The Mara Scam

I don’t know if you guys have stumbled upon this seasonal Mara scam, but it’s here with us again. It’s a job recruitment scam. First, they post the job adverts on Facebook groups and blogs and many people apply. The terms of employment are very attractive to entry level staff, hence receiving hundreds of applications. Once you throw in your application, they will then send you an offer letter after a week. The offer letter looks something like this:
[ATTACH=full]359521[/ATTACH]
A few days later, they will send you directions to the non-existent hotel via text (See attached screenshot)

[ATTACH=full]359522[/ATTACH]
So how do they make their money?
Since you are going to work in the hotel industry, they will then ask you to ensure that you have an up to date Tourism Health & Food Handlers Certificate. They normally do this on the day of reporting. Now it’s obvious that 97% of the applicants do not have this certificate, so they will tell you that they can facilitate it if you pay their agent 3500/-. Most people will have travelled from as far as Kwale to Narok for the job opportunity, so they won’t resist paying that amount. Once you reach the Mara Sekanani gate, you will meet about 50 people who have come for the same job. The askaris at the gate will normally inform you that you have been conned, as they normally receive troops of prospective employees every fortnight. The scammers normally change the name of the hotel and website every month to ensure they remain in business. Be warned!

This is another prime example of the shithole nature of our country. These scammers have been at it for years, and have gotten so comfortable they use the same numbers. You’d think the “hawk-eyed sleuths” at the DCI would have arrested them by now, lakini wako busy wakishika bloggers.

Big scam hii. Years ago I was a victim to a well orchestrated recruitment scam ya Middle East.

… and we keep falling for the same tricks every other day. I almost fell a victim to a very ‘lucrative deal’ for offshore jobs with a Calendonian company pale Canada, was planning to pay the $87 facilitation fee but due to msoto nka delay. Meanwhile was doing a kibarua somewhere karibu na Canadian embassy along Limuru road and one morning decided to pop in pale kucheck requirements to acquire a Canadian visa, apo ndo nlijua how lucky I was kuwa msotaji … it was a vvvv huge con play.

Kuria habari ya usubui?

Utalijua jiji

There is a sucker born every minute.

Meaning:
There is no shortage of naive people ready to become victims of frauds and cheats.

Poa sana mujamaa. Leo nme oversleep buana. Congrats naona Tuchel alikuwa lucky jana … naona hio luck iki run out pale semis though