Why are Kenyan Suppliers So Unprofessional and Unreliable (Rant)

So 2 days ago I got a call back from an old time customer, a customer thats very important to my business because its a customer that often refers other well paying clients and companies to my business. This particular business is pretty much a niche as there arent many people doing it. We usually source the product from abroad, and sometimes the company goes long periods without doing any business, but when business is done, we make sure to charge a price that fills those gaps.
At that point, I assured my long term client that we’d deliver what she wants, even though we were outsourcing, I made sure to confirm with the supplier that he had the said goods. After doing so several times and assuring the long term client, I promised her wed do the business the coming days (today).
Through the couple of days, my Kenyan supplier assured me he had it, then today, out of the blue, the f*cker tells me “I dont think I have it”
This isn’t the 1st time this has happened, its happened a couple of times, not just with this guy, but other Kenyan Suppliers of different products.
I’m just wondering, why are Kenyan suppliers so Unprofessional, so terrible, so unreliable when it comes to keeping their word? Is it a cultural thing or are they just afraid of admitting that they cant deliver?
Im really confused and pisse off since that cost me so much, I haven’t even contacted my long term clients as I dont even know what to tell her? What do you even say in such a situation after assuring a client?

What is it that you wanted to be supplied?
You never know. Some ktalk mbirrionaire could be having lots of stocks.

Can’t post here but don’t mind messaging you. About your username, do you deal in electronics? Wholesale?

You never know unless you ask .PM me if you dont mind

Yes Sir.

SQNY utafunguliwa boot.

Whaaaat?o_O

IMO, you are not different at all from those unreliable suppliers. You assured your client that you will deliver. This is after you felt assured by your supplier that he has whatever you wanted despite the fact that they have ever failed you. Ooh I think you trusted your stars so much and so did your supplier. Here you are now telling us how useless the suppliers are. Don’t you think your client is equally cursing you Mr. Reliability? You are just part of the chain. A spider caught on its own web

Hii ni kumanisha nini? You’re calling me a thug or what?

I dont fully disagree with you, nor do I fully agree. You see, this never happens to me when dealing with suppliers from other countries, even suppliers from TZ have been more consistent and reliable than the Kenyan ones.
You are right, I should’ve been wise after this was done before, that was a fault on me.
But, its just made my day terrible since this is a very well paying, well connected client and this is like the 2nd time I’m letting her down.
I honestly haven’t even called her, just texted her that “I will communicate when I have it”.
What would you say to the client if you were in my shoes?

Waa enyewe hapo kuna vile umeonyesha your client huoshagi underwear. The highest probability is that whatever you’ll tell them will be treated as a lie unless you tell them you are on your way with the goods to deliver. Mnyamazie tu mpaka akushtue umwambie kuna vile you have been failed. You don’t even have to lie. Most times lies appear as a solution but I believe truth and honesty will go a long way.

You’re right. I was contemplating that. It just even feels easier just keeping it real. I mean, my usual supplier has assured me he can have them delivered via air by Friday evening, so I’m just thinking of telling her “I was failed somewhere along the lines, I apologize, but I’ll give you a nice deal once I get it by Friday”.
Letting a client down f*cking sucks. But its business.
Asanta for the advise

I understand your position. Nothing hurts like knowing you are lowering your reputation to your client. Just tell her the truth. It’s easier to explain a truth than to gamble with a lie.

Unfortunately professionalism is rare to find. If its not someone trying to con you, Its a lack of services/ customer care/ timely delivery. Glad ecommerce keeps me from having to depend on local clients.

I agree. This has become more and more prevalent over the last 10 years. Markets have become saturated & saturation has brought a lot of what you mentioned. Ecommerce is good but ecommerce doesn’t fill the gap of making connections with clients. If I was running a full time e commerce business I wouldn’t have had thw opportunity to meet this particular client and wouldn’t know how well connected she is, and in turn, wouldn’t make the connections I’ve made through her. But pros and cons kila mahali, thats how life is

I wish this client could see how you are praising her

Kenyans generally are notoriously unreliable…and unapologetic about it. It is very common for people you are in business with to tell you a simple childish lie and not flinch. They all know everything, can do everything and have everything! Those who keep their word are a rare breed indeed. They never say no in terms of “can do”

In Africa lying is a skill we have perfected. In construction supply its second nature.
I was once supplying sand to a chinese doing a certain stretch of road in Coast. Used to do orders of like 200 tons a week, that is trela tano hivi, enzi za ma nundu za SGS before those AEA morons spoilt the road rutting party.

So one day the kamchina calls me out of the blues. He quadruples the order in a heartbeat and says that he plans to close a section of road, so he will be needing 1000 tons of Malindi sand in that weekend; thats in the next 4 days so he can concrete a drift within the weekend and have the road open by Monday.

Ako na invoice zangu outstanding, for like 600k. I ask him to pay iyo 600k cash so that I get money to mobilize other truck owners, he says I first bring the 1000 tons he needs ndio alipe zote pamoja.

Slant eyed fvcker.

I’m all drained, sina pesa kabisa. Have exhausted all my lines of credit, ata pesa ya kueka jalopy maguta ni kubambanya. I stalled the mongoloid for 3 straight days, trying to look for a viable option. On the Fri before the weekend, i bluntly told him that if there is no money there can come no sand. Kajamaa kalijam mpaka kakavunja kioo ya gari yangu.

Sometimes clients expect suppliers to perform magic ama?

@kichwakubwa swali ni, huna suppliers wengine wa the same product?
It makes sense to have different streams, especially where you have been failed before. Hungekuwa hapa ranting