THE Mama Ngina/Florida escapade.

My first humble abode in mombasa was at Mtongwe…as this was a very cheap estate then.cheap, clean and with very friendly people.
By then I was 22, with a wife and a one year old son…my wife was still a young gal at 21…so i wasent so much interested in gals then,but making money, man i was hungry for mullah. From the beggining, we had a good rapport with my wife, as we had grown up together at naks. So our realationship is what u can call, childhood sweethearts.( That will be another hekaya).
This is how I ended up at Mtongwe.
My boss had a nephew who worked at Mombasa, and so he used to come to our offices in the evening after work, to check on his uncle business. Now being young, although older than me by several years, we connected and he started showing me around mombasa night sports. So lets call this guy Peter, for the purpose of this hekaya.
It happened that some years back, kenya navy was recruiting in Nyahururu, and many buddies of Peter age were recruited to Kenya Navy.
Sasa hapo ndio mambo ili haribika. Peter introduced me to his crew at Naval base, and they were young guys, and they got me a single room.
Every weekend from friday, we would camp at kenya navy and drink ourselves silly. Alcohol was cheap and after getting our fill, we would move to town and dance away the night at florida, or salambo, or bobs, or casablanca…
One weekend , we wanted to have drinks at Kenya army Nyali base, but decided first to swim and relax at Reef hotel. Reef hotel then would allow u to swim at their swimming pool, if u were drinking at their beach bar.
We were a group of about 8 guys, young, loaded and noisy.
I noticed some fine nice , and naive gals, by the way they were behaving, seated at the far end of the pool counter, with a hawk middle age woman, whom I automatically decided was a relative living in mombasa, and the gals were visitors from upcountry. And indeed that later turned true.
Being the adventerous one, I timed when the gals were walking on the beach, and approached them tukiwa na Peter…we walked along the sunday beach and talked…They were from Kiambu and 2nd years at campus and had decided to visit their aunty who lived at Tudor Mombasa.According to them, that was their 1st visit in mombasa, and they were raring to see mombasa night life. Thy promised that they will convince their aunti in the evening to let them go visit a coleague who was studying at Mombasa poly (now TUM) (many hekayas of this place coming if I wont have bored elders)
We agreed to pick them at Tudor mwisho stage around 6-7pm…Men, Peter was over the moon, but for me i wasent excited, remember I had a young wife, and i wasent even thinking on cheating…we had to hepa our crew, and they were very mad, as Peter was the one with a car, a VW passant SW diesel, that I had helped him buy at customs auction inside port.this car would carry 4 navy guys inside the big boot.
Come evening we proceeded to Tudor mwisho stage and parked. The gals didnt keep us, and by 6.30pm they showed up and Peter drove to mama ngina drive…here we bought them icecream and story zikaanza…we convinced them tuingie Florida night club. Them days, this club was fire, and its revelers were seamen, American marines, and populated by very wild whores.
However early evening, the club was always calm, but it would erupt with activity and music from midnight.
So the gals were on reds…( This was a fovourite drink for the female kind,then, a coded message to u that they warent getting drunk soon).
Peter was on high drive , convicing the gals that after food, we visit mamba village, which then had an awesome dancing floor and the best night club in mombasa then.
Most of you who have visited or stayed in Mombasa, know how the inhabitants are round mouthed, and will talk just about anything. This was not our lucky day, and this is how things went south.
A guy that Peter knew, on seeing us, decided to ambush us and joined our table.he bought a whole round and since he was tipsy, started to talk like a typewritter.non stop, and cutting everyone midway when u tried interjecting.
(Remember we wa young, bcoz u cant pull that stuff with me now, i will through u out of my table immediately)
On learning the gals were knew in mombasa, he went overdrive with jini stories ." Ati ooh, kuna mtu alibeba mschichana from beach, wakaenda , wakanywa pombe, wakakula, then wakaenda wakalala, morning mshichana akiamka, akapata ako juu ya baobab tree, na ngua zake ziko kwa branches, panti pale, bra pale, skirt pale, brouse pale"
Wawawawawa…mtf!!! The shit hit the fan men…the gals were shocked…they started looking at us strangely and they would look at each other and u would tell they were inwardly terrified
I told Peter kimeumana, and we tried all we could to assure them that hizo ni panganga za mlevi but u would tell they warent convinced.
Tulifukuza huyo jamaa when it was to late…ata the food, the gals hawakuguza…they went to the ladies and thats when our goose got cooked.
On coming back, they said ata kuna kitu walisahau kupatia aunti yao, we rush them home, they give the auti then twende Mamba village night club.
Sisi hao, being very excited that somehow, the situation had been salvaged we rushed them home, hapo mbele ya Tudor mwisho, wakashuka, na kutuambia we wait for them, tuwamulikie and wakapiga corna wakaishia .
I asked Peter azime mataa, hakuskia, he was " let the lights stay on ndio tuone wakikuja"
We waited, 30min, 1 hr, 2 hrs .Me trying to convice my dude the gals warent coming back, and him adamant they will…
After 3 hrs i noticed the lights were dimming, I asked Peter to start the car, wapi…the engine couldnt kick…battery drained…
Fortunatly for us it was a manual, nilishuka, nikatafta wale majaa hukaa stage ata usiku, and bcoz Peter didnt know how to push start the car, nikaingia kwa steering wakaskuma nikawasha gari.
At this stage i was mad , and pombe ilikuwa imeisha kichwa, I told him off and nikamshow akae passager seat. Drove to town, and at casablanca we meet our navy guys …lets say ile kicheko walitucheka, tuli aibika the whole night…only beer would soothe us.

Stori safi and appears legit to me.I have also been left at the gate waiting for a stupid lass who ain’t coming back.
That was eons ago,can’t happen to me now,either nichape vitu kwanza before I drop her at her Aunty’s or I simply leave her in the club ajipange…

Had to read this with the Coasto accent…:D:D

Round and loud too…Hekaya swafi

Nakwambia mwanangu…hahaha

Thanks bro…

Things men go through coz of women…when u see an elder, just know amepitia mengi…

Kizungu ilikuja na meli…ni kujaribu tu kaka…

Hekaya swaffi buda! Keep it up. Kula like.

Thanks chief!

Swafiiii. Admin fast track huyu enveee to be an elder ndio akuwe anakaa meza moja na wasito. cc @Electronics4u @administrator .

Thanks for the support bro.

Hekaya swaffe.Umeleta memories tamu sana za Mombasani.Bobs was the place to be for me though for hunting kungurus,ma kunguru za florida zilikua na ubaguzi,i hated their fake english accents ati so that they can bag the foreigners.After ku chezwa na hao madem mngeenda tu bobs hizo ma morning hours za 5am.siku zangu nilipenda ku rave Casablanca mpaka Sunday asubui.Saa zile natural light imeingia ndio nilikua naona ile kunguru nilibaia drinks tatu ndio nibebe yeye take away is uglier than a warthog.Hapo na hapo namua kuelekea home mtwapa but napitia Bobs.Saa hizo inaeleka saa tatu asubui Sunday.Naingia Bobs napata ma kunguru swaffe zimekaa hapo kwa quench bench ya hapo nje.Kumbe wamekunywa pesa zotempaka za cab.Natafta mmoja ameiva kwa natural light nanunula yeye drink then i tell her twende we eat breakfast tulale kidogo we recharge the battery halafu turudi.Kanafurahi nampeleka home napewa ikus mpaka saa nane halafu napea yeye 400 bob ya tuktuk.

Ooh yah…bobs was the in thing then…guys would meet morning from other clubs …na wanakunywa almost whole day…u would go hapo morning unapata parking imejaa na bado wanafurika in…good memories bro!

Haha Bob’s was quite the place.Used to drink there Sunday asubui.Gari ya g4s ikikuja kuchukua pesa ndio naambia kunguru tuende home.
Ilikuja kuharibiwa na madem wa mchele wa Bamburi.

Yah…it died a natural death…siku hizi ukiwa mombasa if u r a visitor,utashangaa why hakuna nyt life in town,ata casablanca ilichapa…kumbe all action went to mbamburi…ile action iko huko na clubs fanky…huwezi amini…only covid cud make it pause!!

on point.

Thanks bro.