Tembea Kenya

[ATTACH=full]254354[/ATTACH]
Taking on The Great Northern Road, from Nanyuki to Moyale through a very diverse eco-system of highlands and semi-arid conditions, this is an epic cycling adventure from the Equator to the Ethiopian border.

Day 1: Travel Day

• Transfer from Nairobi to Nanyuki
  • Check into Sportsman’s Arms, set up camp (or book a room at an extra cost)
  • Bike off-loading, assembly and testing.
  • Dinner + briefing

Day 2: Nanyuki - Archers Post 122km:

• Early breakfast then break camp
  • Ride out past Mt. Kenya, northbound into Samburu county, home to Umoja Village - the only all-women village in Kenya.
  • Lunch stop halfway through the ride.
  • Expect: wind in your face the entire day, and a nasty 40km climb at the start followed by a great downhill. On the drops, remember to keep your brakes in check to stay within comfortable speeds. The bends are gentle enough and potholes rare.
  • Accommodation & Dinner: Umoja Camp overlooking River Ewaso Nyiro

Day 3: Archers Post - Laisamis 127km:

• Early breakfast then off we go
  • Ride out farther North into Marsabit County, The Cradle of Mankind.
  • Lunch stop halfway through the ride
  • Expect: A very scenic first half of the ride passing Ol Donyo Sabache. Looking back from the mountain you might just spot Mt Kenya over a 100km away. It’s a really hot ride but the route is relatively flat. There are only a few villages along the way should you want to stop for soda.
  • Accommodation & Dinner: Manyattas at the start of Laisamis town

Day 4: Laisamis - Marsabit 97km:

• Early breakfast then hit the road
  • Ride on towards Marsabit town, the capital heart of Marsabit county.
  • Expect: Welcome to Kenya’s camel highway! A tough day on the bike characterized by head winds and an unrelenting 54km climb with climbing lanes at the end. Water/soda stops are quite scarce. Beautiful scenery abound but very few villages en route.
  • Accommodation & Dinner: Marsabit National Park Campsite at Abdul Gate

Day 5: Marsabit - Turbi 124km:

• Early breakfast then hop on your bike
  • We are nearing the border now, ride your heart out towards the last reaches of Marsabit County
  • Expect: An easy start with an easy roll down the mountain for 45km, a reward for the previous day’s torture. The cross winds are crazy though, bringing with them sand devils so bring a scarf to secure your face. Not for the faint hearted. The sun beats down on you relentlessly too so stay properly hydrated throughout the day but the semi-arid scenery is otherworldly! It’s like Mars-a-bit.
  • Accommodation & Dinner: Women Group Guesthouse, Turbi

Day 6: Turbi - Moyale 120km:

• Early breakfast then hit the homestretch
  • Ride on to the Ethiopian border, it’s your last day.
  • Expect: Another windy day but with a shorter climb, 25km, out of Turbi. There are more villages along this route for a better glimpse at life up North and of course a soda stop. You will start noticing traces of Ethiopian culture and lifestyle as you get closer to the border town, Moyale.
  • Accommodation & Dinner: Holale Guesthouse just before Moyale town .

Day 7 & 8: Return to Nairobi or Start of another adventure

• Early breakfast then start of journey back to Nairobi via Nanyuki by bus. Should you wish to stay longer or go on a desert safari or travel farther to Lake Turkana, we can make the arrangements. Your bike will, however, be dropped off in Nairobi.
  • Meals at your cost on the return days
  • The travel back is broken into two days with a one night stop in Nanyuki since it’s a very long drive to Nairobi from Moyale. Accommodation (camping) is covered with camping equipment but meals are at your cost.

Total Cycling Distance: 590km

CHARGES:

• Ksh. 45,000 (with your own bike)
    ***Road bikes available for hire at Ksh. 2,000 per day and very limited.

A NON-REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT of Ksh. 10,000 should be made to Mpesa Till No. 960934 by August 11, 2019. The remaining amount should be cleared by August 23, 2019. Other payment platforms available, just contact us.

CHARGES INCLUDE:

• Transport by fueled 24 seater overland truck (inclusive of entry fees where applicable)
  • Services of professional English-speaking driver, guides, paramedic and cook
  • All campsite and guesthouse fees
  • All camping equipment including use of our three-person dome tents (each tent shared by 2 people), stools and foam mattresses except sleeping bags
  • Three meals per day prepared by our safari chef (includes tea & coffee) on the cycling days. No meals covered on the travel days
  • Drinking water during the day for the cyclists and meal times. Bring refillable bottles to reduce plastic waste.

CHARGES EXCLUDE:

• Entrance fees for Marsabit National Park.
  • Cycling equipment (bike, helmet and cycling clothes). Bikes and helmets available for hire at an extra cost
  • Personal travel/Medical insurance
  • Sleeping bags/ pillows/ blankets
  • All items of a personal nature e.g. additional beverages, toiletries and medicines
  • Any other extras not stated as included above.
  • Tips and gratuities to staff.
    =========================

WHAT TO CARRY:

• Sleeping bag (3 season, it’s cold in Marsabit)/ Masai blanket/ travel pillow
  • Money for personal spending
  • Rucksack/ hard suitcase (maximum 20kgs)
  • A pair of long trousers and fleece for the cool mornings and evenings in addition to plenty of light clothes for hot days, safari hat/cap, trainers, sandals.
  • Head torch, sunglasses, suntan lotion/spray, insect repellent
  • Camera
  • Additional toilet paper, towel, wet wipes, soap and toothbrush/paste/ personal toiletries.
  • All personal travel/ medical insurance
  • Identification documents i.e. National IDs or Passport
    ======================

Phone: +254 717681649 or +254 799396513
Email: ask@baiskeliadventures(dot)com or [email protected]
[ATTACH=full]254355[/ATTACH]

sounds pretty good for those who can manage. i cannot cycle for 590kms. i recently did a 600-km trip na gari and when i got home i slept for 11 hours.

you cycle at 20kms/hr for 5 hrs, thats managable ata kaa kuna milima but you have to be physically fit

590 kms ni ya wazito ,last weekend I joined some friends tukaenda nrb to nakuru ,Ile speed walinipeleka naskia maumivu hadi leo

mtu wa speed acha aemde, get comfortable with your own pace and rhythm na utafika ata kaa ni 300kms per day

Are there crow/club-washing stopovers?

carry your own crow mlale in the same sleeping bag
lakini my fren by day 3 wewe utakua umeisha kabisa.
sportsmen wakiingia camp for an upcoming tournament hua crow wamefungiwa till wamalize

Hehe sawa ES, though nilifikiri wangekua kama ile carrot ya kudangle ndio Moyale kufikwe

This is one tough but memorable ride.