Magufuli atamaliza kenya

Kenya’s chance of extending the SGR to other countries in Eastern and Central Africa was dealt a major blow, after Tanzania’s President John Pombe Magufuli reached out to leaders from other countries in the region, for a deal to extend his country’s SGR to their nations.

According to a report by Xinhua, Tanzania’s Transport Minister Isaack Kamwelwe, met other leaders from neighbouring Burundi and the Democratic Republic of Congo on December 3, where they settled on a deal to have the modern railway extended to the two countries. Rwanda is also reported to be a party to the agreement.

In the deal, Tanzania is expected to serve Burundi which is a landlocked country and DRC, which has a coastline of only 40 kilometres on the Atlantic Ocean, therefore lacking the ability to construct a feasible port that would ease transport.

Kenya was hoping to use its own SGR to benefit from the transport of cargo to the neighbouring countries that don’t have a port.

The agreement has also been strengthened by an earlier announcement by President Magufuli on November 27, that Rwanda had also agreed to be part of the project.

“In principle, Rwandan President Paul Kagame has agreed to jointly implement the project,” Magufuli spoke.

According to Tanzania’s Minister Kamwelwe, a feasibility study is ongoing being conducted by HP Gulf of Germany for the grand railway project and will be completed at the end of January 2020.

In June 2019, DRC President Felix Tshisekedi, while on a visit at Dar es Salaam, indicated that the extension of the SGR to Rubavu would open up trade opportunities for the country which entirely depends on the ports of Dar es Salaam and Mombasa for imports and exports.

Tanzania could edge out Kenya for goods headed to the three countries.

Kenya hasn’t been able to complete the SGR line from Nairobi to Malaba, recently reaching Suswa at the completion of phase 2A of the project.

Tz just antagonizing kenya!!! Ni kama mtoi anasema if i cant have that toy then you cant also… Meffi bongolala

Hakuna antagonism. Willing seller, willing buyer. Kenya tunajenga sgr at twice the price ile Tz wanatumia. Sasa what do you expect Kenya to charge for its use?

We decided to eat at the expense of common good.

Askari gongo uko na akili kweli? Just accept Kenyans fucked up big time. Even with monopolistic behaviour, our SGR will never pay for itself.

Burundi and drc are all failed state, chances of them building an sgr is absolutely nill… next please

This is the price of greed and corruption. The consequences.

Mtaka vyote, hukosa vyote. Our neighbors are charging ahead full steam.

So in your “wisdom” opening up other competitors will help it achieve its repayment??? Wacha kutumia kichwa kama kabati ya meno! Good reasoning dictates that if you find yourself in a hole stop digging!!! Thats why its in kenyas best interests to sabotage any other alternatives in its infancy so as to give our a chance!!! Regardless of how we got it!

Makes perfect sense, we don’t share a common border with landlocked Rwanda and DRC. Magufuli does, so why not push for it?

Wake me when its done. I still remember the pipeline

I can’t engage you coz your head is high up somewhere where the sun never shines. Your analogy of a hole is stupid in the Kenyan context coz by the govt stopping digging(forcing cargo on SGR), it shoots itself in the foot by foregoing taxes derived from having a vibrant coastal economy as well as the attendant economic activity on the msa-malaba route. Let me try to break it down for you:-
[ol]
[li]The PAYE and income tax derived from businesses in Mombasa and along the old cargo route is foregone,[/li][li]Jobs are at risk thus higher unemployment rates,[/li][li]The dry port is on Gatheca’s land hence pesa kwa mifuko ya individuals,[/li][li]1 billion paid to a shadowy SGR operator from your taxes,[/li][li]Nimechoka kutype.[/li][/ol]
If that sounds like a govt that has stopped digging, then your head needs to be examined.

I find it very interesting how we find it easy to blame “others” for our woes and tribulations without addressing the in-house issues that make others look at us like you’d look at a hyena…

How was the SGR supposed to reach those countries you have mentioned if it could not get to Kisumu to start with?? Were those countries to wait for us untill we pay our current loans in order to qualify for additional loans to extend the SGR to those other countries??

Magufuli snatched the project from Kenya in 2017 and to this day it has not even started.
It seems that Magufuli’s thing is to take projects away from Kenya and let them die

Tz is very good at “headlines projects” but nothing on the ground. This story comes up every 6 months for the last 3 years but nothing is ever done. You will also realized they never mention where the funding is coming from and very opaque on the details.

:D:D magufuli is good at dreaming aongeze hata Somalia na Yemen Kwa hio agreement