54% of Kenyans stop paying NHIF contributions

54% (5.7M members) had stopped paying their NHIF contributions by end of last month.

Why

Hawana kakitu banae

Uhuru anachapa kazi bwana.

Hio kitu utalipa alafu wakuruke ukienda hosi. I propose Kenyans walipange insurance ya private insurance companies kama Minet ama Madison.

I saw a documentary that said NHIF had become a way for the poor to pay hospital bills for the rich. I.e both poor and rich pay, but due to corruption only the rich can assess the NHIF funds through corruption.

Uwongo. Small sis alienda hosi last week na waliaccept NHIF. No need of lying all the time.

How much monthly or yearly… do you have a full breakdown. Want to take for my old folks back in county.

Hii NHIF ni chieth! I had a medical distress, they refused to pay even a coin coz eti it was covid related. Tried appealing to the CEO coz the bill was a 3.8m, wakasema they will pay for the bed but nilifuatilia mpaka nikachoka! sikupata kitu ng’o! Tusiongee maneno ya insuarances, hao nilisukuma wakalipa 500k pekee eti its on ex gratia terms…nkt. I felt let down!

Wewe mbwa leta info na context. Nhif inakataliwa kila pahali, almost 80% hospitals hawachukui. Ni kunyanyasa wananchi

Pole Sana elder. Natumai uliacha kulipa hao washenzi.

We retard wacha matusi

NHIF is a scam

Everytime NHIF is mentioned huyu jamaa atwambie pesa hupotelea wapi. Kazi si kupigwa na mbutwaa
[ATTACH=full]377369[/ATTACH]

Acha nikutumie ya Madison…
[ATTACH=full]377377[/ATTACH]

NHIF is not a scam. They paid 100% of my mum’s medical bills pale Tenwek. They just check two things:

1. Whether you have been religiously paying on time
  2. The type of hospital you take your patient to (huwezi mpeleka Aga Khan and you expect them to pay 100%)

She was there for like two weeks, I never paid a single cent.

If it can’t pay for the best medical care its useless, for one to go to those pricey hospitals its usually from the docs recommendations after evaluating their skills, patient state and resources available.

1st hizo figures za 54% sijui unatoa wapi. Membership has infact increased as more people have fallen off the employment sector. More households have discovered that it’s very important to have the basic cover ya 500 as inasadia sana.
The complainants you get come up due to pure ignorance of how NHIF works. Mtu juu akona card anakimbia private hospitals then anabahatisha kama italipa. Hapo my friend unapewa bill minus bed charges. Do your homework and you will complain less.

Kila mahali ni wapi. Different hospitals take different packages . Hospital A will sign up to provide services for national scheme, or civil servant schemes or both. Tafuta hospitali category A(government) & B (contracted faith based and some selected private hospitals) for out and in patient services. Visit these hospitals physically to see if they meet your standards. Then chose which you want. Nhif doesn’t do that for you. It’s a social scheme.

NHIF tumia tu kwa hospitali ya serikali, most privates are reluctant to attend to NHIF covered clients unless you are in job group K onwards.

Alafu sahi they rolled out biometrics…so ile ujinga ya @digi kuambukizwa kaswende sj alafu anadhani atatumia NHIF card ya brother ya uncle yake kutibiwa imeisha