A great piece here

From Ted Malanda

[SIZE=4]A country is doomed when its ‘best’ leaders are Uhuru, Raila and Mudavadi[/SIZE]

in 2013, we missed the joke of the year when the goddess of laughter announced that Kenya’s leading presidential candidates were Raila Odinga, Uhuru Kenyatta and Musalia Mudavadi.

In one of Africa’s greatest nations, land of amazing wildlife and 40 million people, home of Waiyaki wa Hinga, Koitalel Arap Samoei, Field Marshal Dedan Kimathi, Mekatilili Wa Menza, Lwanda Magere and Mukite son of Nameme, the best we had were Raila, Uhuru and Musalia. Good Lord!

Can you recall something philosophical and profound that those three said last month? Last year? Ever? When you listen to them, does their intellect, depth and grasp of issues hit you smack in the face? Thought so.

No wonder they were whitewashed during a presidential debate by a joker called Mohammed Abduba Diba, a man who would have great difficulty convincing a village baraza in Wajir to allow him to cough. We should have laughed, but we didn’t. Big mistake.

When a journeyman steals the show in a debate against the country’s foremost leaders – the son of an iconic freedom fighter and president, the son of a vice president and towering opposition leader, and the son of a former powerful Cabinet minister – it can only mean one thing: Iko shida. We have a crippling shortage of political talent.

Let us begin with MaDVD. Everyone agrees Mudavadi is a nice person. But the nasty thing about life is that nice people belong in a kindergarten, not State House. Countries are transformed by ruthlessly efficient and determined people. Rwanda’s Paul Kagame is not nice. Ethiopia’s Meles Zenawi was not a nice person. Transforming a country, especially a kumbafu one like ours, requires a bad ass guy who kicks butt like kicking butt is running out of fashion. You know what I mean?

That, by the way, is a weakness Mudavadi shares with Uhuru Kenyatta and William Ruto. In 2013, half of the country was dying to undress for them. The two were posing in elegant suits on billboards and claiming they would transform Kenya (it must have sounded very funny to them!) But that they were posing with Charity Ngilu, Najib Balala and Joseph Nyaga in that billboard should have sent sirens screaming nyuuuwii! nyuuuwii! in our heads. When you are going to transform a dead country, you carry a stick, an axe, a machete and a hoe. When you walk in carrying Balala, Ngilu and Nyaga on your back, you are a joker.

Anyhow, we bought it hook, line and sinker. We are so reckless that we actually elected two guys who stood the risk of getting locked up in a foreign jail by the International Criminal Court. Such is our recklessness that had those two been locked up at The Hague, we would have been stuck with Justin Muturi. Yes, that one.

That Uhuru and Ruto looked across Kenya and decided Muturi was the best person to be speaker of the national assembly isn’t surprising. I mean, they saw a bright spark, shining star, in Joseph Ole Lenku and Kazungu Kambi, too!

Remember Ruto was in something called Youth for Kanu. When the country was falling apart, and everyone was crying for change, Ruto was handing out ‘fake’ Sh500 notes to villagers and cooking inflation to buy votes. Now he was staring us in the face, saying he wanted to transform Kenya and we believed him.

Meanwhile, Uhuru’s political career was as short as a miniskirt. More scaring is that there was nothing particularly inspiring about his ministerial career, which was even shorter than a miniskirt. Yet we believed he was this great leader who was going to transform Kenya.

We forgot that as Kanu boss, he didn’t dare call a delegates meeting because even those incompetent Kanu yajenga nchi crooks were so pissed off with him they wanted to fire him. You know why? He abdicated his duty as leader of the official opposition and refused to run for office in 2008, instead throwing his lot with Kibaki, the very man he was meant to oppose. Like Kizza Besigye of Uganda supporting Museveni. Who does that?

In fact, when the late John Michuki popped up with the idea that Uhuru should run for office, people thought he was comically juggling a piece of liver. Uhuru?

Well, we missed that joke and now we are sitting here gnashing our teeth and screaming about El Nino sanitary pads worth Sh6, 000 and a government that is so broke that Kenya Power can stroll in whistling and disconnect power at the National Assembly.

Not that Raila would have been any better. As Prime Minister and co-principal of the coalition government, he had been thoroughly outmanoeuvred by the sickly Mwai Kibaki, the aloof politician christened “General Kiguoya” (coward) by his own people.

It is Raila who came up with that pea brained idea to sell unga at one price for the rich and another for the poor. All we got for that brainwave was a smelly maize scam (and you know the scum who chewed that maize, don’t you?). But we kept shouting, “Baba! Baba!”

We hailed him as a reformist and democrat despite him leading shambolic political outfits where party elections are a cocktail of nepotism, mindless violence and outright robbery.

A Legio Maria adherent, he was baptised by the ‘Mighty Prophet of The Lord David Owour’, stepped into the Kayas of the coastal people, and crept into the shrine of Elijah Masinde’s Dini ya Musambwa. He had eaten iftar with Muslims while dressed in kanzus and even laid claim to being a direct descendant of Nabongo Mumia of the Wanga people. But instead of asking ourselves, “Just who is this man who wants to be everything?” we kept screaming, “Baba! Baba!”

We ignored the fact Baba had a singular knack for shedding talent and surrounding himself with rude, noisy clowns, that WikiLeaks had quoted his own lieutenants saying he has poor managerial skills, and that he just didn’t seem able to keep friends, the reason he kept losing elections (or rigged out depending on whom you listen to).

When Kalonzo was leaving in 2007, his sycophants said, “Let him go. He is inconsequential”. Kalonzo left with 800,000 votes and Raila lost the election. Now Mudavadi was leaving and the same clowns were shouting, “Let Mudavadi go. He is inconsequential!” Mudavadi left with 450,000 votes and you know what happened.

But like a bunch of fools, we kept screaming “Baba! Baba!” believing he could transform Kenya. Transform Kenya? The guy couldn’t even transform his own political party!

The hilarity of it all is that he told us the election was about reformists (him) and non-reformists yet his co-principals were Kalonzo Musyoka and Moses Wetangula. And the nonsense of it all didn’t bother us.

When Miguna Miguna tried to convince us to ask certain questions of the man who were dying to elect, we chased Miguna like a mongoose. Ask Baba questions? Were you mad, Miguna Miguna?

Miguna was not mad. It is us who were mad. So we voted for Kamwana. We voted for Baba. And we voted for MaDVD. What choice did we have? Now we are broke. In three years, we can’t point at one thing and say, “this is what we have accomplished”. Tribes are dying to fling stones, bows and arrows at each other. The nation is bleeding. And what our leaders are doing? Figuring out who fixed Ruto.

The funniest thing about it is that the 2017 general elections are months away and guess who we are stuck with? Uhuru, Raila and Mudavadi!

Ted Malanda is the Associate Editor, Nairobian

Visit his blog at www. tedmalanda.com

25 Likes

[SIZE=1]Lwanda Magere ni hekaya[/SIZE]

mwenye atamaliza kusoma kwanza apost analysis

sijaisoma yote so kenye mwenye ameisoma atasema

Hii story itanifanya nichelewe kupanda Forward Travellers. And off to the local to celebrate mashujaa day! Nitasoma hii story wednesday:):):slight_smile:

I don’t know why i can’t stop laughing:D:D:D

I concur, we are a nation wallowing in mediocrity and applauding (depending on which side you are on) mediocre leaders.
Till we stand up as one people and say enough is enough ‘you won’t eat on behalf of my tribe and name’,these ‘leaders’ will continue shafting us and taking us for the fools we rightly are.

A well written piece indeed. The crop of leaders we have today is way too weak to impliment any changes. Being a staunch kamwana sycophants by default, i have of late been forced to shed the green goggles and view the withered landscape for what it is. Things are terribly wrong, friends. Really wrong. If ever our motherland needed her true patriotic sons to stand and be counted, that time is now. It is not well, not by any strecth of imagination.

15 Likes

Nimesoma and i will summarize it in the best way i can and make it short for even a 2 y.o can understand. Here I go…Its all about the “different forest same monkeys phrase” and how we recycle these leaders who some how come from very rich families…Raila, uhuru, mudavadi. The poster also pin pointed Ruto’s 1992 YK scandal. This scandal nearly brought kenya to its knees and same time made Ruto stinkng rich and yet we still keeep on re electing this bafoons . In short e kenyans never learn

Vitu ndefu kaa hizi msee hujipata ameruka straight hadi kwa comments

hapa niko na wewe kapsaa, yaani 2017 sioni niki piga kura

@karl max this post is too short. read it in 2 minutes. you could have expounded further with your own words.

God help us

those of you who claim to not have read the article should not even bother commenting in the first place. that being said, i like the way this tony guy puts it into perspective to an extent you’re left yearning for him to continue. this country has really gone to the dogs and these fuckers in office dont seem to care.its just a sad state of affairs

Patia alternative kura kama ni PK ama Tuju lakini dont let that vote go to waste. That’s how change is brought ama your lack of voting will make the nad guys stick to power

@Kalmarx, Tuseme ,if u went missing for 1 yr…unaeza andika a whole novel hapa…Nkt

[ATTACH=full]18415[/ATTACH]

Alafu hii administration ya kenya sijui imefanyia international comm favor gani ndio wapewe rating poa. All I hear is one or another body from UN, NGO, or some other world something saying that kenya is the most promising, kenya is growing etc.
When UK holds on to power in 2017, more arrogance will prevail as this will be the last term.
I am now beginning to see obaks in good light. He didnt change the tune or turn into a dictator in his last term while he had the power to. He also didn’t try to force a successor on people, though this might have been to secure a future for himself.

My humble appeal to Raila.

The king is naked. You can smell blood. But kindly do not vie for the 2017 elections. You will not win! Sad but true. Those ODM lawmakers saying that there is still one bullet left are lying to you. They are selfish. They want to use your name to get themselves into offices.

What I have learned over the past 2 years is that there is a big constituency of people who voted uhuru because he is has less evils. Others voted for uhuru because of the fear of the unknown about your presidency.

The best you can do for us is to back a neutral candidate and rally the people. Tuju, Kenneth etc. come to mind. But not Kalonzo or Wetangula. You do not have to be the king.

Signed Okiya.

18 Likes