Private cars to be banned from CBD

[MEDIA=twitter]1622177158037753857[/MEDIA]

Quote:

The President’s Council of Economic Advisors (CEA) Chairperson David Ndii announced the government’s ambitious plan to decongest Nairobi City.

Ndii through a public statement made on Sunday, February 5, announced that the government plans to decongest the city by locking out private cars from Central Business District (CBD).

Owners of private cars will be forced to park their vehicles outside CBD and take public transport to the heart of the city.

I said it before and I will say it again. It is the only solution. When prophet Ahai speaks, you sh*t-munchers should listen.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/food-for-thought.236273/

You pay premium prices for petrol then go ahead and pay to mingle with muggers, pickpockets and thieves in flea infested psvs or getting mugged walking to the town center
Kenya Kwisha is thoroughly entertaining :D:D:D

Good move.

That is a misguided view, banning private cars from the CBD wont solve the traffic mess in town. The only way to bring sanity in CBD is to ban PSV matatus from the CEntral Business District its that simple. This is a topic for another day & that right now it will be hard to reason with the people. I am a PSV user FYI.

I personally started this, I use public means to get to cbd, it’s hell of a hustle to get even a parking spot, not worth it.

How many matatus do you see in that traffic jam?? Sometimes watu hukuwa kumbaffus tuu. Matatus don’t cause traffic jams in Nairobi. Private vehicles do.

[ATTACH=full]494294[/ATTACH]

Not Kenya fool.

No need of banning. Parking fee should be raised to around 1500/-. Amsterdam parking is an equivalent of 3,400/-. Ndio vile unaona bicycles ni nyingi kama siafu hio port city

What’s the difference, moron??

[ATTACH=full]494295[/ATTACH]

How does this prevent bonobos from passing through CBD without stopping when going to the opposite side of town??

ingia town leo ulete ripoti natena uingie Mon-Sat ulete ripoti

Yep, that will be a challenge but something can be worked out. Haile Selassie, Moi, Kenyatta avenues and Forest Rd to be used for transit. Otherwise ukiingia these other streets you pay up

what exactly is being banned ?
Transiting through CBD(eg kenyatta avenue, Moi avenue ) - impractical, you would be shutting down a traffic artery due to emotions, we would need a re-design of the city and highways around it?
Or parking in CBD ? a huge revenue loss in parking fees

the only practical solutions.

1. Increase parking to insane amounts like 1000shs
  2. Build bus stations and remove buses from Tom Mboya, Accra road, Ronald Ngara etc… road streets are now used as matatu stages creating a mess in the city… i know you will call me elitist, but tell me one serious city in the world where whole city streets are turned into bus stops and bus parking.

Umeuliza tunaona matatu ngapi hapo?
Tutaonaje matatu kwa picha ya Singapore. Unakuanga mjinga sana. Mbwa.
Anyway, it’s true, most traffic is caused by private vehicles.
This is quite the quandary. On one hand the traffic will reduce and on the other, no significant income from parking fees.

Matatus are the problem in CBD coz they have turned the place into one big “stage”.

[ATTACH=full]494303[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]494304[/ATTACH]

It makes sense if you are used to ps

Nunua gari uwache wivu ngombe hii. Hata kama ni kadudu

Niliona Kisumu wametoa matatu from kakamega rd from cbd. Hakuna jam huko in that direction

Even daresalaam doesn’t have this kind of disorganization in the name of pleasing a few fools