Umbudhee customer service

Do supermarkets in Kenya give their staff any form of training on customer care? You visit any supermarket in the West you see real customer care.

Come to Tuskys or Quickmart and see very strange change. The shop floor staff in Tuskys are unlikely to have uniform. You cant know who to ask for help. They will just stand there chatting loudly in gikûyû as you struggle locating items or fetching them from upper shelves.

The Quickmart ones are always in a hurry. They wont mind pushing you with restocking carts. The only customer care you get is being asked…uko na card ya Quickmart?

Someone need organise a “benchmarking tour” for Kenyan shop floor staff to places where customer is king.

But meanwhile… Tafakari ya kiriamiti.

Tuskys is on the death bed.Customer service is the least of their worries as we speak

Customer service and Kenyan businesses is an oxymoron so to speak. To many floor staff, front office personnel and even some businesspeople, customers are an unnecessary bother that need to be treated like the trash they are. Ask a front desk person for Information on their company and you could as well go to hell coz they are on their way for the 10 am tea break. Let me not get started on the customer care staff to whom earphones and chewing gum are a God given right that can’t be taken away by pesky customers.

Not just supermarkets…ata kwa mpesa, kiosk near u, hospitals…unauliza kitu mtu anaona kama unamsumbua