Nigerian tech company acquired for 20 birrion

https://techcrunch.com/2020/10/15/stripe-acquires-nigerias-paystack-for-200m-to-expand-into-the-african-continent/?tpcc=ECTW2020&fbclid=IwAR3tZdk6P0MWAsoqLCxqYoqGQBq7cFZ3M65QFlYjCiYzO-0CDOOup5IPWso

Paystack devs did a great job on this one. Just like Flutterwave their API for CARD payments is very easy to integrate with in web and mobile apps and the documentation is spot on. Glad to hear that Stripe is buying the project. In 5 years or something Nigeria will be the finserve hub in Africa.

We need more stories like this coming out of africa… I dint know sendwave was a Kenyan idea.

@siwesclick

Not entirely true

Sendwave was founded by Drew Durbin and Lincoln Quirk, two engineers from Brown University and Harvard University.

jumia and 90% of all african startups are founded by wazungu …

How do those “stories” help Africa? Apart from kukamua waafrika sijai ona manufaa ya izo vitu watu huita “startups.” They never create employment or pay taxes, lakini kwa kila shillingi unatuma au kupokea wanakula kitu hapo

Trying to remember what was started by africans but haikuji hadi saa ingine najiambia labda msee alileta idea mezani kisha mzungu akaiba…sio kwa ubaya:D:D

In MIT, Havard Uni etc, there is a department focusing on African problems and how to solve them.
Some of these start ups are graduates of those departments. In your project, you write a bizz proposal and request for funding, say usd 100k, in US that’s small money, but in Africa it’s a fortune.

By the way, some come for internship here in kenya as part of the course.

that’s how akina Tala, Jumia, etc are founded. Because Africans can’t solve their own problems.