiria Mbogori on Thursday told reporters the commission was disappointed with the city lawyer.
She said procedurally, these were the key documents that would have allowed Miguna’s re-entry but instead he adamantly refused to cooperate.
“The commission was disappointed with Miguna because the court orders had allowed him to use the Canadian papers he had traveled with to gain entry in the country.”
“He, however, adamantly refused to use the papers in a situation that boggled us,” Mbogori said.
"He rather became so boisterous at the immigration desk, pushed some of the immigration officers and forced his way to the luggage area which to us was a breach of the immigration rules.

wewe pia haujasoma post

Do you actually believe that the Kenyan Judiciary carries out its mandate in an impeccable manner? I am sure you don’t. The courts tend to hide behind ‘there was no enough evidence’ when they are bribed. It doesn’t mean the DPP should sleep on the job either.

my friend this condemnation only came after the commission was challenged by a news reporter over whether muguna wasn’t responsible for the stew he was in after failing to follow immigration procedures.
the press conference had been called to castigate the government for disobeying court orders,

As soon as i want to comment i find @Deorro Amesema exactly what i want to say. You sir are a very logical human and of sound mind.
Meanwhile most arguements are based on saying “kabla unishike shika ule kwanza” what kind of law is that? Illegal is just illegal. And most cases are not fully prosecuted because of incompetent cops, corruption and sometimes biased judges. Lets just call it corruption and incompetence

What a better country we could have. But the truth is every single person has an agenda even if they pretend to be non partisan.

Maina Kia claims to be a defender of human rights but since he hates the establishment so much, I don’t know alifanyiwa nini at least wanjigi I can understand, he even took the time to tell of Raila in a letter because he failed to bring down the ‘illegitimate government’.

That is why whenever an opportunity presents itself he is there on TV telling is how corrupt and evil jubillee is. Thank God for our tribal shades. They are not always a bad thing.

You also ask yourself why NASA always choose Odunga and why does he offer orders favorable to them all the time? How does Joho escape justice while it is perfectly clear his academic qualifications are questionable? How does one court order another court to stop a case against wanjigi? How does someone caught with their hand in the cookie jar, someone clearly guilty suddenly released by the court?

The topic is interesting but your arguments a bit shallow. First of all, this is not the first time a senior gvt official has been called or warned on contempt. The same odunga sentenced the security ps to three months in Jail before he realised he was just doing nonsense. Another magistrate once issued a warrant of arrest against Nkaissery.

It is the Police that protect the law and the judge, not the law that protect the police. The thing that protects the police is the people. either through approval of their actions or fear of their coercive power. The law is nothing. A useless piece of paper. The constitution is rubbish without the barrel of the gun. The constitution/law can’t even protect itself, how will it protect a police officer?

The rich are actually protected by the courts. All they do is go to the courts and get orders not to be arrested when they suspect they are in hot soup