A Doll’s House.. Henrik Ibsen

Who choses these books for our secondary schools pupils??
Any educators in the house?
Ok Henrik Ibsen is big in Norway as Ngugi wa Thiong’o is in Kenya.
Ibsen is or at least he was mandatory in the Norwegian syllabus at least before the reform of 94, but for very different reasons.

I would like to know what and who recomended Henrik Ibsen’s “A dolls house” to the Kenyas education board to be an instrument in grooming and shaping the future leaders of Kenya.
A subsequent question is also,
How is “a dolls house”, relevant to the average Kenyan child as the nation Kenya is moving towards realisation of its vision 2030?

In my humble opinion the Scottish economist and moral philosopher Adam Smith is a more relevant study for, and any aspiring nation than the literature poet Henrik Ibsen is.

A dolls house summery
https://www.enotes.com/topics/dolls-house

We are still under the indirect rule of white men. There is no way we shall ever live without being fed their garbage one way or the other.

if you cant see the relevance, enda uitishe school fees.
ION, there is a thread on how a lady conned her fiance off their joint venture

Op delete kabla wafike

the book is more feminism tendency and is biased on women empowerment. the main character a married woman- Nora leaves her husband and children then unajiuliza kwani tunaelekea wapy as a society if we are promoting single parenthood esp to girls.

Thank you…
Again, you see how these “donors” sneak their agendas from FGM, LGBT.
Not that im for violence but this is how the disciple in our schools got out of hand.
You talk of corruption, here you have it, killing the seed before it grows. Guess all this was facilitated by Innovation Norway’s office in Nairobi.
But again, little knowledge is very dangerous as you can see the answers from the two malenges number tatu na nne. Pure Kenyan bimbos
[SIZE=1]Wharrashem[/SIZE]

Can’t relate hii tunawachia watu wa high school na wanaofanya literature walimu and the likes

Lazima huyu mwandishi alikuwa single matha!

wewe ndiye maembe. You dont seem to understand the role of literature. Literature is not always prescriptive as you insinuate, infact many schools of thought in literature abhor prescription because it becomes propaganda. Nora is a character present in our society, how we respond to her depends on our values as a society

in our year we did 2 plays: An enemy of the People by [SIZE=5][COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]Henrik Ibsen[/SIZE] and Shred of tenderness by John Ruganda. The stories were The River Between by Ngugi wa Thingo and Half a day and other stories…

Sioni shida lolote with that book, let them read it

Feminism

I see, I understand brother.

In the 70’s, there was a group of 7-8 middle income nations that were racing towards industrialisation and eventually fully develop.
Only 2/3 of these nations maged to hit the milestone.

These 8 nations were Mexico, Thailand, Singapore HongKong, Argentina, Brazil, Taiwan and South Korea.
By the mid 80, almost all of these nations had met all the conditions laid out by the bretton woods foundation, but unfortunately some of these nations had a limited vision in some key areas of human development. Those that reformed their syllabus of education ie Singapore, Taiwan, S Korea soon had a population that could appreciate the benefits of the socio- political economic changes that were taking place.
China was “silently” studying these radical changes in it’s back yard but it was savvy enough to make the plunge.

Watch this tube maybe you will get my drift

I hear you brother, but if you reread my input you will clearly see mine is not opposing literature per say, but questioning the relevancy of knowledge and instilled values that are fed to the future leaders of our nation.
Remember, every nation has a vision and social norms, and there-in lies many factors to foster a desired directional path (in our case, we have a vision 2030) in fostering a desired society.

It is not by chance the Norwegians are on record showering Professor Ngugi wa Thiong’o with very many accorlades and awards on multiple occasions.
But their very powerful sociologists will never EVER permit Ngugi to be unleshed to their children for the very reasons that, Ngugis history, perspective of life, background, social norms and vision are very allien, different and not compartible with values and norms the Norwegian government wants for it’s children.
So it begs why our people don’t question and critically analyse some of the material fed to the future leaders of this nation.

how is it single parenthood. NORA leaves her husband and children. SHE ONLY TAKES HER STUFF and claims that she goes to educate herself. So it does not promote single parenthood to girls.
As Chimmamanda Ngozi Adichie says feminism is not necessarily a negative thing. The women in the society are mothers to boys. If they are empowered to be independent (by thinking for themselves; not necessarily by leaving their families to find this education) this means they will bring up children both male and femalewho eaually respect each other.
Kenya is still traditional in a way that the role of the woman in the socoety is still primitive especially in the rural areas. So in my opinion this book has a major role to play in our society.

Henrik I

Ibsen is a man.
He is known to have written very provocative books amd in fact the German government begged him to write an alternate ending to the play since it went against societal norms.
Again this does not promote single motherhood becauseNora leaves her children.

Nora did not just wake up one morning and decide to leave her home, neither did she leave it because she was wicked.
Change in this world is constant and the old ways are slowly fading so don’t expect us or our kids to follow the same suit as our mothers and grandmothers did…kuvumilia shida.

W

Well said my fellow Kenyans. I am scrolling through the comments and getting tiny explosions in my brain because the ideas are so far fetched. We don’t seem to realize there are other books written by a Kenyan pushing gor women empowerment.

Kenya is a very sophisticated society educations wise. Sadly if you ever visit a small village huko mashinani or just have a chat with the high school students of the small villages, you will understand that A dolls house plays a major role in self education, self empowerment and self appreciation not only for women but for men(boy child).
I think once its purpose has been achieved we can move on to a new book. They keep changing anyway.
Henrik Ole Kulet’s book pushes for women empowerment even more than Ibsens book.
It is anti FGM , anti gender based violence, and anti early marriages. Pro Education and pro women and men empowerment. There is a character called Joseph, who without being so informed and educated would never manage to have an intellectual conversation with a girl named Resian. So I believe these books have been well thought out.

Oh please quit referring to one of the most iconic books as garbage. It beats the whole purpose of education. Open mindedness, dynamism in thinking as well as globalization are things to consider when dealing with this book. I assure you it is not garbage.

I appreciate your feedback. Thank you