The idea of converting shipping containers into homes is not new. Why not go with it, Mr Uhuru, because it’s cheaper than magorofa?
The government can even have a certificate course taught in technical schools such as Kabete Technical and in institutions such as NYS on how to convert the containers into proper homes.
These containers would be a huge upgrade from mabati and mud and cardboard homes.
For example, GoK can easily acquire shipping containers at much lower cost than the one quoted in the headline. Then cutting doors and windows and ventilation spaces could add maybe 50K. So for about 200K - 250K a family could have a home. The interior paneling can be done by the new owners.
Uhuru’s modern homes will see families paying about 2 million for a 2 bedroom.
1 family getting a 2 bedroom home vs 8 -10 families getting container homes of 2 bedrooms.
Sijui if Uhuru visits Kenyatalk. He should try this idea instead of going with his idea. Si hata laptops alibadilisha zikawa tablets na maisha ikasonga. Mnaonaje hii mada?
https://lp.vg/emoticons/Naughty.gif… https://lp.vg/emoticons/Naughty.gif…
http://abccontainers.com.au/sites/default/files-new/styles/full_screen/public/011.jpg?itok=6ACK2Srn
250K imetosha 4 room temporary pigsty mzuri sana huko osago. ama @nyarwath niaje? Simba yako ulijenga na ngapi?
Don’t buy into the hype the so called alternative technologies are not necessarily cheap…
You have fall prey to marketing, that 250,000 is just enough to buy the steel container. However just to convert it to something habitable like above will take you to 1 million. Better talk to @Randy to advice you on better prefab homes coming up. I personally don’t like container homes, too rigid and small for my liking. It could do from offices or shops but not a home.
1 - NOT CHEAP…
2 - NOT DURABLE… (the interior starts falling apart faster than you can say cheap)
3 - THEY ARE UGLY… UNLESS YOU HAVE A GLASSY FINISH… OR YOU HAVE AN EXPENSIVE CLAD FINISH… OTHERWISE THERE IS NO BEAUTY FOR A BASIC FINISH.
Uhuru and family are in this for business. If you thought nyumba ni ya msaada, ole wako.
Unless you have a GLASSY finish… Or expensive cladding… Mostly wood…
You come out as very naive
Am doing something with shipping containers, I don’t know whether I will share here, building with containers requires a creative mind and risk taker,it is not cheaper but it is one of the most sound structures rated for 50 yrs IN THE SEA.
for public housing, the biggest disadvantage is width is limited to 8 ft,a major design constraint. You can do better with EPS panels.
An uses more land that will be very expensively acquired.
It is an expensive investment but still cheap compared to what’s being offered out there.
Assuming you already have land, a container for 300k on the higher side to be converted into a one bedroom space. The conversion will cost you 500k upwards average depending on your choice of material.
Still not so bad if you ask me , if 1.5m is all you can afford for a house to call your own . For a guy struggling with 25k rent, 5 years is enough to get out of that. Land is the only expensive bit .
Great idea but I’m assuming the government is planning to build apartments to cater for lack of space so containers don’t really cut it.
Ever had of gypsum ? And that laminate floor being marketed by floordecorkenya, aluminium window frames? And the glass finish will not cost you much, you just need to know the right people for the job.
What you mean is poor workmanship .
Problem with us Kenyans is we tend to only choose what we are used to, we do not explore other ideas of building , on the assumption of costs and durability.
Once I clear my hands I shall embark on a container project just to show guys what can be done with the right vision and ideas.
Uhuru’s homes will be 2* million shillings for 2 bedrooms. Even if we inflate the cost of container homes to 1 million shillings, it’s still cheaper than brick and cement homes. And the homes will be a big upgrade from mud and cardboard homes springing up all over Kenya.
I put an asterisk on the cost because I’m not sure but I can deduce from the article below
[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]The Star
Once completed, one-bedroom unit under the social housing programme will sell for Sh600,000, while a two-bedroom unit will go for Sh1.05 million.
The cost of the units under the affordable housing programme will range from Sh800,000 for a bedsitter to Sh3 million for a three-bedroom unit.
Of the one million units, 800,000 will be under the affordable housing plan, while 200,000 will be under the social housing project. Kenyans will be required to establish tenant purchase schemes to buy units in the social housing plan.
you can stack containers up to 9 due to unibody design.
Wrong where did you get that 2 million a unit cost. Let’s start from there. A middle class apartment unit of brick and mortar starts at 1 million a unit to build. Now the social housing and affordable housing will not be built on brick and mortar. It will be prefabricated units. For example it could cost 500,000 a unit to build a social housing unit which will be sold for 800,000 for 1 bedroom and 1 million for 2 bedroom. For affordable housing it will cost 700,000 a unit and sold as 2 million for a one bedroom and 3 million for a two bedroom.
For a 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom? Also is that under social housing or affordable housing?
I got my 2 million cost from the fact that a bedsitter will go for 800K and 3 bedroom for 3M. From here you can conclude that a 2 bedroom will go for about 2M.
pewa like,I see you have researched on the subject, I prefer EPS boards from HKBC for better sound proofing,its an overbuild but worth it, same for partitioning btn rooms,gypsum is best for decorative ceiling and TV unit. Then you can play around with recessed lighting.
Nyumba ya mawe apartment costs the builder 1 million each to build, let say conservative price add 200,000 for middle class finish. They sell it 5 million each in the market. Now this housing program will not be built on Brick or mortar but prefab making its much cheaper and faster to build.