Watu wa kutembea comando nmngekipata

My Carjacking Experince

About 6 years ago just before Karura forest acquired an electric fence, cases of carjacking leading to deaths and kidnaps were so prevalent. Matatus, personal cars, people on trail walk were all victims to the scheme. On this fateful day at around 10.30pm, my friend and I boarded a route 44 matatu plying along Thika road. I lived in Roysambu while my pal lived in Zimmerman. Little did we know that five or six among the passengers were thugs and had sat strategically on almost each row, while two sat at the front. On reaching Pangani the kange came out, fueled 500 shillings and we proceeded on our journey home.

As is the norm with any other matatu, upon reaching Muthaiga Police station terminus, the matatus stopped to drop a man seated next to the conductor, and whom we later came to know was their leader. As the kange was opening the sliding door, a man seated on the co driver’s seat jumped out, rushed to the driver’s side trying to force the driver off his seat.

A tussle unsued as he tried to force the driver’s door open but unsuccessfully. As our driver tried to power the vehicle from the scene, the man seated on the front middle produced a gun, pointed it to the driver and commanded him to stop. All this time, the man whom had flagged down the matatu so as to alight was standing just next to the sliding door, lest you try force your way out. He jumped in, forced shut the sliding door and took charge of the door. The kange managed to run away towards the police station gate, but to date I do not know whether he rushed in o report the case or not. And mark my words, it was at the Muthaiga Police station terminus just 50 metres from the station.

The three guys were now in control. I thought of shouting for help but held back in fear. Two ladies had boarded the matatu with us so, the majority were men. A lady seated on the third row where we sat, raised her voice in a bid to seek for help but was hard hit by a man who had strategically positioned himself behind us and at the back seat using a pisto butt. We all went silent, as you wouldn’t want to be the next victim.

Their designated driver finally took over, forcing the driver to the middle seat, commandeered the vehicle via Mumbi road, back to Kiambu Road. As we started rolling down the steep towards CID headquarters just next to Muthaiga golf club, the long story began to unfold. The man sitting behind us shouted that we all remove our clothes and any personal belongings and place them on our laps. Nobody would be quick to adhere to such rules my dear friends. But as we rolled past the CID hq stretch we realized that he meant business. He grabbed the lady seated next to me by the neck, shouted in a screaming tone that he would shoot her dead and anybody else who failed to comply.

My pal whispered to me ”bro let’s corporate”. We were all bending our heads on the headrests of the seat before us not to see the surroundings. And true to his word, he corcked his pistol ready to shoot. All this time, my mind was lost to the reality of what was happening. And now with the two thugs at the front, one manning the sliding door and one at the back seat, the nightmare was real, and only a fool would fail to corporate. The driver was reckless, swerving to either side of the road as if to lose control, but I later came to realize it was a way of creating more panic in us.

At Shark Palace, our matatu took an abrupt left turn and deep into Karura forest. The murram drive into the forest was one frightening, jerkey and dreadful scene. This is now the spot where Kiambu road gate stands today. Deep into Karura, and the ordeal continued.
The matatu veered off to the left leaving the main trail and as if it had lost control, stopped in the middle of some thickets, a place that looked well kept. The place must have been their operation base, as it looked obvious it was frequented.

The new conductor gave us a stern warning. " Kila mtu atoe nguo na kila kitu muziache kwa viti then mtoke nje mmoja mmoja(remove all your clothes and any other possession and leave them on your seats as you walk out one by one). Save for the boxers and vests we all looked alike. But there were a few men who had no vest, only a boxer. The ladies were left in bras n pants only.

And with those few remarks, and with full knowledge of the looming danger, we all complied, coming out one after the other. Of course a few were slapped for dragging themselves, yet you can only imagine how hard it is to strip while inside a 14 seater matatu.

As we stood naked, embarrassed, with no money, mobile phones and in the deep of karura forest, my only prayer was that these guys would take everything they needed but leave us in unharmed. I remember whispering a prayer to that effect. And so God listened to the prayer of a naked man. That’s the time I noticed one more gang member who had sat on the second row and whom had kept silent all along. He did not striped. He was to finally act as the errands boy when his time came.

To seal our fate, and in less than 10 minutes, a toyota premio drove in, parked behind our matatu. I thought to myself that, it must have been another victim of hijack who would also go through our fate.

No…I was dead wrong. This was the standby get away vehicle and had come to pick the loot plus the thugs. The driver came out, holding a pistol and empty sacks, handed them over to the fifth gang member who loaded all our possession in the sacks, as the other 4 thugs stood by vigil all pistols in hand.

After he was done and after collecting virtually everything from our matatu, he strode majestically to the premio, stashed the sacks in the boot and closed it. We were all shepherded back into the matatu, hands up, naked and at gunpoint. The driver was then handed over the keys and told to ferry us home. The team of five, then all jumped into the already moving premio and disappeared deeper into Karura forest.

Now picture this, a matatu with 13 passengers, all naked save for the boxers and vests that men had worn. How would you even get home? By then, I guess it was heading to or past midnight. We remained in the same spot for close to an hour, not knowing what to do, talking in hushed tones. These guys had robbed us even the ability to think.

As we sat there, and remember the car had just been fueled 500 bob and the kange had disappeared before we all became hostages, how would we get home, bearing in mind the fuel was meant for only one squad and now we have to figure out how to get everyone to their homes. The only hope was the matatu. The driver gathered courage, started the car, reversed and yes we drove off. I don’t know how long it took to get back to Kiambu road but yes, we saw the light.

Deliberations were being made on whether to go to Muthaiga Police station first to report the case or to proceed to Zimmerman, so it took another few minutes before we again started to move. One of the ladies told the driver, ” ama ufanye hivi, mnipeleke kwangu nitawatafutia vitu za kuvaa (take me home first I will get you all something to wear). She said she resided in Garden Estate, which was about 10 minutes away. As we navigated through the narrow Kiambu road, lights from the oncoming vehicles shone bright on the naked us.

Soon and through tense navigation, we got to Garden Estate. Our host requested the driver to hoot at her gate. A guard stepped out looking sleepier and drunk. From a far the lady asked the guard not to come closer. Rather she said, niitie Ann. (Call Ann) The guard walked into the compound, and the said Ann was out in a few minutes. Still from a far, she shouted to the lady, to go into her room, bring her some clothes. This happened in a short while, and the lady stepped out of the matatu. She asked us to wait as she went into the house, picked enough clothes for everyone.

Now the irony was this…She brought out Tshirts, lessos, shorts, and a number of pair of trousers. Imagine the scrumbling we did as we tried on those clothes, while still seated. And because the damage had already been done, stepping out of the matatu to try fit the clothes was a no brainier. ” I settled on a baggy t-shirt. While stripping, I had been left with a vest and a pair of shorts on. That’s the time I learnt the essence of putting on a pair of shorts on top of your boxers.

Now dressed up though funnilly and just to cover the shame, the lady then gave the driver 1000 shillings so as to refuel, and ensure that we all got home safe. We drove off, joined Thika road, fuelled the 1000 at Total Safari park and proceeded on. The first drop off point was Lumumba drive, where I was dropped at the gate, clad in a baggy Tshirt and a pair of shorts, no mobile phone and no house keys, as they had been ransacked together with our possessions. I knocked on the gate, was lucky to have the caretaker open the gate. As the caretaker opened the gate, my good driver drove off.

I had an extra key I had given out to my next door neighbor for safe keeps so it was easy to access the house… All the others got home safe, actually later came to learn that the driver eventually got to his house past 4am.

I recently met the driver in Mombasa and couldn’t help but laugh to tears on reminiscing about the whole ordeal. He actually naratted to me on how he underwent a similar ordeal three months afterwards, which actually led to stabbing and eventually death to one passenger who refused to corporate. There and then he hang up his boots as a matatu driver.

#Copied#

:D:D this is actually funny. such carjackings seem to have reduced though

This is a good narration.

Nice one

I wonder if the fear of death would allow room for me to be horny at the sight of my fellow naked victims.

Can I laugh?? The story is just too funny.

Kitambo especially in upcountry buses if you were unlucky and fell into the hands of ruthless thugs they used to pair up victims and command them to engage in sexual intercourse… They would chose the sweetest girls and show you an example Woe onto you if the females were depleted… Unless you enjoy it like @chap

Nice read, lakini kuna kauongo kameongezwa mahali

@administrator Huwes pin hii kitu utoe ile ya Kuomba bibi pesa.

Umesahau lazima chumvi iongezwe kidogo ndo ikuwe tamu

Waliwachiwa viatu…?

Gaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy

You mean Garden estate hii moja that is home to the likes of Murathe, kuna watu wanapanda mat?

nothing wrong kupanda matatu…that should actually be the norm if the sector was organised

Kwani kupanda mat ni vibaya boss?

Dudes you do know we have snooty Kenyans who cannot use public transport ever? I know very many. I think what Chap means is Kenyans living in those swish areas do not panda mats. And it is true.

Who asked you faggot. Are you chaps lawywer bitch. Pangusa mapera polepole

Please behave by shutting up or coming up with a constrictive argument to challenge what @Finest wine is saying. Stop behaving like a loose cannon

Ooops looks like you are addressing someone on my B list…:D:D:D:D:D:DHail this button. Admin na MoDs nawapenda sana. Sisomi takataka.