watu wakuota jua na boat rides mmesikika

A court has stopped the ongoing renovation of Uhuru Park, dealing a blow to one of the Nairobi Metropolitan Services (NMS) legacy projects ahead of the end of its two-year term’s expiry in March 2022.

In the order Justice Edward Wabwoto issued, the NMS and its contractors or agents have been stopped from felling trees or carrying out any works at the park.

While ruling on an application the Communist Party of Kenya filed challenging the project, the judge found that the exercise was commissioned without authority and approval of the National Environment Management Authority (Nema).

“Nema, while supporting the application, admitted that no environmental effects and social assessment reports have been submitted to it for consideration in respect of the project. As such, no environmental impact and social assessment licence had been issued,” said the Environment and Land Court judge yesterday.

“The evidence before this court shows that the respondents did not only breach the provisions of Section 28 and 59 of the Environmental Management and Co-ordination Act, but also article 69(1) of the Constitution, which provides that the State shall ensure sustainable exploitation, utilisation, management and conservation of the environment,” said the judge.

He found that NMS and its Director-General did not place any evidence before the court showing that they carried out a study on the likely impact to the environment.

NEMA is a joke. Their ONE job is environmental management. It’s in their name for heaven’s sake !

Jokes on you. If they didn’t attempt to get a NEMA approval, the court and plaintiff are punching above their weight.

Courts push papers, NMS wachape works bila tafash

This is what Kenyans like. Petty court shenanigans even on a noble course. I bet it’s just a way of attention whoring and i would choose to ignore the orders if I were Badi

There is a Communist Party in Kenya? Hii nimejua leo.

NEMA knew about the construction and all other ramshackles in thecity,ITS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BLADI CITY on a volatile piece of real estate…you should know this.
Probably they were given bribes but to mention this in court is detrimental to both parties,so now they act coy to derail the project. Ipatie miezi mbili kazi irudi form.

Long live the comrades of the Communist Party of Kenya. How can I join we organise a trip to meet the great comrade Chairman Xi of Beijing?

hata mimi nimejua leo. Naona Chairman ni Mwandawiro Mghanga :D:D

Halafu naona headquarters ziko Swiss Cottages, Off Ring Road, Kileleshwa, Nairobi.

Isn’t that some sort of betrayal of the “plebs” they purport to represent?

Laws are not suggestions.

As a basic principle, the rule of law dictates that the government and all its tentacles must be the namba wan upholder and observer of the law.

Now, if the law requires developers to obtain the necessary authorisations before developing, why the fuck would someone think it does not apply to the government?

Coz up in this “neck o’ the hood” the government is the law.

I suppose they think they are, but they are not. Uliona election ikiwa nullified MCHANA, na hakuna kitu mtu alifanya? :D:D

Walifinywa makei, hukuona Maraga akilia kwa tv hapewi Mercedes kama wazito wengine.

Badi chapa works usitishwe na kangaroo court.

Because they knew they would win it again. They run the house.

uhunye angekuwa biad, kwanini hakulenga hiyo judgment basi, aseme yeye nd’o orezo kimahuru tuone? :D:D

badi-spensa atachomolewa warrant askumwe kama ule vaite wa dci.

Our democracy is past that stage… I don’t think any Kenyan president can try that. Lakini places like Rwanda and Uganda it can happen.

What exactly was NMS doing in uhuru park??..

I personally think… Uhuru park should be beautified… More trees planted… More sitting spaces made… Walking paths made clean… Garbage disposal points clearly marked… Park shops established… Green grass planted… Ideally beautify that place…