Nairobination "copied"

Along Muindi Mbingu Street, opposite I&M building, there used to be a ZAIN (Now Airtel) shop. I was just passing there on my way to Globe roundabout to take matatu no. 25 to Baba Dogo and then walk the remaining distance to Lucky summer estate when I saw a crowd of youths mingling around the entrance to the shop. I went closer and asked one of them what was going on. He told me the shop was hiring salespersons.

“I am interested.” I told him.

“Si uingie uulizie huko ndani.” He advised.

I walked inside and talked to a certain man. He told me to come start the following day at 8AM.

That night, after supper, I broke the news to my Uncle. I was staying with him after clearing KCSE.

“Congratulations.” He praised me.

“You have fare?” He asked. I said no. He gave me kshs 100. That should be enough, to & fro.

Around 7.30AM the next day, I was there in front of the shop. It was closed so I just stood there, watching pedestrians & cars in constant motion .

Other guys (or colleagues) also came and we stood there, in groups, conversing and anticipating better life in employment.

Around 8.30AM, the shop was opened. We were called in in groups of 2. When it was my turn, I paired with another lady and we went inside. We were given ZAIN branded T-shirts and handbags. And 100 ZAIN simcards each. We were instructed to go out in the streets and sell simcards at Kshs 50. For every simcard, commission was kshs 5. I did the math quickly and realised I could make kshs 500 that day if I sell all the simcards. Not bad. Not bad at all. We were instructed to surrender our ID cards. We would pick them when we go back to the office in the evening, as we do the math and get commission payment for the day’s work.

Outside, the lady suggested we walk together. She said we start from those sides of Tom Mboya Street because of high population.

“Me I want to go to Uhuru Park.” I said.

"Huko hakuna watu wengi. Twende hapo National Archives and Afya centre. Tukimaliza kuuza, turudi tuchukue zingine halafu twende Uhuru Park in the afternoon. Tutapata watu waki-relax hapo during lunchtime. " She made a lot of sense. I agreed and we commenced the trip, stopping random people and asking them if they could buy ZAIN simcards. That compared to Safaricom, the calls are cheaper in ZAIN network.

Along Wabera Street, the lady sold two simcards. Making a commission of kshs 10. Along Mama Ngina street, she sold 1 simcard. At the National Archives, none of us made sale. Along Tom Mboya Street, I sold 1. Around Afya centre, where we spent a considerable amount of time, I sold 1 and she sold 3. I suggested to her that we move to Uhuru Park. She agreed. We passed through Development House then crossed Moi avenue and joined Harambee Avenue. We turned right on Taifa Road and then left on City Hall Way.

As we were nearing the junction of city Hall way and Parliament Road, two people approached us and asked if we could sell to them ZAIN simcards. I was the first one to act. I fished out 5 simcards and started explaining why they are better than Safaricom. As I was explaining, one of them removed a handcuff and cuffed my hands. He then snatched my handbag. The other one handcuffed my partner. They asked us whether we are aware that hawking was not allowed along City Hall Way. We said we were not aware.

“Then twende, mtajieleza huko mbele.”

They walked us a short distance and shoved us inside a dilapidated and unroadworthy vehicle which was parked near The Holy Family Minor Basilica. We sat with the two at the back. The driver started the engine and drove us inside City Hall compound. Then we were thrown inside the underground city Hall cell.The lady to the female cell and I to the Male section. That was after surrendering our paraphernalia (Simcards, handbags, belt, phones). It was around 11.58AM.

I asked, through the grills, to speak to a police officer. Any officer.

“Unasema nini wewe jambazi? Umekuja Nairobi kuuza bangi?” An officer volunteered to attend to me. I told him I was not selling bhang. I requested if he could provide me with a phone to call my uncle. He did. I called my Uncle. He was working at City Hall annex. I told him what had happened. He told me not to worry. That he will be there shortly. After 2 hours or so, he arrived and I was allowed to speak to him through the grills. He informed me they will take me to court shortly and advised me to plead guilty to whichever crime I will be accused of. The Judge will charge me a fine for being a petty offender. Then he would pay for me the fine. That way, the matter will be solved easily. That if I plead innocent, I will be remanded and this will complicate things.

Taking my stand at the dock, with two police officers standing behind me, the charges against me were read out loud; 1. Hawking along Undesignated streets. 2.Drunk and Disorderly. 3. Loitering. 4. Refusing to Pay City Council Toilet after Using. 5. Abusing Law enforcement officers. 6. Vandalising Road signs.

“Do you plead guilty or not guilty?” The judge asked me, looking at me straight in the eye.

I tensed. Sweated. I looked at my Uncle. He was seated at the very back of the Bar, following the proceedings keenly. He shook his head up & down signalizing me to say Yes. I looked at the judge.

“I plead guilty.” I answered.

(If you are that lady we were arrested with, please inbox me and give me your side of the story. What happened to you?)

Niliona hii hekaya wonderlust leo morning.

Weewe maliza story

Ghasia takataka mbwa maliza story

Hii stori ulisema utaimalizia lini?