Should I take a loan for a car? Advice

Salamu,

I have reached a point where I think I need some car for my own and my family’s transportation needs. What I am not sure of is whether I should take a loan for this. This is because getting a loan for a private car always earns a person a very bad rap in many circles.

For starters, I have moved to a house where I will be saving around 13k in house rent. Where I work, guys who have cars are paid some 6k allowance. That comes to around 19k. If I don’t buy a car, I will forego the 6k and I will still spend around 5k per month in commuting. Additionally, I will still be squeezing my three kids and wife in matatus whenever there is a need to travel.

Off course I have the option for saving for this car. The problem is that I have tried this but distress calls always depletes my savings. You know Africa. I read a thread here where members agreed that sometimes investing in something and paying loan is more sure than saving and investing later on.

What are your thoughts? I will also appreciate suggestions for affordable, fuel-saving car models. Remember I am a (non-tangatanga) HUSTLER.

If having a car will make the commuting of family members more convenient and reduce the overall expenses, go for it despite the sentiment that taking a loan for a car is inadvisable. However, remember that a car needs money to maintain

Take a loan brother, I realized that it is possible to repay. That’s one of the benefits you have as a salaried person.
Gari: Nunua Toyota:)

We discussed this here and concluded it is good for a man to own a car. If you need to take a loan, do it. You just don’t go announcing that the car has pending loans. You will soon finish the loan and own it entirely.

On maintenance, it is obvious that it is not cheap but that will also challenge you. When you have no money for fuel or repairs, park it and use public means. Utapata pesa na gari itarudi roady.

As a peasant who doesn’t even own a wheelbarrow, my opinion is yes.

Peasant in Chief

Nunua suzuki alto. Enda job na bibi. Mwachie gari afanye Uber. Akuchukue jioni. Thank me latet

Save half the money for the car you want alafu uingie pale coast wapakistan watakupea Gari ulipe Pole pole in like 10 - 12 monthly instalments.

Plan well and all will be ok, go for something you can reliable and affordable.

chukua loan ukuje na hekaya ie
vile weekend haupumziki
bei ya mafuta imepanda
mguu za china ni fake
allowance ilitolewa job
na kadhalika

Fanya ivi Ghaseer bibi ni jobless??? if no/yes take a loan and shika Gari inaeza fanya Uber bibi akue akiendesha morning ana ku drop job jioni the same thing kama ako na job weka mtu kibarua akuendeshee Uber other than kuchukua loan hio gari ilale kwa Shade bills na Loans zitakupiga Cable ajabu

No. But just take the loan. Then go outside Nairobi and purchase a plot of the same amount with potential to appreciate. In 3 to 4 years sell the land and get even a better car or something else. You’ll never regret.

Take the loan but just make sure the loan repayment is comfortably within your means. And that the car you are buying is known for reliability.

What is your budget for the car?

If the repayments are manageable then go for it.

If you can’t afford a car, na sio ya biashara, wachana nayo. Najua ni peer pressure inakusumbua kijana. It is normal for young guys to feel the pressure. Lakini usiguze gari kama hufiki bei. Kubali matokeo and save up.

Good

Good idea, ensure you contribute between a third to half the cost of purchase.

You cant consider CONVENIENCE. Using the same logic, You would not buy a washing machine? And, at 39 years old, I don,t think I am a young man.

I will check but my expected increase in disposable cash income is 19k. I don’t know how much loan I can get whose repayment does NOT exceed three years. Any advice?

As we speak nangoja loan ya sacco iivane Hata Mimi ninunue gari. This business of commuting or Uber is tricky especially with a family. Loan lazma tuishi nazo

Numua locally used second hand in cash

This looks nice. Who are

This looks NICE. Who are ‘wapakistan’?