Voice Over WiFi. Does Any Network In Kenya Support This Feature?

This is a truly remarkable feature.

[ATTACH=full]363451[/ATTACH]

What does it mean

Kwa sasa sijaskia ata rumours

This looks like. A custom rom…

It is just the wireless version of VoIP

This is not a custom OS, it is the native OS on my phone. Lenovo Z6 Pro

I stand to be corrected but I think the network company has to activate this feature to certain phones branded and sold by that particular network. That way it becomes an bait incentive to purchase network branded cell phones.

This phone works seemlessly in South Africa, no pre activations required. Just get into house with WiFi and you can call any number without using 3g or 4g but you need an active plan or on Safaricom Roaming.

Oh I see, then it simply uses the WiFi as cell tower. That would be so handy where network is weak or no network. That will make it power hungry though.

Safaricom would likely sabotage such plans.

I don’t think so…It would be in their best interest not to since you still pay for airtime anyway.

Does Safaricom support WiFi Calling? I messaged them a while back about it and it’s like they didn’t offer such service. Though my phone does have that feature. I think every phone with Android 10 or later has it, but for it to work the carrier must support it. Considering how poor network coverage is in most ground floor apartments hii Nairobi I wonder why telcos do not offer VoWiFi already

Nope. That’s a Neon

Yeah I saw the same with Neon

You must be talking about VoLTE. This shit is as rare as it comes.

Go to settings, sim cards, and click on Safaricom or any other you have. Just below VoLTE there is also a WiFi Calling toggle.

VoWiFi is one of those things I only read about online in kina xda. Locally the most advanced tech I’ve used is VoLTE and ViLTE

Does it work like SIP Trunking?