10 things u dnt know about safaricom sevens

The Safaricom Safari Sevens is the
biggest rugby event held in Kenya
and is run by the Kenya Rugby
Football Union (KRFU). The
competition is promoted as being
Africa’s premier rugby sevens
tournament drawing crowds of
over 20,000 to the weekend event.
It is also one of the most popular
events in the country.
The series kicks off today
(September 26th) at the Kasarani
stadium and will end on Sunday
SSeptember28th. Daily tickets go
for Kshs, 200 Upper deck, Kshs 500
Lower deck and Kshs 1,000 V.I.P.
Season tickets go for Kshs 1,000
upper deck, Kshs. 2,000 Lower
deck and Kshs 4,000 V.I.P.
entrance is by advance tickets
which are available at Safaricom
shops and Nakumatt outlets.
Here’s a look at some of the things
you probably did not know about
the event.

  1. The inaugural tournament took
    place in 1996 and was won by
    Public School Wanderers who beat
    Zimbabwe 40-14 in the final. The
    other winners included Kenya (who
    beat Uganda 38-12 in the Plate
    final) and Cumbria Schoolboys who
    defeated Shujaa 29-10 in the Bowl
  2. Kenya won the tournament for
    the first time in 1997 after beating
    Cumbria School Boys 24-21 in the
    main final.
  3. Kenya did not make the podium
    in 1998 and 1999 with the
    tournaments won by Bristol
    University Select and Public School
    Wanderers respectively.
  4. In 1999 the Kenya Rugby
    Football Union applied and won the
    right to host the Africa Zone
    Qualifying Tournament for the
    2001 Rugby World Cup Sevens
    Finals. This qualifiaction
    competition was combined with the
    2000 tournament to make it into a
    longer 3 day festival of rugby
    rather than cancel the Safari
    Sevens. The Kenya sevens side did
    not therefore take part in the
    Safari Sevens; Shujaa the Kenya ‘A’
    side carried the hopes of the home
    crowd and did not disappoint,
    winning the cup.
    In the World Cup Qualifying
    tournament Kenya, captained by
    Sammy Khakame, defeated
    Swaziland and then Madagascar at
    the beginning of day two and then
    Namibia in the semi-finals on day
    three, thus qualifying to go to
    Argentina the next year as there
    wer two slots open to the African
    Zone. Zimbabwe defeated Kenya in
    the final.
  5. The British Army won back to
    back titles in 2001 and 2002
  6. In 2004 the first women’s team
    played in the tournament
  7. In 2005 Fijian rugby great,
    Waisale Serevi played for Kenya A
    (Shujaa) as a guest player.
  8. Kenya played against the
    Emerging Springboks in 3
    consecutive finals ,i.e 2008, 2009
    and 2010, beating the South
    Africans all three times. This was
    after the Emerging Springboks had
    won back to back tournaments in
    2006 and 2007, beating Zimbabwe
    in both finals.
  9. The 13th edition of the Safari
    Sevens in 2008 saw a rise in the
    gate fee of KSh200 per person to
  10. In 2011, hosts Kenya, Uganda
    and Bristol University from the
    United Kingdom were the only
    sides to have played in the annual
    event since its inception in 1996.