TV stations are closing left right and centre

STV jo. :D:D

Chieth mbitika are you a kindergarten dropout? Haujui kusoma

The era of traditional tv stations is coming to an end. Streaming apps are the next big thing

Streaming apps selection iko down.

Were you breathing when we used to have STV station broadcasting from S.A…ama wewe ni kinyangarika kya juzi?

You mean siku za TV Afrika Michael Power and all the Castle Lager adverts?

Ilikuwa inaitwa TV Africa. Hapa Kenya ilikuwa inaitwa stv

There is a big problem with the “Business Model” adopted by most TV stations in Kenya and I believe, in many African countries, hence the closures. They approach the space from a “We” vs “Them” perspective, as opposed to looking for ways to co-exist with the other platforms. The strategies the TV stations use for commercialisation of content and airtime is also wanting in most cases.

In many instances, content is developed without input from a competent Business Development consultant (internal or external). That makes it hard to adequately target the audience on the one hand, and the interests of advertisers on the other hand.

A good example of excellent programming is Citizen TV’s Shamba Shape Up show that airs on weekends. Look at how the content is generated - very targeted at the farmers, and how well the commercial advertisers interests are articulated. Then look at the list of program sponsors at the end of the show. Whoever makes this program anakafunga with every show, and the content remains relevant even years after it premirers on air.

Not every show will fit this model, but the stations have a lot to learn from this if they are to remain commercially viable.

Shamba shape up and a similar one at inooro TV are well drafted and strike well with the rural masses. This is the kind of content we lack on Kenyan TV

Shamba Shape Up is not a Citizen original production. The sponsors akina CGIAR came up with the idea and roped in Syngenta etc. They got a company to produce the show and Citizen to air it

They even made a movie. Critical Assignment. It was as if the Castle Lager commercials were leading up to the movie.