12 year old specialist at repairing motorcycles.

If you have already seen skip

The 12 year old was initially spotted making wire toys. How many 12 - 21 yr olds lack the opportunity? Such a shame we currently don’t have any Talent Incubator Technical Community Colleges.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2uvZ9dsPNA

12 years old anafaa kuwa class 6-7 hapo. akitoka shule anacheza na watoi wenzake or afanye homework

He goes to school without fail, but he has another interest motorcycles. He is not stuck watching cartoons all evening.

We also have an 80 years old granny ‘installing and repairing’ music systems.
Who said there’s any shortage of talent in KE?

At that age such an interest should be more of a hobby not work, no offence but I think it is detrimental for such a young mind to be associating with watu wa nduthi, this are mature minds that are already set and as much as the kid has talent I think its better if he is encouraged to improve in school while playing with his age-mates, nduthi atatengeneza akimaliza, and considering the potential I think it would be better if he ends up designing them not repairing them.

There is evidently a lot of talent, but such young talent, if well mentored can transform from mere repairing to making/innovating, perhaps a future with our own home made motorcycles.

KE Got Talent

Agree, he needs to maintain his school work, only doing this sparingly, weekends or evenings.

However, it is not possible to design something you do not know about, he is getting an understanding of the intricate working of the motor cycles, at an age where he can begin to see areas of improvement hence, a new design can arise from it.
Many of the greatest innovators started out young, much younger than 12 years. The nduthi men should be supported to establish a well maintained workshop to run apprenticeship in conjunction will local colleges, in a short while they will be making parts, then you will see a humble workshop pioneers a motorcycle.

Here are some young innovators, all started young.
[SIZE=4][FONT=tahoma]
George Westinghouse, Rotary Steam Engine - gaining his first patent at the age of 19 years old, at age 22, Westinghouse invented a railroad braking system using compressed air.
He father was a machine shop owner where he spent early years tinkering.

Philo Farnsworth, Television - 14 years old, considered to be the godfather of the modern television.
Peter Chilvers, Windsurfing – at 12 year old Peter created the very first sailboard.
George Nissen, Trampoline – at 16 years old designed the first modern trampoline in his parent’s garage
Horatio Adams, Bubble Gum – in his mid-teens, he created 200 balls of what later became known as bubble gum.
Blaise Pascal, Mechanical Calculator - 19 years old – his father spent long days conducting complex mathematical calculations as a tax collector for the crown. Little Pascal created a wooden box that had 16 separate dials and when each dial was turned, additions and subtractions were able to be done quickly. He was able to do something that others had tried and failed
Becky Schroeder, Glo-Sheet - 12 years old. At 10 years old when she was attempting to do homework in her mom’s car. As it got darker outside, she had the idea that there should be a way to make her paper easier to see in the dark. Becky took matters into her own hands and began playing around with phosphorescent materials, which exhibited light but without heat. She then used phosphorescent paint to cover an acrylic board and The Glow Sheet was created.
At the ripe old age of 12, Becky became the youngest women to be approved for a U.S. patent for her Glo-Sheet invention.

Louis Braille, the Braille Reading - 15 years old[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=4][FONT=tahoma] Alexander Graham Bell, Telephone - 18 years old, the “harmonic telegraph” involved the idea of transmitting a voice message through a single wire to a separately located receiver. His experiments proved successful on March 10, 1876, when the first complete sentence was transmitted: “Watson, come here; I want you.”[/FONT][/SIZE]

Mekanika murefi introfart seems to inspire this kid. Future @introvert

who said you cannot become innovative from watching cartoons?

True, actually cartoons are set up in ways that kids mind can relate to, depending on the cartoon, I think they are very educative and an important avenue through which kids can get to learn.

I believe in growing stages, and a 12 year old kid associating with grown ups in a work related environment is dangerous, if the guys start talking about sex, or politics, or how they got drunk or other issues that a young mind find complex, that can end up messing the kid, and you end up with a grown up who is not stable.

The assumption here is that the Nduthi men are vulgar and stupid without the ability to recognise that a child present. It is a work place not a pub.
Perhaps what we need is guidance regulation/ inspections that govern the engagement of a young persons at a place of work.

As usual, negativos chirp in with rules and conventions, telling us how that child should be in his prescribed straight-jacket.

DP Ruto has been trying to tell us that there’s potential in tech, outside that 8-4-4 rote learning.

Greetings from paradise. :wink:

[ATTACH=full]187383[/ATTACH]

Hii ndio inaitwa traditional streamline backward thinking . Example " Because babu yangu had 3 wives when he was 34 ,I should also do the same " . Calling these kind of thoughts stone age will be too polite. The boy has a talent and let him nurture it.

Kids who are aware of their social status , should they be attached with a positive mentor , they end up maturing young and pick up responsibilities quick . I used to hang out with my uncles more than cousins of my age. … I bypassed so many pitfalls that some of them are in till right now. Right mentorship is the key.

Children should play and enjoy their childhood. People like MJ who wasted their childhood touring with adults ended up doing childish things as adults. Play aids in their development

Of course child labor illegal in some form, but don’t you find it disturbing that an interview is even conducted and the parent/guardian is nowhere, people talk it does not necessarily have to be vulgar, but guys talk about their escapades, what they did over the weekend and stuff, and a 12 year old mind might not be able to comprehend some of that.

Yes mentor-ship is vital, but its good to be cognizant of developmental milestones how an adult thinks and reasons is different from how a kid sees things, - as you mature you are exposed to more stuff and you mature enough to make reasonable decisions especially based on your experiences.

Kids especially that age are better in some kind of learning environment, where they are guided as they gain more experience, it does not necessarily have to be in a classroom, but I believe they should have some kind of guidance. Personally I would not allow my kid to go work at that age, unless I am personally present to guide them or if its in a school environment, otherwise I think the risks of what the kid can pick up in such environments outweigh the benefits they might get.

Its not about his talent, which he seems to have, but the development milestones and being at the right place for his age, I mean kids in the developed countries that are talented are placed in advanced learning programs, they are not exposed to factory floors or workplaces, the kind of decision making expected at a work place is not conducive for a kid’s development.

Enjoy kabisa :smiley:
On the topic I think any teacher around hapa can confirm that curriculum development factors in a lot of factors including age, and the rules and conventions are very important especially when it comes to a growing child, they learn in a certain way that has been shown to help them more - it has been shown that kids grow differently when exposed to some environments, especially where rules and agreed upon conventions do not apply.

What kids are taught at different stages is something that has undergone research, like whether to teach a kid additions or multiplication at a particular age, its not just a guess game, there is order in the way the curriculum is set up.