Sauti Sol's Potential For Projecting Kenya's Soft Power Is Being Thoroughly Wasted

These guys have fans from all over the world. Cheki sample:

[ATTACH=full]302895[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302896[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302897[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302898[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302899[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302900[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302901[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302902[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302905[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]302906[/ATTACH]

Don’t you fuckers see the potential here? Imagine someone from, say, Japan, who falls in love with Sauti Sol’s music. They then set out to know more about Kenya. A few months later they book a flight to Kenya for a month-long vacation. During this vacation, they tour the country while spending money at every stop. Imagine this scenario being replicated thousands or millions of times in the future. Do you think it’s by coincidence that the largest economy in the world also has the world’s largest film industry? These things are symbiotic ya’ll.

We need to support The Arts. They have a higher ROI than expensive and destructive wars of conquest. Plus their positive effects are felt longer. The pen is mightier than the sword, remember?

Lakini we can only wish. Dereva mlevi, can’t see past a bottle of Jameson. Makanga mwizi, hahurumii hata shamba la mavi. Kamagera ni mchawi.

Kila mtu ajipange.

Dereffa alipeana 100m kwa artists mkaanza kumkashifu

Which specific song are those guys talking about?

Those are comments taken from three songs…Suzanna, Short & Sweet, na Still the one. But the comments under most of their songs are similar.

Sauti Sol and likeminded artistes need to be taken in held in serious discussions and thoroughly funded by the government and local media.
I only see them as the only guys capable of developing a unique Kenyan sound.

Money alone is not enough.
If there are no policies and the right machinery to develop local artistes to succeed both here and internationally, we will only be developing talented beggars. Nothing more.

Ukweli. Halafu they’re also mentoring other authentic artistes through Sol Generation, kama Bensoul na Nviiri the storyteller.

Shida ya Wakenya ni wivu mingi. If you go to Nigeria, it’s very hard to penetrate their market even if you collabo with big Nigerian artists.

The irony is, without Kenyan support, most foreign artists like P Square & Diamond wouldn’t have made it big.

Actually some Jamaican artists like Alaine and Cecile have more airplay in Kenya than in Jamaica.

Spot on.
Kenya has a lot of talent: be it in music or even the crafts. I really wonder what the ministry for sports and culture is about then.
Kenya is not just about running. That’s been a major delusion.
No wonder even Sauti Sol had to sign a deal with Universal Music. Shitty voting, shitty government, expect shitty policies.

Sasa Kenyan artistes wengine hujiangusha. How can you sing songs that even in Mombasa where they speak “good” English can’t understand what the hell you are singing about?

Am talking about zile ngoma wanashinda wakisema chora saba, tingiza madiaba, mimi humanga hadi mapoko and other nonsense that shouldn’t even be in the lyrics. If as an artistes hizo ndio ngoma unatoa na unastay Eastlands then huko tu ndio utajulikana.

I love songs with a message kama hii…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56Q6V-zy2jc

When half a dozen viewers profess to like your music, it does not mean you are great. It happens with every music video on youtube. If you cannot conquer your home market, you are headed nowhere.

Who is sauti sol ama ni wale mashoga walienda kubehave vibaya kwa party ya Obama na Uhuru?

Unfortunately, we don’t support our artists

Unawajua lakini bado unauliza.

Which support do you want them to be given? If they are popular, they can make money through performances

Most folks can barely support themselves

Sauti sol has a good potential for he has got voice and talent, if only he works on his lyrics content by singing about serious love songs and stuff that affect society. If you understand the message in his songs you get bored so quickly ‘umenikalia chapati’ ‘you still look good, you can get it’, ‘short and sweet’ :smiley: What a waste of talent! Those foreigners like his songs becoz the rhythm and voice is good and they do not understand the message. Same thing with diamond back home his songs are regarded as naughty.

I don’t support your reasoning, forgive me.
Support is given the same way we support our athletics and tourism sectors
Give space and establish Creative Circles/Bubble( Vumbistan’s version of hollywood?). Funding for important/groundbreaking films/records. A Hall of Fame. New channels of distribution in Africa and beyond, etc.
Why do you think KPop is successful?

Not with the current genre we have lately,they should be capped. Heard my heiress singing “zimenishika yo” ,the elder niglet when he was four used to sing “naskia utamu” ya bobby mapesa.its been years yet the genre is sheet

sauti sol is a band