Sydney HSBC Rugby series

Game 1 Kenya beaten by Canada

Game 2 happening now, we’re trailing by 3 Tries

Game over 41 - 0

This time round hatutaenda mbali.Hadi waresolve locker room issues(PAYMENTS FOR PLAYERS)

Says alot. No senior player in the team. All amateurs I’d say.

https://esmhls1-i.akamaihd.net/hls/live/510580/ESM-hls-live-2_1_1000@510580/chunklist.m3u8

Live link

Another one - dstv.co.za

I have been wondering kwani, tunalimwa tu hivi kama burukenge jo? Kumbe kuna some issues.

Made in Kenya pulled out its sponsorship after that incident of players removing their tags on the team kit because union had failed in paying them their salaries, allowances and win bonuses for two months. They could have removed the union tag instead. So now the union has less money to pay players their usual salaries. They earned 175,000 monthly, allowances of 30000, and a win bonus of 25000 each game. Now that is down to 100000 each salary, 15000 allowances and 10000 each per win. Getting other sponsors has been hard. Once corporate sponsors see the current ones having a challenge in that sport, union or players they shy away. The biggest impediment to Kenya Rugby is the union itself. People who are elected officials are mostly there for their own prestige, milestone achievement and more of a stepping stone to advancement of career. The last Chairman to give 100% was Muthee, not your typical Rugby person but knew how to handle the business side of the game. Spent sleepless night to get sponsor and most importantly maintain them. He got us Mike Friday and EABL made sure all our players needs were sorted. However that clique of club officials always ganged up against him as he was an outsider. They got their way and from the people who have come since from within are a terrible disappointment. Now I support Sasha Mutai to take up KRU Chair and sort this mess. From players needs and corporate Kenya demands. Safaricom withdrew after it become clear the union was diverting its sponsorship money to other things besides what’s presented to them. Government has is also been shy to give them money without a statement of accounts from the bank. You can give them 30 million and it gets swallowed up by loans and debt. When Kenya 7’s met President Uhuru before they went to Olympics in Rio. They gave him a signed memorandum of their problems and suggestions to rectify them. They asked to be paid directly by the state not union. They attached all their names and account details. The President was shocked they hadn’t been paid for six months and technical bench for a year. Muhoho was tasked to go get more money apart from the usual token. They each got their cash token as usual and each got paid directly to the account from the President pocket. The TM and Coach got the President Tel no to communicate directly to him. The union was very mad with the TM, coach and technical bench. They all got replaced. Omwela has been a big disappointment as Chair he should go.

Last time walifurahia kunyima sasha hiyo job.

Made in Kenya ndio nani?
And the union doesn’t have enough sponsors or enough money for that matter to manage the sport simply because the 7s team masked the sponsor during the Paris 7s leg.
Though Umetry ku-explain shida za rugby lakini rugby in Kenya isn’t just limited to the seven’s team.
Hapo kwa Omwela must go tuko pamoja

I think it is.

The entire Simba team are my people. In fact that might give me away. My emphasis on this post was 7’s because that’s the main subject of the post. On Simbas their case is worse. Sponsors wouldn’t touch KRU until changes are made and better corporate governance is instilled in its operations.

Made in Kenya brand is under Magical Kenya which is directly under Ministry of Tourism. They had paid 30 million to KRU before they left for 7’s assignment. Union diverted that funding to pay outstanding claims at the bank hoping to qualify for more credit from the bank so that they pay players as well. Well the bank took the cash and dilly dallied in giving them more credit. By the time union sorted that challenge the players strike was live on TV.