[I]About 400 Chinese operators have signed a deal with China Road and Bridge Cooperation (CRBC) to be part of the daily operators of Madaraka Express train.
The team comprises experienced engineers, security personnel and staff of rail operations from China who will be in Kenya for the next 10 years until the railway operation is handed over to the Kenyan team, according to Kenya Railways Managing Director Atanas Maina.[/I]
Swali, we have engineers who can be trained by these engineers for 3-4yrs,learn the skills and help sgr . But 10 yrs means 400 Kenyan jobs is gone to Chinese. This isn’t fair. We are getting a raw deal
It is a raw deal kabisa. Kenyan taxpayers are paying for SGR hence they should be the first people considered for jobs before foreigners. At a time when jobs are so rare to come by this is like a slap in the face. Imenibore sana…
But ata sisi wakenya tukona mchezo. Can you imagine kenya railways have not been able to come up with a online booking system mpaka sahi.this has already been done by modern coast is not like they are inventing something new.
“China is overpopulated and is always looking for opportunities to dump it’s excess people.” BINGO! How could we not anticipate this was going to happen?
Na kuna fala hapo juu by the name @Rivermbaji already has run on the political defence . This 400 yellow skins will never go back to China . They will take our businesses and our leaders are aiding that.Tutakumbukwa one day . Wacha nilale
May history be kind to us. By 2030 we will have a population of 65 million people. Na Chinese bado wanakuja. Fight for resources will be real…lala salama.
A Chinese contractor, the Great Wall Drilling Company, has secretly signed a memorandum of understanding with the Kenya government to drill 80 geothermal wells, with funding expected to come from the Chinese Exim Bank.
Although Kenyan officials were keen to play down the significance of the deal, arguing that a memorandum of understanding was not a commitment, the deal has once again exposed the tactics Chinese construction companies employ to bag multimillion-dollar contracts, especially when they are pitted against contractors from Western Europe.
The geothermal sector in Kenya is the new battlefield, with Western development finance institutions and the Chinese Exim Bank scrambling for a stake in what has quickly emerged as the preferred target for international development finance intuitions
Powerful people fighting for tender or figuring out how to inflate cost.
Or they are trying to avoid paper trail in fare collection.
Whatever is causing the delay, know its because someone is benefiting from the situation.