[SIZE=7]officers killed by bandits in Turkana East[/SIZE]
[SIZE=5]The incident comes hours after DP Gachagua vowed to deal with the bandits.[/SIZE]
In Summary
•Police spokesman Bruno Shioso said the victims were pursuing a gang that was heavily armed that had raided a village and made away with unknown number of animals when they were ambushed.
•“The officers were in hot pursuit of Pokot bandits who had raided a village in Turkana East and made away with livestock,” he said.
They didn’t have to die, government should seek to understand heights and depths, and keep to its level. In the era of the strong and the weak, government officers are not bandit’s opponents.
Serikali ingekua inafinya bandits makende vile wanamaliza gangsters Nairobi, rustlers hawangekua shida. Lakini Nilote looting gene haiwezi simamishwa. Turkana lazima aibe ng’ombe.
Watume Hessy uko. Rustling will be a thing of the past.
What most guys of the public don’t know is that most of the time the rustling is motivated by influential persons from within or around the region. Kwani how hard is it for the government to smoke these bandits within days.
We should have equipped our police with powerful weapons and equipment but that last 93 millions was spent flying Gachagua to Kisumu….but only hustlers died so they don’t care .
Might be Nanoks militia but he is now untouchable …
First ladies will pray and intercede for them
Even Moi could not contain the menace. The rustlers have latest weapons and know the terrain like the back of their hands
:D:D:D:D it was said we need a strongman to contain all the menace from rustlers to Somali border problems .let’s see if prayers will do anything to thugs .
The government is good at clobbering small time thieves. Wezi wa visu,pistol na bonoko.
Hawana tofauti na American government which is good at fighting rag tag militia.
Huko turkana those bandits have more experience using those guns compared to D-. D maina ameshika bunduki miezi Tisa anakuja kusumbua raia na hongo.
Infact those Turkana and pokot should be given first priority in joining army. Hawa wakitupwa pale Somalia. We will destroy once and for all. We motivate them mifugo ni zao.
The lasting solution to the cattle rustling menace is multi-prong, because the problem is complicated. It’s political, cultural, and economic. Hold politicians to account for disruption of peace and loss of lives. Build schools, and make kids go to school; provide water for irrigation, and train more people to farm. Provide ways of creating food, instead of perennially depending on famine relief, and give hope of different lifestyle.
The police obviously can’t handle that job. There have been reservists, Admin police, GSU, and antistock theft units deployed for decades, yet nothing changes.
The gava ought to station the army there permanently, and disarm all civilians in those counties, and block all the paths through which guns come into the country.
Proliferation of small arms is a problem all over the region not just in the cattle rustling communities.
I remember seeing a small boy herding goats with a serious weapon bigger than him. In West Pokot. I think government should recruit these people to go fight in Somali coz they are way better than our troops and that’s without training. They are adept at survival in very dangerous and harsh conditions. They are an unutilized resource if you ask me.
They start handing guns as soon as they are able to herd bcz where they are from a herder without a gun is a sitting duck. Ain’t no way you let your kid herd goats and cattle with no weapon coz the ones rustling have sophisticated weapons.
During Moi era I heard a story about army guys who went after these bandits and the rustlers went into a rough terrain full of poisonous snakes, Sema watu wa army kumwa na manyoka? That was the last time Moi sent troops coz even their helicopters were being shot down. If you can’t beat them recruit them, is my advice to government.
Something that people who haven’t been there don’t fully grasp is that basic survival is a full time job, and death by the gun is a “normal” occurence. Hunger, thirst and illness are the biggest, sharply-felt pains in the northern counties. There is much that never gets reported. There are foreign aid agencies with projects all over, but their impact is just a bandaid.
Those boys of 12 or 13 you see by the roadside have rifles tucked away somewhere nearby, don’t be fooled by their age. They are serious fighters, yet these are kids that should be in school training for a different lifestyle in future. They need rehabilitation.
Pokots ndio wachokozi this time. Those people have modern arms, akiuza ng’ombe wawili tu ameshapata rifle ya kisasa.
Mazoezi ya sharpshooting kwao ni daily, sio kama askari anayewacha mazoezi immediately after the passing out parade. Kuna D- rafiki yangu hajawahi shoot any bullet since 2012.
Raiders are very organised. Each raiding team has 4 troops.
Kuna DCIs, path cleaners, those driving the stolen livestock, the last troop repelling the real animal owners + volunteer coward D-s.
That’s why they can raid 200kms away, deep in their enemies land then walk back for several days passing several anti stock theft camps successfully.
Wakishavuka border forget about the livestock. Kuna jeshi Lao standby la kuchunga mipaka yao.
A guy I once dated explained to me how these guys raided their ranch. Ati a few of them perch themselves on top of trees and make an eerie cry, once that the rest swoop in and some evacuate the livestock while others lob hand held greenades /petrol bombs to the house to repel any push back. In a matter of minutes all the livestock are all out and KPRs can’t do a damn thing to trace them. They are extremely well organized, I think some junguu should make a documentary about it, it sounds like something right out of a thriller.
Indeed.
I once stayed there and saw wonders. It’s usually a very big gang with full blessings of their wise village elders. You will never see any village elder reporting or standing in court as a witness to that vice.
Wakishafikisha mifugo ya wizi salama, bash hutengenezwa kusherehekea success.
With mobile phones today communication and coordination among the rustlers is much easier and efficient.
They use kabambe to avoid tracking too. They also use witchcraft. I understand that pokots have a one breasted witch who curses their enemies. They have very interesting lifestyles. I don’t know why no one has ever done a documentary about them.