Number plate

Just asking. Can I switch my plates the square back one bring it to the front and take the slim rectangular to the back? Are there any legalities involved? Ama ntashikwa?

Nope. You can’t switch. But you can apply at KRA and pay for a new one.

Why do you want to switch in the first place??

Enda NTSA uapply for special plate ama custom plate lkn ukue ready kutoboka. Pamba hatasumbua wewe kwa barabara?

Ndo aweke kwa subaru …

The background colours are different that’s why you cant change. However if its shape you are looking for then you can change. This is especially since most back numberplates are square but for locally assembled vehicles its rectangle. So no issues. Lakini usijaribu ujinga ya kuleta plates za yellow mbele.:D:D:D.

The white should be at the front while the yellow should be at the rear. That’s what the law dictates.

Is there a known reason for this?

Don’t know

Visibility

Let me discuss about rare number plates:
NTSA builds most of them square because we are Japanese junkies whose cars fit square plates, if you import from europe is will definitely be rectangle, so most european car owners end up cutting the squared ones into two na kuunganisha to fit rectangle. Although locally assembled you get rectangle number plate since for them they pre-order

I read here that rectangular rear plate means you bought a real new car. Someone enlighten me.

Not necessarily, at the port there are rectangular plates as well but few in numbers compared to squared ones so if you are lucky you can get one. Two of my friends who shipped from UK got rectangular ones

not necessarily , your local mechanic can also make you rectangular rear plate, they just cut up the square one , and join them, no big deal, 800 bob or more depending on type of car

Yeah. Mbele ni black alphanumerics on a white background, nyuma ni black alphanumerics on a yellow background. Mambo na shape, you can cut na ufit kwa frame unataka.

Juu ya reflection.
Nyuma naskia it is illegal to have white lights/reflection so yellow na black is the best combination but mbele white & black plate reflective is okay.