Swahili Words Derived From The Portuguese Language

Colonialization of the East African coast brought this changes tothe Swahili Language

[SIZE=5]B[/SIZE]
[li]barakinya[/li][li]bastola[/li][li]batiza[/li][li]bendera[/li][li]bomba[/li][li]boriti[/li][li]boya[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]C[/SIZE]
[li]chepeo[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]D[/SIZE]
[li]dadu[/li][li]dama[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]F[/SIZE]
[li]foronya[/li][li]frasila[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]G[/SIZE]
[li]gereza[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]K[/SIZE]
[li]karata[/li][li]kasha[/li][li]kimau[/li][li]kopa[/li][li]kopo[/li][li]korosho[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]L[/SIZE]
[li]leso[/li][li]limau[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]M[/SIZE]
[li]muhogo[/li][li]mvinyo[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]N[/SIZE]
[li]nanasi[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]P[/SIZE]
[li]padre[/li][li]pao[/li][li]papa[/li][li]parafujo[/li][li]pera[/li][li]pipa[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]R[/SIZE]
[li]roda[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]S[/SIZE]
[li]shumburere[/li][li]shupaza[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]T[/SIZE]
[li]tarumbeta[/li][li]terafini[/li][li]turufu[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]U[/SIZE]
[li]Ureno[/li][li]uru[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]Y[/SIZE]
[li]yaya[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]Z[/SIZE]
[li]zambarau [/li][/ul]

are there others …is this the full list ?

No, there are others like “meza” (table).

Cha muhimu ni kwamba @Ndindu ni bonobo mkuu

i am yet to meet a human being denser that @Ndindu …labda tu @kush yule mnono

Itakuchukua centuries before you meet me kaka bRASA. How is your virtual stay in France?

Bonobo chimpanzee, si ungeweka the Swahili word on one side and the Portuguese word beside it for comparison purposes. Kwani iko nini?

Kuma ilitoka wapi

Nishavuka border, niko Vienna, austria saa hii. Schengen Visa tings omeraa.

pesa
Sukari

Tulichambua Kwa “Portugal gave the world”

Finish him!

What if it is the other way round. Portuguese words borrowed from Kiswahili?

The hen or the egg?

ulipanda ndege bila mask ukapita airport bila mask danganya toto jinga

Tomber ( une femme ) from French curiously has the same pronunciation and meaning as the Swahili ‘Tomba’. Especially if said in the past simple tense, 3rd person.

Haujui kuna kitu kama private jet ama uliskip class 2?

I disagree, tomber in French means to “fall in love”

KUMA etymology
Native American-means,light of the family
Japanese-Bear
Croatian-godmother
Turkish-a woman who lives with a married man. MWK
Dangaleàt(Chad)-meat
Hoava(austronesia)- water
Swahili - tuma fare
Rama(Nicaragua)-woman
Kaura(Aboriginal)- another

nah,its ‘to fall’. Love is l’amour . The word you’re looking for is ‘tomber amoureux’