1st Kenya to US direct flight.

[ATTACH=full]189819[/ATTACH]
[SIZE=7]Uhuru Kenyatta leaves for U.S. on Kenya Airways direct flight[/SIZE]
[li]PSCU[/li][li] [/li][li]25 AUG 2018[/li][/ul]
President Uhuru Kenyatta and First Lady Margaret have left for the U.S. where a meeting with American leader Donald Trump is set for Monday.
The duo left the country on Friday just after midnight aboard the national carrier Kenya Airways.

The direct flight from Nairobi to New York will take 15 hours, a seven-hour reduction from flights that include layovers at different airports.
Kenya Airways secured a landing at the JFK International Airport early this year.
The Kenyatta-Trump meeting is a major boost for Kenya’s tourism and aviation sectors as it comes just weeks before the official commencement of direct flights in October.

Single hop? ama hatuna ndege iko na range?

Seriously? The Dreamliners can make the journey comfortably.

I mean they were flown direct from Seattle to Kenya non-stop

Okay. nilidhani waliuza hiyo ndege. seattle ni mbali bana. Mwafrika atawahi unda baiskeli aseme ametengeneza kitu lini?

Even a triple 7 can make that journey comfortably

Huyu jamaa nowdays anapenda kufanya vitu chini ya maji. Even KQ engineers weren’t aware of such a flight. Pilots walijua last minute

wewe hujapewa leave bado, osha tushosho kidogo zaidi

Guka @FieldMarshal CouchP bado anaeza jipeleka choo :smiley:

The only challenge is that the FAA are very strict- I believe that they can’t allow the crew that lands in NY to have worked (or been on the flight) for more than 8 (or 9) hours. I’ve taken Ethiopian airlines several times and they normally make a brief stop-over in Dublin for a change of crew.

They most definitely must have double crew on board then. By the way, Qatar have one of the best business model. I’m sure they’re more organized than our Habesha brothers.
It’s also a question of cost- do you sacrifice a few seats to accommodate the extra crew or do you pay for their overnight stay at a ‘mid-point’ location (keeping in mind that landing the plane for the change-over also costs a lot).

Such a flight have 3-4 crew, at least two lazima wawe Kwa deck at any one time while the others are chilling.
Currently longest flights ni za 17hrs

I’ve only taken KQ once- a connection from Heathrow. They were okay. Not planning on taking KQ unless they come ‘down’ to Dulles. Siwes tembea mpaka NY/J. My Ethiopian sisters treat me well! Turkish pia wako sawa if you’re traveling alone (unafika JKIA 2 am.). You can also leave Nairobi at 5 a.m. and get to the US ‘same day’ at 7 p.m.

I think ET cannot fly directly to US because of high altitude at Addis Ababa Airport means aircraft use more fuel on take-off there and therefore has to stop to refuel from Europe.

siku hizi hulimi. Umekuwa pilot, sio?

mmmm ati triple 7. Ama unadhani ni combine harvester?

Unaogopa?

Wa kuenda Uganda aka Wakanda na TVS tusimamie wapi?

So this marks the real beginning ama regular passengers flights will start later?

Wacha zako!! I have never been delayed once in 20 years of NBO-AMS, at least twice per year.

The ultra-long-haul flight, unique to Kenya Airways network, will require 4 Pilots and 12 Flight attendants as well as 85 tons of fuel each way, making it an exceptional operation.
[MEDIA=facebook]10156023114596703[/MEDIA]

The code share deal was signed recently so US connections should be easy soon GDPR Support

Bro, huyo ako mired kwa maneno ya Trump land, too disconnected to know what really goes on, on the ground.