watoi wako na upuss sanaa kwani shule huwa kuna class ya kuandika PLEASE WASH ME .
Hii inakaa ni ya Dead Sea katikati
and if in your midst kuna faggots harem,huko ni hell basi
These days even earning half a million will not afford you a middle class apartment in an estate like Kilimani.
I think class depends on your country. An upper class person in Kenya has nothing on akina Bill Gates, but is upper class relative to the rest of us. So sioni why our middle class standards should necessarily depend on figures middle class in the west earn.
Hilarious but at the end of the day whatever the guy has written is just a comic rant that should not be used as a yardstick to measure success.
Truth be told, most of the middle class guys in Nairobi can be real dicks always trying to act richer than they actually are, speaking in that stupid lingo ya kina @Andrew Kibe , going for lame road trips every weekend (and never missing naxvegas), chics pretending not to understand Kiswahili (all the chics in my apartment talk to me in English including all their kids) and all that bullshit but someone’s behavior is not what defines their economic clas…it is what they earn and what they own. Period.
you aren’t in the middle class, it’s Rasta boy who is in the middle of something!
Haha.
Behavior to some extent plays a role.
As a person from Mombasa.There is nothing more irritating than the ‘U-ob’ that is found in Eastlands,Nairobi.And the sheng that comes with it.Uurgh!
Si maringo but I do not speak to Sheng speakers.I speak perfect Coastal Swahili with the Mvita accent and very good English(courtesy of Aga Khan).
English. Fine.
Swahili.Fine.
The crap created by mashing the two and adding Kikuyu and other languages.
We are clearly of different breeds and from different places!!!
So in which economic class does your perfect coastal Swahili with Mvita accent and very good English place you?
Middle Class.
Raised in an upper class estate in Mombasa.
Lives in Westlands today.
In Mombasa,getting the ‘Aga Khan’ accent sets you apart. If you studied in Aga Khan Light Academy,Braeburn and to some extent Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed, you will most definitely stand out.
Eve D’Souza for example.Doesn’t sound like she is from Mombasa when she speaks English now does she?.
In Nairobi,sheng is a clear marker of Eastlands and the nonsense that comes with it.(U-ob.Who the fuck.created that nonsense???)
Because it is absent where I am.And in neighbouring Parklands and Riverside.
LOL…I have friends from South C who always want to hold casual conversations in English and I find it pretentious and stories cannot really flow. Other than people who were raised in extremely high end places like Muthaiga most Nairobians will speak in Sheng, heck, I have friends who live in Parklands, Westy etc and Sheng is their language of choice. In fact all over East Africa, we are well known for Sheng so much that Kenyans who speak in fluent Swahili sound uptight and boring.
Class is determined by one’s wealth. You might speak English with an American accent and act like you do not understand Swahili or Sheng but at the end of the day, if you ain’t got nothing in your account, you are just a poor fool.
I have interacted with Jame Mwangi (CEO Ekwete) and the guy’s English is so broken but does that have any impact on his economic class? Go figure.
Which part of I-speak-perfect-Swahili-do-you-not-understand
My mother is from Coast Province.Kiswahili is quite literally my native mother tongue.I converse in Swahili better than you actually.Same to English
Sheng is crap.And is a product of Eastlands.Muthaiga guys speaking Sheng were clearly not brought up there.
You clearly are not the sharpest tool in the shed. Where in my post did I indicate that you don’t understand Swahili?
And who cares where your mom is from? It’s all gibberish to me.
Most Nairobians West of Uhuru Highway who were brought up there and did not move from elsewhere DO NOT speak Sheng.
Who would they be speaking it with???The schools enforce English to the point that even Swahili is difficult to grasp.Leave alone Sheng.
The maids are banned from speaking any other language .In fact these days English is a requirement in my Estate for all maids.
Amongst themselves They compete on who has a better accent!!(In Mombasa at least,we did not go THAT far.Our nanny was a Swahili).
Do you know there are people in this city who have NEVER come to the CBD and others have never gone beyond Moi Avenue. Na ni Watu wa Nairobi tu.They only see the CBD when going to the Airport.Behind semi tinted windows.
You clearly have no idea how sheltered the Nairobi 'true’middle and upper classes are these days.
Watajulia Sheng wapi when many of them do not even know Swahili because they studied IGCSE. (Na ni lugha ya taifa).Clearly you are NOT from the leafy surburbs of Nairobi.
At least in Mombasa the Upper Class speaks the National Language.Those born upper and upper Middle class in Nairobi mostly do not.
Remember,the "Nandi County"from a phone??
Many Millenials around me in Nairobi are EXACTLY like that or worse,they read Swahili like the first lesson in French where people spew French with no intonations!!
Again clearly,Wewe…
Class is determined by one’s wealth. You might speak English with an American accent and act like you do not understand Swahili or Sheng but at the end of the day,
Is the part you tried to claim a lot of crap here.
Looks like we are not on the same page. I am talking about economic classes not social classes.
I partially agree with you but it is really stupid where some Kenyan parents try to ensure their kids only learn English to sound “classy”. That is being true apes. Other people come from other countries and try to learn Swahili and sheng because it is beautiful and is part of our culture but wannabes in Kenya are busy looking down upon such things.
Those people who you claim are “the true middleclass and upperclass” because they’ve never been to CBD (Are you even serious) are pretensious people and are wannabes. The people who are truly wealthy are actually very easygoing and want to try out everything.
Class is determined by Wealth.
Issa Lie.
It is determined by several other factors apart from wealth including behavior,age and the ability to make a lot of money as circumstances change.
William Ruto is a billionaire(whether stolen or not.He is) and the wealthy are more than willing to work with him but I can assure you.Most of the upper class do not see him as “upper class” or one of them (This does not apply to his Children).
There is a phrase they use to describe him…Well…
Why do you think his rivalry with Gideon Moi comes from and both are billionaires???Upper class Dynasty vs a Farmer’s son.
Money can buy you class.If you know what class is.
Man, I AM TALKING ABOUT ECONOMIC CLASS AND NOT SOCIAL CLASS…how can I make this sink in your thick skull?
The truly wealthy in Kenya,apart from Kenyan Whites.Are not interested in “The other side”.As Eastlands is called.White people…well.They try everything.
Again.It is Black Africans and Asians who are exactly that.The CBD is literally a place they see from afar .And the trully wealthy in Kenya…Clearly huwajui. Even B Club is below their standards.They drag someone to party in trully exclusive places never known by anyone in the media or to Cyprus and Malta (Because their parents got them EU passports by buying EU residency .You invest like 100 m minimum in property in Cyprus and you get residency.We are talking THAT kind of rich.The ones who purchase 3 hectare islands in the Aegean.We have many people like that. It is simply that they are never ever known outside the circles).