Masculinity

As an african man, Would you tell your old man or sibling bro that you love them? What’s your opinion?

Show them words means far less

‘I love you’ sio kitu men huexpect to hear from their imediate family na hata hivyo hatusemagi . It’s unnatural and uncomfortable for some, and unnecessary for a lot of others.
It’s an oedipal thing. Mothers affirm their sons, and fathers affirm their daughters,its very common.
If i see a text or i hear i love you from fam,i panic.

African culture has no room for those things,in swahili, for example, there is no distinction between like and love,saying i love you has that weird foriegn conotation to it making it sound so uncomfortable.

But ni vile tuko socialised, from the moment we were children, born as blank pages and we begin to learn through the process of socialisation.

The family takes the active role of socialisation, when you’re not told that as a child, you grow up seeking affirmation from the wrong places.Kama hapa kwa kijiji kulikua na argument who has more likes [SIZE=1]¯_(ツ)_/¯.
feels good to have more likes don’t it?[/SIZE]
Its easy to say i love you to your kunguru or spouse since there is an element of sexuality to it, which is why ma ndume are afraid of saying it to another man…It is geh.

I do say i love you to my niglets and more so to my daughters i thell them i love them, that they are beautiful so that when they grow up they don’t run to the first person to say it to them.

We are in an African setting where some things are cringed upon. Those things are best left to the white man. Even here I see its awkward to hug your mum or dad.

Mostly love is associated with romance and sexual attraction to it. If you tell a kunguru you love her, it will be perfectly normal since you are attracted to her sexually. If you tell a family member you lover him/her people will take it awkwardly and the wrong way. Growing up my parents never said the words to me but they did in actions i.e buy me gifts, take you out etc.

But we are making some leeway…

Why would I tell them

Or need to

Action speaks louder than words - [SIZE=1]mpango aliniambia ‘i love u’, tangu apate boyfie simuoni[/SIZE]

Depends on the family.
Ive always been hearing i love you from the parents ever since i was a kid and i still hear them today.
My parents are always quick to remind us that regardless of how old we grow…we will always be their babies.
Personally…i wouldnt use such words with male relatives…hawa wasee wame harden mbaya. I just gift them as i deem fit.
It all depends on the family.
Juu recently after a family function some relas were quick to point out how tight and close our family was all meals at the dinner table no phones allowed, good mornings good night and God bless are daily utterances.

Akanyal tell male relatives I love them

Huo ni ushoga wa hali ya juu. Instead lipia bro school fees, jengea uncle cowshed stocked with a few zebus au nunulia baba yako kabuti, mattress na blanket but never engage in uhomo ya I love you.

I love you ni wewe na watu wenyu.