This is Guka - Struggling Fossils, Take Heart.

I am always amazed at the audacious naivety of youth.

In recent times on this site, this has taken the form of deriding old foggies like me, @gashwin, @Clawmatsu, @It’s Le Scumbag etc etc as being possible financial failures who come here to exorcise our demons.

The narrative by young talkers has been: if you don’t have tonnes of money by 40 and are still struggling you are a ferking failure.

Just yesterday one brat wrote:

“Money is not even in the top five for me, it only becomes a problem if you don’t have it and you don’t stick to your lane or [COLOR=rgb(226, 80, 65)]you’re like in your late 30s and still struggling.”

Well, well, well.

I wouldn’t think people struggling financially at say 38 years would be such a surprise in a country where 70% of the people earn less than 50K a month, or thereabouts. In fact, if data is anything to go by, most of us will be struggling THROUGH-OUT life. It’s nothing to be ashamed really.

The tragedy for our youth is that they have been blinded by such outliers like Zukabag and other social media entrepreneurs to think tha it is normal to make tonnes of money by 30. Yes, it is possible, but this is the exception rather than the rule. Young people in Kenya need to be real if our country is to have long-term prosperity. Its statistically highly unlikely that a young person, ON AVERAGE, wil be worth more than $20,000 by the time you are 35. No matter how hard you bet or rob, slay and con your way. Chances are that those who do the later will simply get shot or die in crazy situations like Sharon and Keino.

Of course you could say that all this is from a salty failure. That’s your take. Doesn’t matter really.

Now, let me end with a grown-up statistic: IN the good old USA, the average age for a person to become a millionaire, that is: ASSETS - LIABITIES = more than Ksh100 million is 58 years for women and 59 for men.

Bwana @gashwin and @Meria Mata , you still got like 10 years to make this average. Just stay real, and watch the youngins self-destruct in an orgy of stupid social medialism.

I told you today in the morning you have a shell for a head. Mafwiii mzee wewe tafuta bibi ndio uje uonge hapa ghasia

:):slight_smile: Dnt ever let little things from little pple get to you, especially in social media the loudest are the most fake.

As @Motokubwa would say mtu hajawaijenga pit latrine or bought a tonne of sand/muthaga wants to give the macro n micro economics of real estate devpt n state in Kenya.:rolleyes::rolleyes::oops:

If financial net worth was done fr the ones who yap the most…they will take 10 light years to get to where most real folks are

Sufferers are the loudest when an issue props up concerning wealth claiming how well they are doing financially but in reality they are my neighbors hapa Gitambaya. Nikikopa mama boga pia yeye anakopa.

mzee mi hukuheshimu sana.unajuanga mengi sana.huo uliouongea hapo juu ni ukweli mtupu bila hata doa

Thanks for this but one thing you failed to compare is the life expectancy in Kenya against that in States… Did I call you [SIZE=1]chieth?? [/SIZE]

[ATTACH=full]215629[/ATTACH]
Nyinyi ndo mlianza hii tabia.

Last yr was my hardest …i lost everything (story fr another day)…so i went to a house party my girlfriend had this new german car , my other girlfriend had her hubby suprise her with a red range so the neighbours came by n started talking big …one man owns a house in syokimau …mwingine kileleshwa etc.I felt so little…they were living in this 30k plus apartments, on my side money fr uber was a problem.

This yr i hve come to know my girlfriends r just living fr likes on social media debts everywhere …sponsors ,sleeping with co. Patners etc.

That mans hse is owned by the wife :D:D

No long term investments or plans , quiet sad

I concur. Most youths want it easy. Uamke, upige ma-deal (read corruption, conning and stealing) na ukuwe na bibi na watoto wazuri. An utopian way of thinking. Social media has blinded many by the time it hits them otherwise, much energy will have been wasted

First and foremost, napenda saaaaana yaani TOJ :smiley: because my comment ilikuuma. It’s funny how you always name drop and act like you’re well connected, Oh thee of high intelligence. Ironically, at one time you called people who chew khat people of low IQ but umekita kambi kwa inbox ya mayeks (mtu ya mairungi) ukiomba coins :D:D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Wq_K61Mh1A

Life expectancy is misleading statistics. What they do is take the average age of death including high or low infant mortality rate to calculate the data. Hence, the fact that in Kenya we have a high infant mortality rate lowers the life expectancy. However, there should be another way of calculating the conditional life expectancy of people who live to 21 years and above. That can be done by calculating the median age of death or the age where most people die the most pre-21 years.

The fact that the life expectancy in Kenya is 67 years does not mean you will likely die at the age of 67. It just means there is a high infant mortality rate which they used to calculate that 67 years average. If a child is born today and dies tomorrow, that child will be used to calculate the life expectancy in Kenya.

But if you don’t count the infant mortality rate, the life expectancy could be higher. For that reason, I think they should use a different method for people who are above 21 years.

You would be surprised that most people who are above 21 years and above in Kenya probably live longer than those in the U.S.A considering the USA has one of the highest rates of cancer, lifestyle diseases and gun violence in the world.

I agree with @FieldMarshal CouchP. Its ridiculous to think that you will be a comfortable millionaire by the time uko 40s unless you are an idiot. Money general takes 3 things to happen like it did for kina zukabagga and Gates:

1. Brains: you need to have brains to be able to seize a situation when it arises
  2. Social/economic position: You need to be in the right position to be able to seize the situation when it arises
  3. Luck: you need to be lucky in some extent for the correct situation to present itself.

Look at guys like Gates or even Jobs. Their companies were not the ones that dreamed up the system of point-and-click computing and even the computer mouse yet they profited the most from these technologies. This system was invented by a group of talented engineers that worked for a small R&D department at Xerox called Xerox Parc. Xerox had the future of computing in their hands but failed to see it. They were looking for technologies to improve photocopying instead and dismissed this new form of computing.

Jobs was the first guy to see this technology after being nagged by an employee of his who knew what was happening at PARC to go and take a look. He immediately saw that this was the future of computing and offered Xerox 100,000 shares in Apple in exchange for full disclosure of how the technology worked to which Xerox agreed. He later showed this tech to Gates who set about developing windows at Microsoft. Xerox had no idea they were sitting on a gold mine.

So to recap:

Brains: These guys had the brains to see that the Xerox technologies was the future.
Social/Economic situation: they each ran software companies which were relatively small at the time but able to take advantage of the situation
Luck: they literaly stumbled onto the technology at Xerox parc who had no idea what to do with it… Lucky them!

So the idea that by 40 you have to be rich is ludicrous. Not matter how hard you work or how smart you are, without abit of luck, its not easy.

I agree with early man’s views, life is a marathon not a sprint.

Mmmmmmmh… Are you implying akina @FieldMarshal CouchP didn’t have those three… Just wondering.

:D:D:D enough said

Iam saying that with the absence of one of these its difficult to make it big. Now guys like Guka definitely have brains, but since this is an anonymous site, I cant vouch for the other 2 factors…

Hapa nakubaliana na wewe
Vijana wana haraka sana siku hizi…trying to compete with nhif looters to accumulate wealth overnight.
I had that mentality when I was in my 20s, made lots of money, got into trouble with authorities and hurt a lot of people along the way all because I had a deadline ati lazima nifike 30 Nikiwa na a certain amount of millions.
Pesa mzuri ni Ile unatafuta na jasho yako pole pole…
Hii pesa inaingia as you keep on peeping over your shoulders hupotea haraka sana

Kuna nugu pale kwa ploti ako jobless and lives with his 40year old uncle. Uncle yake anafanya kwa mhindi. Ile nugu idler usema by the time he is 40 atakua millionaire. Yeye ushinda aki idle around betting shops na mogoka base. Tafakari hayo

Vipi little man.