Tyre sizes

Is it advisable to go beyond the car manufacturer’s recommended tyre sizes? For example: I have 215/45/r17s but they’re too thin. Could I upgrade to 55s which aren’t listed in the car’s manual? What would be the effect of doing so?

the effects are obvious! fuel consumption goes high,stability of the vehicle is compromised just to say a few. fuata what has been stated by the car manufacturer wacha kiherehere. wewe ukawekwa miguu za giraffe na uko na mwili ya midget how would u operate?

Go 225 is ok. Excessively wide tyres will roll when cornering causing stability issues. The tyres may touch and grate on suspension parts and you may notice some subtle rippling when you brake.

fair point

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D…

[ATTACH=full]191663[/ATTACH]

Too thin how,who told you they are too thin? Your friends, hehe change your friends not the tyres bro.

You can go for smaller rim size (16") to replace your 17" then buy tires with higher profile (60). Problem solved. Using the same rims with a higher profile will affect the stability of the car, the speedometer will be out of sync with the actual speed, could affect the ABS system operation among many other issues.

make ,model and YOM tuone options .

And in case of an accident… your insurance company will tell you to go drying!

Eddy Kim (EK) wherever you are, was this you?

Come on man, achana na izi manugu zinakusho ati sijui fuel consumption, stability. Go ahead and try something different kwni unezieka kwa gari ya mtu ama yako.

But it will depend ni gari gani. Some vehicles ukiweka size kubwa inabidi umechange pia Rims coz the size of the tyre and the rim may not be compatible.
For more advice visit Parkroad Tyre Center or contac Junior on 0720607673 pale karibu na Guru Nanak Hosp.

The manufacturer wasn’t stupid when he recommended 45s.
In my layman mind it has to do with the gear ratios…

I have done this. I have a car that its recommended to use 185/60 r14 but there was a time finding 60 was to difficult so put 65 instead and been using them ever since. Car still ran fine and fuel consumption was per normal. stability was also fine. I guess its ok as long as you dont go too far off the recommended tyres… in my case from 60 to 65 I guess was fine

I Swapped from 215/45/17 to 215/55/17 gari iko sawa two years into it. I travel upcountry alot, hizo low pros were giving me a headache. Pros; far better clearance, story ya kufura tire iliisha Cons: fuel economy worse, bounce effect on high speeds 140+

I changed to a higher profile tires and it gives a bouncing effect when you brake, as if the car is swinging. But it improved the clearance it was worth it. Avoid wider tires as they reduce tire grip and your car may slide offroad especially when it is wet.

Personally, have fit 185r14c tyres on a 2003 Toyota runx…very big tyres.manufacturer revommends 185/60/14…as long as haziguzi fenders ukikata steering mwisho, weka gari tyres kubwa… great ground clearance,mine are linglong lmc5 so very deep treads, fun to drive

Your rim is after market and probably too big and most likelly thats the biggest wheel you can fit. original owner in japan or wherever probably moded the car for highway(good roads) driving. Unaeza ongeza tire kama gari itakata bila kuguza stabilizer bar. lakini inaweza slow down gari kiasi na kuongeza consumption kidogo pia. changing tire size also affects turning so that when you turn the wheel fails to move backwards and forwards properly, but tends to scrape the ground. its complicated but you can live with it. best solution is smaller rims and bigger tires. if you can trade in or sell your rims. but only increase the percent not width.

Niliswitch from 245/45/18 to 235/55 na ride and handling iko poa. Utakua sawa