Magufuli haters kujeni na msitumane.

[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]You can only wish your Kaburu worshipping president who sends flowers to kaburu while destroying homes of thousands of Kenyans can be like Magufuli. Don’t forget Tullow Oil is demanding 400 billion shillings from Kenyan taxpayers and they will probably get it.
If you can Ignore the little mistreatment of Kenyans you will see Magufuli is putting Tanzania people first which is what soberb presidents do. Huku kwetu Kenyans are not even top 4 in hierarchy because Chinese are the newest caste. Anyways

[SIZE=7]Barrick pays Tanzania initial $100 million after gold shipments resume. [/SIZE]

By Nuzulack Dausen

DAR ES SALAAM (Reuters) - Barrick’s Tanzania subsidiary Twiga Minerals has resumed exports of gold concentrate after receiving clearance for its first shipments since the lifting of a government ban imposed during a tax dispute with the mining company.

The dispute originally involved Acacia Mining, which was taken over by Barrick last year. The Tanzanian government imposed a ban on exporting mineral concentrates in 2017 after accusing Acacia of tax evasion.

Tanzania said it would lift the ban on Jan. 24 when the two parties signed a deal in which the government took a 16% stake in Twiga Minerals - a new joint venture managing Barrick’s three gold mines.

“In terms of its framework agreement with the government, the shipping of some 1,600 containers of concentrate stockpiled from Bulyanhulu and Buzwagi resumed in April and the first $100 million received from the sale has gone to the government,” Barrick said in a statement on Monday.

“This initial payment will be followed by five annual payments of $40 million each.”

The deal to end the dispute included a settlement of $300 million to be paid by Barrick to the government.

Earlier on Monday Simon Msanjila, permanent secretary at Tanzania’s ministry of minerals, told Reuters that Twiga has been allowed to export the gold.

Barrick CEO Mark Bristow told Reuters on Jan. 27 that the gold to be exported was worth between $260 million and $280 million.

The more than three-month wait to export the containers has played in Barrick’s favour, given that the price of gold has climbed by about 9% since the end of January, with investors buying the precious metal as a safe-haven asset as the coronavirus pandemic spread.

Barrick also said that 90% of outstanding land claims at its North Mara mine have been settled, with payment scheduled to start on Monday. The North Mara mine has been hit by disputes pitting the community against the mining company.

(Reporting by Nuzulack Dausen in Dar es Salaam; Writing by Helen Reid in Johannesburg; Editing by Mark Potter, Emelia Sithole-Matarise and David Goodman)

Saidieni, nimeshindwa kuendelea past hapa

I wish Magufuli a good fortune in any war to come, against western parasitic owners of capital

By forcing multinationals to pay taxes and royalties which they had resisted hard he is protecting Tanzania people. The taxpayer money will finance the major infrastructure projects that would have been financed through loans.

He is kinda hard on Kenyans but as far as protecting and serving his nation I give him grade [SIZE=7]A[/SIZE]

Here I agree with you bro, my issue is the way he is ignoring the current health challenges. He might be tough on multinationals, but dismissing a current health crisis isn’t doing good to his people.

Oh yes. Hapo I don’t know what he is doing.

Hapo Pombe yuko sawa ! not like our drunk arselicker

You are gloating about a $100 million payment.
Poor country problems.
Take back your poverty to Jamiiforums.

100,000,000X107= 10,700,000,000/=
10.7 B/= is a lot of money.
Then employees in the mining companies pay taxes when they are buying goods and services in the economy
I’m sure 10.7B/= can go much further in Tanzania because cost of living is much lower than in Kenya

Plus $200m accumulation in 5years plus that Tanzania has a stake in the company and the gold is state owned.
That is ksh10billion mind you
But you rather he gloat about thika superhighway or sgr.
There is a positive move from the one about Zambian copper.

Shida ni the white man doesn’t forget he will bide his time and strike it will be a lesson that the natives should know their place, usi shangae all of a sudden guerilla groups start popping up in Tanzania and fools in Zanzibar start agitating for independence !

Why what happened? Glencore has raped Zambia for too long. They need a president who believes in kaa ngumu like former Westlands MP Fred Gumo

Saw a documentary,those guys don’t even respect environmental protection guidelines. The state is deep in their pockets.

He has done a good job, he is patriotic and his followers are too which gives him huge advantage. If it was kenya several people would have been given one or two billion hio story inaisha. I congratulate him

Wish more countries could do this , waseme they can only export ingots or parts made from the mineral ,sio hii mambo ya exporting ore ! If im not wrong Namibia exports processed diamonds hata kama the comapny De beers is foreign they still employ alot of Namibians and there is alot of knowledge transfer , Im sure some of the best diamond cutters and experts are Namibian !

That documentary was rough ! Yani this guys had made super profits and refused to share with their source of wealth ! and their little Scandinavian country was noted as the biggest producer of copper despite not having a single mine !

In SA they made a mountain of toxic radio active dust !

:D:Dmy knowledge on the situation is old
What I know is the company is swiss owned.
The status quo then at areas neighbouring the mines the people are neglected and Zambians(average citizen) sees little benefit off the copper.

Touch that company then you will see IMF and World Bank start recalling its old loans. Zambia wants to really but they see how USA did to Zimbabwe currency and they stay put. By controlling world banking channels like SWIFT not to accept your currency international trade declines and the net worth of your currency plummet to nothing.

Hapa tumeshikwa makende

It’s no even Swiss owned. That’s just a move to avoid taxes.:D:D:D