The upgrade that never was

It looks like huyu admin pulled a fast one on us. He staged an upcoming “migration to a new platform” then went ahead to delete all media from a majority of the historical posts. If you visit the archives you will realize picha na kadhalika karibu zote zimeenda.

At the same time he very conveniently started complaining about the size of the data, and that it was “delaying and prolonging the migration” while all along he knew the Kenyan amnesia and apathy would erase any queries from impatient talkers about the status of the migration. Have you realized no one is asking about it?

Why did he promise that he “had a complete backup” and that “everything would be migrated including passwords” while in the back-end he was up to mischief deleting the content that complements talkers contributions? That gives posts life and color. That adds flesh to the skeletons.

To tie things up he even created new handles to make it look all real that the ownership of the forum had changed.

I knew this admin was a pretty irritating and dismissive character, but didn’t think he was this conniving.

By today’s standards a ~250gb database cannot even fill a modern flash drive. Networks are fast, memory, cpu and disk are no longer bottlenecks. People move TBs in a matter of minutes. There is no reasonable reason why the task of truly migrating a forum can take this long.

Unless there is a very good explanation we shall presume that the intention was deception and deletion of data without any reason and prior notice/warning.

And don’t you delete this post!

I remember @EngineerLMG earned his VS status by just posting pics back in the day. Skuizi akuna media yake ni accessible ata moja!

Alikua akitumia soh tano ya jaba, tools na chrome na aongeze 150 ya kitemeo akanidodge. @admin bure kabisa

picha za TBT zilimalasia kitambo, even before the “upgrade”

The migration is almost complete, attachments are taking longer than anticipated. We had thought by Sunday we will be through but it is taking longer than we thought.

trust the process guyz

Oh my, that doesn’t sound very encouraging. Since when did people purge data from the source while migrating? What happens if, like it appears to be, the upgrade fails? How and to what do you roll back?

If the constraint is storage, doesn’t it make sense to scale it up during the migration process so that one retains both copies, then scale down once the cut-over has been completed and everything verified?

Tech is so flexible these days, why are we still running things like its the early 2000s? Why are we so fogothary?

Anyway, if there’s any hint of truth in your story i wish you guys well.

And by the way I know exactly what “its taking longer than we thought” means in IT parlance.

Kwani mnatumia FTP ama flash disk kuhamisha hii site? What mode of ‘migration’ are you guys using admin

Jamaa alijisavia hizo picha kwa hard drive yake asafishe mesho bole bole. Sharing is not caring.

Let us give them the benefit of doubt. Lakini wakae wakijua it is always better to clearly communicate what is happening and the progress.

Otherwise people start all sorts of speculation and rumor mongering.

Mbona una shangaa? He is doing things in the true African fashion.

Hauoni hata Mwizi alisema akiweka Bibilia chini na hadithi zingineyo. Mara 6 months, kesho, 1 year, oh sorry tulimaanisha 2 years.

You are licking someone’s arse hapo staffroom? Shenziiiiiii sana

You sucked someone’s cock in staffroom that’s why you are roaming free bukusu mushienzi

Still waiting…