Nobody is anonymous on the internet unless....

they are using Tor Browser…

If you are not using Tor, here is how the government or any sufficiently powerful organization can be knocking at your door in the next 2 hours or less if you post some UMEFFI thread with your “anonymous” account…

Step 1) Get your IP Address:
This one can be easily acquired from ktalk system admins or ktalk’s webhosting provider… it’s not just ktalk, any other website except those in the darknet can freely share your information with security agencies, wanaambiwa to it is a matter of national security, no questions asked

Step 2) Get your internet provider:
Given the IP address, CCK or KENIC can check which internet provider is the owner of that IP address be it safaricom, airtel or zuku

Step 3) Get your full names, phone numbers and location

Of course, your internet provider knows your location, the mobile internet provider even knows your real-time location and location history

Step 4) Get some bonus information

Of course, now they are using this contact information to aggregate data from all devices you are using, all the workplace and public wifi you have used will be available. They will be able to tell what time you wake up, how many meals and beers you take in a day, even the number of lanyes you are doing per week …

How TOR protects you:

Personally I don’t use it coz it is slow as fuck compared to other browsers especially when watching videos… but apparently this freaky app bounces every single internet request across over 1000s servers in all continents incuding Antarctica :D:D:D and the information is encapsulated in such a way that none of the servers knows the source or destination of such a request… it’s a fucking amazing piece of tech… nowonder big tech companies like Google don’t allow Tor browsers in their websites, coz they can’t afford to lose access to your little dirty secrets

Msiseme VPN can also work, coz your VPN provider has access to information about you which he can share akifinywa makende vizuri…

But the aint funding for TOR comes from the US military or the govt can’t recall which and he who pays the piper … (I’m paranoid like that) ,
I tried using it and it’s quite slow and it’s more secure if more people around you are using it .
I gave duckduck go a try and Opera have a free VPN . The worst is Chrome infact some sites catergorize it as a malware for all the shit it collects ,can’t touch it !

Yeah, I guess you can’t hide anywhere on the internet if the US, China and some other major ones are looking for you… kwanza china venye routers and telecom equipement are all increasingly coming from them, no level encryption can help you

First off, begin from the premise that whatever you do online may, given the right amount of resources and time, be traceable back to you. So there’s no complete anonymity. Second, Tor only tunnels browser traffic and perhaps name resolution requests. There’s a lot of other chatter emanating from your PC and bypassing tor.

Maybe a full tunnel vpn may reduce that, but the providers will be more than ready to hand you over if they are threatened.

Lastly, recall the NSA has been secretly and illegally intercepting ‘secure’ traffic for a very long time. They compromised PKI infrastucture long ago, meaning that they can snoop inside of vpn tunnels (and they’ve been doing so), rendering security on the internet to just a myth.

There was time I was a Linux admin, using squid server l would see what every pervert in the company was into, my racist boss loved black booty! Long story short can never be truly anonymous

Hizo terrabytes za safisha mecho pics ambazo ulisave from those perverts umekataa kabisa zitubenefit pia?

Did u know that govt agencies operatives engage in criminal activities to net the real criminals. This is the case with all those “secure & anonymous” modes of communication. Nobody is anonymous unless they are using the stoneage smoke signals to communicate

Kwani unatumia browser gani?

As a rule of thumb, you need to completely avoid anything that is offered by Microsoft and Google if you are thinking about privacy and anonymity. Also, be very cautious about free software. There is a saying in tech community that if it is free, then you are the product. Secondly, anonymity is just a myth when you look at it in the long term. A perfect example is the infamous silk road and how the platform was brought down by the Feds despite running purely on the dark web. It took time but the culprits were nailed down.

VPNs withs strict no logs policy don’t keep anything… all data deletes automatically upon disconnection.

When the Russian ambassador to Turkey was assassinated sometime back, ExpressVPN’s servers were seized by the investigating authorities, but no data could be found. The assassin is suspected to have used the VPN and it proved wise.

The encryption of data is such that what you do via VPN is impossible to detect… and no history is kept

So yes, there are some VPNs that WILL keep you anonymous… believe that.

VPN will protect your data (to some extent) but not your identity, the assassin is known by name isn’t he?

Even though nobody can be entirely anonymous, technology offers you an opportunity to increase the complexity and the time it takes to trace back to you. Nobody will be bothered to trace you if it takes 256 years of current computing power to trace you.

I use Linux(Kali Linux)- i never use Windows- then on KaliLinux, i run self-destructing VPN data. On the same Kali Linux, there is a virtual box running another Kali Linux or Whonix. I add another destructible VPN (I create this VPN) and then use Tor to browse dark web shit. Thus they have six layers of security and cryptography that one has to decipher.

Quantum computing is the only obstacle that researchers are worried about. I read that a quantum computer is able to break the cryptography code within 10 minutes (One that could take several years of current computing).

But you want the data you are accessing protected.
They have no case against you if they can’t see the data you accessed- This is what sold out the silk road founder.

But again never access the web with your identity, I would rather impersonate by taking over another computer and use it to access the web.

Your identity is a function of your data, no data… no identifying info.

The investigators got nothing from the VPN servers.

VPNs like Nord, Express, and a number of other high-end VPNs keep your identity masked. Not even your VPN provider can tell what you were doing.

Silk road is a poor example. The main man made silly mistakes.

instead of all that hapa kenya one can just register a sim card with fake details, then at least you will be anonymous as far as your genuine info is concerned.

but they know where you are in real time as well as historically, that is even worse

not necessarily. i paid for PI services some time back. You can get the general area based on the towers the phone is using, but pinpointing where the person is is a headache. you have to be really high vaue for anyone to bother beyond knowing the genera area where you are.

what the fuck are you buying or selling bruh to need this kind of anonymity?