A quick Ethnicity Experiment

This map here shows the distribution of Kenyan communities, not all of them but am sure everyone knows where they lie.
[ATTACH=full]72570[/ATTACH]

The British came and setup the Tribal reserves thing. So, I was just wondering. Since Kenyans tend to harbor a propensity to coalesce around their communities whenever politics comes up, what if instead of counties, we had Tribal states in our respective homelands. Then we allow the states to work according to a standardized version of african administration. You know, like the Amakuru and Chiefs in Western.

Then everyone we have neutral centers for the sake of national administration, trade and commerce. Which would be run through representative democracy. For instance Nairobi, Mombasa…

Where would you choose to stay ? Comfortable familiar Tribal cocoon or Neutral ground ?

blue dots dots uko Rift valley all the way to western are Kikuyus?

Why is Kipsigis separate from Kalenjin?

good question vuja deki

I read somwhere that a marriage between one of the daughters of Gikuyu and a Kipsigis man gave rise to the Kisii community

I like your thinking.

because there is no tribe called Kalenjin… There is also no tribe called Luhya originally… And if it suited Moi, there would be KaMaTuSa instead of Kalenjin.

The way the map has grouped Luhyas together and also Mijikenda, they should do the same to Kalenjin for the sake of uniformity

We might pretend otherwise but the only solution is less tribalism. Less acknowledgment of tribes.
Make ID county based with a 5 year expiry.
Remove place of birth from ID.
Limit non-Kiswahili & English media (TV/Radio) to small broadcast radius.
We should be doing everything in our power to counties from tribal identity but we are actually going the opposite direction.
The advantages of tribelessness are very clear to those from small tribes or those of multiple ethnicities. In the current system the only winners are a few politicians.

doing things for the sake of other things has landed us in a bad place, hasn’t it?

What happens when people start complaining that central government is marginalizing a particular region? Highly likely a single community will be called all kind of names, thieves, power hungry, patriarchy.

Oh, wait, that is already happening.

where are kenyan indians

No kuria in that map

Wacha hizo. Kuna kisii and luhya dialect somewhere in Nigeria and there are no kipsigis and kikuyu huko

wewe ni half cast ya mluyha na mkisii,i can imagine ile ujinga wewe huwa nayo

Niaje impure blood

sema vuja ndethe

umepeleka wapi cousin wangu @Chloe

where exactly?

I thought there were 42 tribes in Kenya.