What is wrong with Cabbage farming?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EnvdGvNXIAEgfeM?format=jpg&name=small

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EnvkvTDXEAArL0T?format=jpg&name=medium

https://www.thevintagenews.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/img_9552-20-02-19-11-11-fx-640x335.jpg

Mungich food I seldom partake

Cabbage is one of the most important vegetables in europe.

https://imagesvc.meredithcorp.io/v3/mm/image?url=https%3A%2F%2Fimg1.cookinglight.timeinc.net%2Fsites%2Fdefault%2Ffiles%2Fstyles%2F4_3_horizontal_-_1200x900%2Fpublic%2Fimage%2F2019%2F03%2Fmain%2Fbeer-braised-cabbage-tacos.jpg%3Fitok%3DXGByZN2Q

https://www.thespruceeats.com/thmb/YvDFukxTAxWIxmV_eKHrTqAVFXY=/3000x2000/filters:no_upscale():max_bytes(150000):strip_icc()/croatian-stuffed-cabbage-56a27a803df78cf7727685eb.jpg

https://bestrecipebox.com/images/Coleslaw-recipe-2.jpg

Those cabbage rolls are delicious

What you have on the first picture is lettuce.
[ATTACH=full]337102[/ATTACH]

Cabbage and lettuce are both green vegetables that have many layers of leaves. However, cabbage is tougher and contains less water than lettuce does. … Cabbage is typically boiled or steamed or used in coleslaw. Lettuce is known for being crunchy, which is why it is used in salads or on burgers.

Yup…distinguish between cabbage and lettuce.
Then cabbage hata huku kwetu haina bahati…local women claim it makes their pussies super soggy…they cant touch it unapata cabbage zinaozea kwa market stalls.

Truedat. And lettuce is more popular since you don’t need to cook it.

We went 100% kienyeji…

I often wondered whether this claim is grounded in science or it is among the plethora of Kenyan misconceptions.
Kijiji doctors ([SIZE=1]not hervbal doctors or sangomas[/SIZE]) please enlighten us.

Corona icheze Kama yenyewe,ituondolee mbwa shoga Kama wewe

Schools did partake a lot of cabbages but with their closure the market plummeted and there is low purchasing power due to corona.

The problem with cabbage farming is due over supply as a result of every farmer planting in the same season and the second reason is the crop high perishability.
If you can plant cabbages (and also other vegetables) only during off season, surely utanukisha kitunguu (pun intended).

What if cabbage farmers divided their plots into 12 blocks such that instead of having one planting and harvest they stagger the planting 12 times so that they are harvesting cabbages every month of the year. That is instead of planting 12,000 cabbages in 1 acre in one season and sell at 5 bob (= 60,000), you plant 1,000 cabbages each month on 1/12 of an acre and sell at average price of 50 bob giving you an income of 50,000 per month. You can irrigate 1/12 of an acre from a hand dug well.

Cabbage and beans are Jail /school/hospital foods. Once you leave these institutions you should graduate to traditional African vegetables

Wueh fisrt pic nilifikiria ni ng’ombe gunakula cabbage kumbe ni cabbage inafanana na ng’ombe

Sema maragoli

Nice idea but as you know, Kenyans are copycats and you usually do things because your neighbors or friends are doing it and it appears successful

There seems to be many farmers or an oversupply on this part of the Sahara. Zinauzwa as low as 5 Bob each. But survey other areas things are never the same everywhere.

Your idea is good but almost all farmers depend on rain. Unless they agree among themselves who to grow what to avoid over supply of one commodity and scarcity of another.