Prado diesel or Petrol

Between prado 2700cc petrol or 3000cc diesel which one - cons and pros elders!

Petrol upeleke wapi? Wacha mchezo, boss.

Expound boss

Most of the Prados I see are Prado TX 2700 petrol. Sijaona hiyo 3L diesel. I understand petrol engines are easier to maintain.

https://srv1.sbtjapan.com/photo/C0000/0000/UC0522/3.jpg?v=1608171709&imwidth=640

https://srv1.sbtjapan.com/photo/C0000/0000/UC0522/5.jpg?v=1608171709&imwidth=640

Tafuta Land Cruiser V8

diesel anytime, ukipata hybrid, hapo sawa

Where do you want to use it? If you use in locations with little hills, the petrol one is fiine… If you want to use it to carry load and climb steep hills with it this 2.7l petrol will be useless since it has very very little torque. If you drive often over long distances, the diesel one is more cost effective… but the diesel one is less reliable especially with the nozzles and adulterated diesel in Kenya and more costly to keep running Further, the diesel one is more expensive to buy … So, specify where you intend to use it… it matters… But given a choice go for the 1KD diesel and make sure that you fuel from reliable stations and service it well… then avoid speeding on corners for physics will take over and perhaps make you join akina Daniel Moi, Tom Mboya, Jomo Kenyattas of the past… if you know you know! But the 1KD diesel Prado is only imported from UK after 2013, the next ones from Japan are 1GD from 2015… the 1GD is more powerful than the 1KD and has a smaller engine of 2.8L diesel. The 1GD is more complicated to keep running as it has additional environmental control features like the Ad Blue fluid and DPF… The Local ones are still being installed with the older 1KD engines since Toyota Kenya has not yet localised the 1GD… so you will find 2021 Prado in Toyota Kenya with a 1KD engine…

:D:D:D… wanakuom.

Insi

Insightful!

Ushasema yote @Jimjones Thread closed

Just get the ex japan 2.7L petrol. Wachana na mambo ya ex UK turbo diesel with ad blue, DPF and other nonsense in addition to worrying about our diesel which is contaminated with kerosene by our cartels.

It depends on usage… if it is for driving around Nairobi and for image purposes only, the Petrol one will do. For commercial and long distance travels, the diesel one is the only viable option…

Cost of fuel. Simple. Hizo shoda za diesel engine wanasema sijapata

Gari kubwa lazima iwe na engine kubwa.

Buy diesel model expensively and get lower fuel prices … The diese lLandcruiser TXL has extra tank if the tyre is at the back.More mileage.

Search hapo sbt utajiona - diesel 3000cc

Thanks elder @Jimjones

Not from Japan but 3L 1KD UK… from 2015 they are only 1GDs 2.8L (or 2750cc) They did not produce diesels in Japan in the year 2014

Akuna J150 inakuja na 1KD from the dealer… All are 1GD and it’s way better than the 1KD

I am not writing from theory… ALL Prados from Toyota Kenya have 1KD 3L diesel engines… See this PRADO | TOYOTA Rugged elegance And Yes! the 1GD consumes less and is more powerful (torquewise but not HP-wise) than the 1KD. Note that 1KD as the one being installed in 2021 Toyota Kenya J150s and J151s are 3L (2950cc) and not 2.8L (2750cc) 1GD. No 1GD comes in 3Ls. Read the specs on the link…