MPESA AGENTS CLOSED FOR 6 MONTHS & PUNISHED

I don’t understand how this story isn’t appearing all over.

Three days ago, thousands of mpesa agents country wide had their agent lines closed for 6months with their money inside, and their February 2021 commissions withheld by Safaricom.
It was explained that it was because the agents had been involved in fraudulent activities (multiple deposits to the same numbers, remote transactions, bank fraud-the worst one etc).
Instances of mpesa attendants being sacked because of this have skyrocketed, depression is clearly visible at most of their shops (note that the agents feel ashamed because if they speak up to ask why an active fraudulent activity-bank fraud, is given the same punishment as depositing 3 or more times to the same customer in one day, no one responds.

The monopoly saf has ensures media outlets wont touch this story.
People are suffering in silence and no one seems to care (CAK, Judiciary, media outlets,)

Safaricom hutumia wakenya vibaya. Countries zote zenye zinajirespect zilikataa Mpesa.
Mpesa iko kenya na zile countries masikini only.
Tanzania, Mozambique, DRC, Lesotho, Ghana, Egypt, Afghanistan, India, Romania, and Albania.

Hakuna pesa yyote Safaricom imeinvest kwa Mpesa. SMS tu ile hucost 50 cents ndio wao hutumia kukamua wakenya billions. Shop ni zetu. Rangi tunapaka sisi wenyewe. Pesa zenye tunaoperate nazo ni zetu sisi wenyewe. Risk tunabear sisi wenyewe. Thousands of kenyans have lost their lives because of Mpesa.

I imagine if this happened in another country kungekuwa congressional hearings, class action lawsuits, CEO stepping down, interviews with agents/victims. Instead…silence

Tangu nipoteze 23K kwa mpesa staki maneno mimi wacha tu ni deal na watu wa bank

Nani mwingine ako na ushuhudha

Hii story, an agent friend of mine huko shagz called me and said if I can get him 1m, per day he will be transacting 7m through those deposits, send to bank load to mpesa float.
Profit per day will be like 30 to 40k. In a month or so umebreak even. I didn’t want to tell him how its easy to track such transactions. A simple data analysis will just get you and send you home.
Sasa hashiki simu, I am very sure the hammer fell.

In 2015, after being conned twice and 114000 loss later, I closed my mpesa shop.

Sasa this past sato I integrated mpesa into my business…

Sikujua guys wameumia hivi

Nieleweshe, I have 10k …if I send to bank and shit si it reduces due to transaction charges? And those charges is what safaricom shares with agents?

M-Pesa business and regulations are designed in the favor of Safaricom… There are lots of flaws in it and yet Safaricom is never punished and never loses anything… only the users…

[ATTACH=full]352331[/ATTACH]

The tarrifs for an agent are different, if one deposits 50k to you account they get like 150… Hope hufanyi kazi kwa safaricom

Nope… I had the biz in 2015. Got conned nikatoka. Sato nimerudi

This is the bank fraud that agents expected was going to be punished. Because its actual fraud, fraud with intention. Not the ones where jua kali customers come several times to deposit throughout the day, then its said to be split deposits.

I’m assuming someone over there figured this was a good way to get extra money, and no one said no to them.

Airtel, Telkom, smoke signals…

Why remain with SafCom? BTW, MPesa revolutionized the banking industry… the infrastructure is Safaricom’s… the greatest risk is Safaricom’s. Mwenye MPesa, your risk ni kama tu ya mtu wa duka ya kawaida (wezi wanaeza kuja)

When you withdraw and get cash from an agent, the message from Saf is considered as good as money… what risk is there on your part? Safcom has the risk that if anything happens to the system, they owe you or the agent.

I hate it when villagers are ignorant to the basics of economy

Mimi customers wameniomba for five years niwaletee mpesa, nawaambia sigwes na sigwes. Hiyo ni ku-invite kifo from armed thugs in addition to getting conned by rogue safaricom employees and receiving shitty commissions. Sina tamaa mimi, acha nitosheke na mapeni yangu.

Hii comment yako inanifanya nifikirie if I still wanna do mpesa

Those who know more about the economy than you, and their economies are thriving more than ours, and they own the companies which own the companies owning mpesa, have said Mpesa is a form of slavery and not good for their countries.

I lost thirty… alafu the safaricom nigga has the balls to tell me that the person who received the cash alikuwa na fuliza so the transaction cannot be reversed despite cancelling the transaction

Saf shits

Those are countries that have an equivalent in the name of credit cards and local money transfer agencies…

They don’t need Mobile Money transfers to the degree Kenya does because they have equivalent structures to meet the demand.

How is Safaricom slavery when you WILLINGLY buy their services where others are available?