16 Hotels expected to be built in Kenya in the next 5 years because of robust economic growth

http://assets.hospitalityonline.com/photos/employers/239343/113053_l.jpg
International hotel companies which have expressed interest for Kenya include Marriott, Sheraton, Ramada, Hilton Garden Inn, Mövenpick Hotel and Four Points by Sheraton/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 4 – A total of 16 hotels are expected to be built in Kenya in the next five years, adding 2,900 rooms and expanding capacity by 14 percent.This is according to the latest PwC Hotels Outlook 2016-2020 report focusing on Kenya, Tanzania, Mauritius, Nigeria and South Africa.
International hotel companies which have expressed interest for Kenya include Marriott, Sheraton, Ramada, Hilton Garden Inn, Mövenpick Hotel and Four Points by Sheraton. The report says Kenya’s robust economic growth will play a key role in attracting new hotels and business travelers as well as domestic and foreign tourists.

“Kenya’s economic growth trend is strong and the planned hotel investment reflects confidence in the country’s growth trajectory, rising middle class, urbanisation, devolution and position as a regional hub for multinational businesses,” the report says.

Kenya’s construction industry, access to the port of Mombasa, a skilled workforce and other factors have also contributed to Kenya’s position as a preferred destination for investment. The country has also demonstrated resilience with regard to various challenges and a commitment to address challenges like insecurity. The study projects the number of available rooms to increase from 18,100 in 2015 to 20,700 in 2020, representing a 2.7 percent compound annual increase. Stay unit nights will total an estimated 3.7 million in 2020, a 1.1 percent compound annual increase from 3.5 million in 2015. But despite the good news of more hotel investors, concerns about political instability and terrorism in the near term, remain the primary issues impacting the hospitality sector and the experience in early 2016 indicates that declines in stay unit nights will continue. The recovery is expected to fully begin in 2018 after the 2017 elections, with growth averaging 1.1 percent compounded annually through to 2020.

“We expected that safety concerns would continue to affect the hotel market adversely in 2015 and our projection for stay unit nights was on target,” the report says.

On Africa outlook, the report says the tourism industry continues to be one of the fastest-growing and most vibrant sectors of Africa’s economy. In spite of recent challenges, including the fall in oil prices, change in visa regulations in South Africa and contraction of the global economy, the sector has significant potential to create jobs, uplift inclusive economic growth across the continent, and reduce poverty.

“Africa is steadily developing into one of the world’s great regions for travel. With its exceptional, unfiltered fusion of breathtaking, life-inspiring offerings – history, heritage, culture, tradition, wildlife, natural beauty, and most importantly, the innate spirit of the continent’s people.”

http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/business/2016/10/16-new-hotels-planned-for-kenya-in-next-five-years/

Donald Trump should also build one in Kenya

Hapana hiyo nimekataa, that racist should stay there in the white extremist imperial usa.

Hii itasaidiaje tule tu-sychophant tuko kwa ground?

Mblo, your replies nowadays are too pessimistic. You are free to join Danganyika.

I heard the Marriott are building sides of Ruaka as you head towards to Two Rivers. That will be the death knell for the Tribe Hotel at village market who have been surviving solely on the business of the embassies in Gigiri.

How is asking a question too pessimistic?
Gullible kenyans falling in love with narratives.
Learn to ask questions so that others do not treat you like kids amused with a promise of sweets and biscuits.

Yes the said ‘others’ include our very own @spear

He…he usijali, ukitaka kujua unaendea mbele, hesabu the increased haters who suddenly appear.

Hotels = jobs for Kenyans at the hotel and all the service sector (supplies) needed in the industry, tourists who bring foreign currencies into the economy, conferences that draw in investors to invest in the country and increased economic profile of the nation. Its all very simple once you remove the anti-development disease from the log of the eyes and let it cloud the brain from the obvious.

Wachana na Donald Trump. hatalipa ushuru!

#AfricaRising #KenyaRising

This is not how you create jobs for graduates who are being spitted out of university every turn of the year. Your said hotels are how many? Can they create at least 50,000 jobs a year? While at it do not assume I am anti development. There are numerous posts you had put some time back that I found to be timely, those I liked. But others I do question. Lucky for you there are a lot of blind followers who do not judge a development versus its intended positive outcome.

I see. But even if they add 1,000 only jobs. The 50,000 will be arrived at as a cumulative total addition by various other sectors. The graduates may be employed as accountants and IT staff etc. The hotels will source food from the Kenyan Farmers etc. etc.

So you assume only graduates should get jobs? A hotel is an industry in this case this are 16 of the best hotel brands, all the suppliers to the hotels have staff from vegetables, food, materials etc let alone the hotel staff. They don’t need a degree for that but other forms of training. The guests are not exclusive leisure but business people drawn by the increased economic growth and they end up setting up more industry/startups/businesses that bring jobs and more taxes. So wewe continue complaining until you blow a casket somewhere if you don’t get the logic, for me its just too soon in the morning to be disturbed and when i post things i’m not looking for you to like them so stop asking me when you do/don’t that’s entirely your problem.

This is how you spin doctors respond to a voice that questions your ideals?
Keep it up brainwash as much as you can.

Show a place where my assumption is explicitly displayed. Otherwise absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.
Also, while at it you can go suck ass somewhere high up there in the development echelons while I blow caskets in the wherever I may.

appropriate headline would have been " 16 hotels to be built to carter for an expanding upper middle class" Economic growth that doesn’t reduce abject poverty for the majority poor is disastrious even for the stability of the country. Wacha wakuje ndio tenderprenuers wapate space ya kukulia nyama

Spot on.

Racist or realistic?
Who isn’t racist in the world today?

In Kenya we are only tribalists, racism is too big for some to understand…:D:D

Problem with you is simple, misplace high opinion of yourself, i’m not looking for validation from you, your opinions are valid but just an opinion like every other tom, dick and harry out there. I don’t have to agree with you and you don’t have to agree with me. This is for those with open minds, bigger vision and eye in the bigger picture. If you expect that someone from abroad should only come here to invest in something that helps you not others then pole sana.