Tour & Travel Company Start up

What does it take to start a Tour company Kenya? Whoever might be having the experience, would you mind sharing it here. Is it a lucrative business these days?
I’m also looking for someone who’d be interested in partnership.

You will need to pump a lot of money.
1.have cruisers or vans. You can rent which will be probably 60k +a month
2 physical office with atleast one secretary who can double up as social media marketers. The office must be in nicer looking place
3.sponsor ads on social medias.
4. Before advertising a place make sure you are familiar with the are. Example usilipishe watu 5k kwenda Malindi Alafu upate ukienda hasara.

Am not in the industry…

That’s very helpful

Tulijaribu kiasi wakati wa kibaki for like 2 years.
Downgraded to airport transfers…airport to hotel strictly…bunduz ventures hapana.
Kama ukona links na watu wa hotels na tour guides…id recommend u approach as many as possible uone niaje airport transfers uki learn the biz then if you got the doh scale up to safaris.
You dont have to start your own company…sazingine tour companies huwa na shortage ya vehicles na drivers…thats where they rope you in.
Your most important asset haitakuwa gari…ni dereva…choose wisely…but there was money to be made back then…unreliable but you could make some cash.
I recommend airport transfers coz cost ya kumaintain ndai itakuwa down.
Good luck.
But it was fun…sazingine kama uko free na gari imelala kwako…unaenda unatransfer tourists wenyewe una avoid cost ya dere na tips pia ni zako…it was fun.

Hekaya hakuna…just hepad a potential car jacking one night after dropping off wateja.

Ingia job kama intern upate inside info

Kumbe unaweza post kitu ya maana huku. Actually thats the best approach. Aingie as unpaid apprentice or paid. Apate the insides of the business then he can go his own way

Mara ya mwisho niliona mtu akipewa internship na tours and travell agency…that intern had to pay the company so that someone could make time for the ‘intern’.

Tours and travell agencies vile mi niliexperience ni family owned businesses ama ni a venture between 2 3 families or pals…that being said unapata ni wives cousins and other relatives ndio wanarun the office with VERY VERY FEW outsiders…halafu turnover rates za outsiders iko somehow high juu ya the seasonal nature of the biz.

Kama OP anaweza ji fix mahali then sawa…but akianza vile nimerecommend…anaenda route ana pata experience ya fuel & mech costs, ana interact with more experienced tour guides mkiwa huko bunduz kwa roadi (this is very important…the wazee watakushow vile mtu hu survive kwa hio biz) halafu ukiwa roadi una interact na wateja kwanza hawa local (any african tourists) treasure trove for future biz…ukitoka roadi mkienda office for debriefs and operational meetings uta toka hapo well rounded kushinda hio internship…my 2 cents.

Kulikuwa na dame fulani kwa agency nilido nao…hakuwa anafanya any…she was just waiting to get married in the meantime vijana walikuwa wanaongeza mileage polepole.

She paid 40k for the 3 month off season internship…hakuna haja ni weke jina ya hio agency hapa.

…look doing beyond the tour & travel while in that type of gig. That is because the tour & travel is very seasonal and (worse off) tourist are nowadays opting to in order to go on a shoe string budget holiday they plan their own holidays in the country & cut off tour operators . Eg…I am in a group where these people come from abroad, go to parks, but they self drive.
Think about ticketing also. And not this Bonfire Adventure holidays ticket…the travel agency type…it is big business. I worked for such a travel agency and it was raking in good money.

Land Cruiser hire is 20k per day van is 12k to 15k a day. You can always hire when you have a job.

To start a company you need
A website and social media pages
Basic knowledge of the destinations | Accommodation and how to plan programs
With these, you can have a briefcase company and now put efforts into marketing and you should start getting jobs.

However, just like any other industry, we are also regulated
You will soon need to have a physical office
Then a TRA license and you should be good to go.