What is considered a good salary for a young professional in Kenya?

I won’t pretend to know much about the day to day Kenyan experience but I’ve been interested in learning more and hopefully even moving back to start a biz one day.
I’m not sure if there is a Kenyan equivalent of yuppies but I’m curious … what is generally considered to be a good (realistic) salary? Think of the top graduates in Kenya universities who are jumping (mid-late 20s) into the workforce with regular middle class backgrounds. Is 25k a low ball? 40k? Again I want a realistic perspective.

What incentives drive Kenyans? more money/more work? less money/more benefits?

How do young Kenyans approach salary negotiations. If someone is offered say 30k/month and knowing that the economy doesn’t have many prospects… are young Kenyans likely to accept the first offer? do they counter or walk away?

All I know is that at times like this, anything less than 50k a month ni way too less.

50k for entry level in Kenya is too little?

Okay I lied. Mimi huearn 3k a month. Captain Meffi is surviving with 9k a month so 20k ain’t bad

You are full of jokes good jobs offer 35 k entry level note the word GOOD

Anything less than 500k per month is a huge joke

Government is offering diploma health workers 50k before tax, certificate health workers 40k before tax, 3 year contract. There is no good or bad salary. Kula sumni, weka sumni.

Really?

I am looking at this thread with binocular lenses. Mtu anasema job ya less than 50K is not enough. Me thinks majority replying here are university students. They always have high hopes …ati niki gradute sitachukua job ya less than 60K. Hawajui how kwa ground things are different… job ya 20K mtachukua with open arms and even kiss the shoes of your employer

Peasant detected

Pesa ni pesa

Kupata job more than 30k currently for a fresh graduate ni impossible unless you are a Doctor or a nurse(MoH) .Banks entry level ni 30k+ commisions(sales) bt once umekuwa confirmed after probation 5yrs later salo inacheza 100k…inagrow fast

Nkimada campo nlipata job ya 30k bt nlikua naishi home bado…for a year my peroz thought nlikuwa nafanya unpaid internship.Hadi nlikuwa napewa 300 daily na big bro for transport and lunch.Nlikuwa na pesa hata kushinda operations manager.Best year 0f my 20’s.

A good dignified salary for top graduates in their late 20s is 200k, most top ones (engineers, doctors, accountants, lawyers, software devs, etc) wako in that range of 150k to 250k by that age, there will be exceptions on both sides.

How many companies in Kenya can afford to pay that? Kuwa realistic

the amounts you are mentioning are earned by a tiny fraction of employees…very tiny…wacha kupea watu pressure ya bure

I think that’s the same as 50K gross… ama unamaanisha 35K gross?

If there is a lot of upward mobility, 35K is good. If not, don’t waste your time.

Wacha mabo yako. 100K gross mshahara ya kwanza ni bahati kubwa, no matter the degree. What firm pays entry-level lawyers that amount?

Hio salary ana mention ni ya engineer amefanya in a reputable company like Kenya power for many years na ana God father’s. Trust me kama hauna God father hio company unaweza kuwa engineer graduate but utabaki tuu Asst. Engineer for many years or senior technician. Salary sio heavy vile.

Interesting. I’ve been looking at drafting some potential staff compensation plans for a future project in Kenya and it’s a challenge trying to translate an American approach to talent vs. Kenya. The surest way for a company or startup in the U.S to attract talent is on income/benefits/culture. New uni grads here will negotiate offers, set bidding wars etc to get the best compensation packages so for instance a job can advertise an annual pay of 68k USD with standard benefits… a recent grad here in a competitive market will negotiate 75k USD per year and maybe add extra PTO, 401k match etc. In Kenya, I’d assume that the compensation plans are more straight forward? I’d imagine that it’s hard to negotiate without enough jobs in the market and especially knowing that peers will accept the jobs at the standard pay rate or even accept lower income. My challenge is balancing not wanting to low ball talent on income but also not being naive to the fact that Kenyans will not automatically equate higher income with higher output.

Haha hii entitlement ya graduates…do you know how long it takes a doctor to earn 200k?