Nyamgondho

WIKIPEDIA https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nyamgodho_Son_of_Ombare

Nyamgondho son of Ombare was a very poor man who earned a living by fishing on Lake Victoria. Generally speaking, Nyamgondho’s life as a young man was very miserable. He barely had anything to eat or clothes to wear, and, every evening, his underprivileged conditions forced him to walk long distances looking for a place among kind neighbors to help him with a place to sleep. One morning, Nyamgondho woke up so hungry that he thought he was going to die of hunger. Thus, he went to the lake at least with a hope of getting his daily bread, as he was fishing he cast his net and upon pulling it in, he saw an ugly woman. Nyamgondho wanted to throw her back into the water, but the ugly woman persuaded him to pull her out, and live with her as his wife. She promised to make him wealthy, on condition that he never reveals to anyone where she was found. The lady of the lake was hardworking and Nyamgondho became very rich, acquiring many cattle and several other wives. However, he suddenly grew proud and arrogant, and one day he came home drunk; each wife, who had her own house, refused to let him in. Even the lady of the lake refused to let him in. Nyamgondho shouted “What? Even you, ugly creature whom I found in the lake, you won’t open the door for me?” Enraged, the lady of the lake replied “What have you said? What was the agreement when we met?” Nyamgondho told her that with his considerable wealth in cattle, he no longer needed such an ugly wife, and he cursed her. Upon hearing this, the lady of the lake left their home and returned to the lake, and to Nyamgondho’s horror, every one of his cows followed her: one by one they walked into the water, leaving him no possession.

The rock formations resembling the Lady of the Lake’s footsteps and those of her animals can be seen at the point where she entered the water. People in the Nyanza region in Kenya believe that the water which flows above the ‘footsteps’ has medicinal powers and they come from as far as Kisumu to collect it

UPUS

from the people who thought a python called omieri was a god…

Wewe mwalimu rudi shule and narrate these kind of stories to yr std 1 pupils

NYAMGONDHO = JIRANI

Upus to some. Moral story to others.

@Nyamgondho, if you expect to get cattle through Kenyatalk, you’ll be greatly disappointed! @Supu don et al are not ugly!

Utanikoma wewe chokora mluhya

I haven’t read the whole thread and you could be right. :slight_smile:

DON’T INSULT MY PEOPLE OR WOUD OMBARE NGUI INO!!!

NIAJE UWES-MAKEI-YA-UMBU

Hehe, hizi ndizo zile hekaya za abunuwasi tunasikianga

guok matindo

nyam ng’odho

I like. e i enjoy these tales of our forefathers regardless of the tribe of origin… Kuna ya sijui waithera and the ogre Kitambo tulifunzwa shule primo and others… used to be my favorite lessons.

A stupid, cultureless, tribal brainwashed old second generation(thogoto missionary school) Christian, English coaching fool, hopeless example like @gashwin would gladly read cinderella and the easter bunny to his kids to sleep…
Now correct my English

Wakisii

FAIL

Wewe ndio umejaa upus…Story iko na “moral”.

NA WEWE UKO NA IMMORAL

Tangu uniombe hujawahi rudisha…