Local TV reviews

So Nyamgondho is back in the TV market to get another set ( I already have an LG). This time the budget is between 70K - 150K. I did a preliminary visit to my favourite LG shop on Luthuli avenue sometime last week but waliniangusha. They did not know that LG even makes QNED TVs! I told them that Opalnet (an LG distributor in Kenya) is advertising the TV already! They didn’t know there is such a TV model. So as I wait to see the LG QNED I will be checking other TVs with a screen size of 55" to 65".

I have heard very nice things about the Hisense U7G apparently this TV model has put most TCLs, Samsungs and LG TVs to shame. So I will be checking it out. Also, I will have a look at TCL QLED TVs that are available locally. I also hear there is a mini-Led tv from TCL that is available locally. I will also have a look.

If you want me to take a look at a certain TV model, kindly let Nyamgondho Wuod Ombare know on this thread. Limit your suggestions to brands that are available online ( I am not going to look at brands like Synix- forget it!)

Also my criteria for looking at TVs follow this model

Image quality > connectivity/feature set > build quality > use case scenario > Price.

Generally if a cheaper tv offers 95% of what a very expensive TV offers I will shift to the cheaper TV. Unless the expensive one has a feature that I need to use immediately.

Make your suggestions and wait upon the Nyamgondho.

Ujaruo ni gharama

I can’t buy from here. I would fly it in all the way from Bharata! I know i would have a hard time choosing from either Nokia or Motorola!

Oh! I already feel bad for not thinking about the Huawei and the Mi TV 4S series.

To me, the lgs, Samsungs, tcls, etc, are too traditional for my liking.

Sony x900h ksh 120k for 65in.

Ujatag gurgantuan

HizI stereotypes mazee

So unamaanisha ni wajaluo pekee wako na hizo TV

Nyamagotho who’s your Tv plug hapo luthuli , you keep vouching for them and I believe they’re legit , recommend him to me and give me the cordinates asap I might drop by …

Jaruos love humongous and flashy things

@Nyamgondho Does Lg have any tvs that’s using miniled technology and if yes are they currently available in Kenya ? Am aware Samsung got high end miniled Tvs eg Samsung QN90A but do we have midrange miniled Tvs ? If available are they available here in Kenya .

Ukipata hii, leta review

It’s true they are traditional but really solid. The boutique brands like Nokia, Oneplus and Motorola are trying to appeal in style but have to buy panels from the Samsung’s, LGs and TCLs of this world. Then they try to add a bunch of features to appeal to the young demographic. But in truth the quality is wanting and I haven’t seen really positive reviews on any of these brands from professional reviewers (those measuring brightness, colour and contrast)

I really warn people about buying TVs online or importing one. It’s really a gamble and it doesn’t work most of the time. It will only work if you don’t mind things like “dirty screen” effect, dead pixels, colour inaccuracy etc. Every time I watch TV reviews I see people returning TV units back to the manufacturer because of dirty screen effect, dead pixels or poor colour calibration. Countries like US have a very good return policy which may allow you to keep the TV for almost a month before returning and asking for a refund (no questions asked). People like Caleb Denison return one in every five TVs.

If you really want to get the best panel in Kenya, lazima uione kwa macho.

Sawa, I will put a review for each model. Karibu.

LG QNED is a mini-led TV. I haven’t seen it listed in Kenya but Opalnet -kenya have been advertising it. But I haven’t seen local pricing.

Let me get the Name of the shop once I am back in Nairobi. Lakini, always call LG Kenya/east africa (wako mombasa road) to confirm if the serial number is genuine. Most LGs sold hapo Luthuli are from Middle East akina dubai. They are not bad, but ikiharibika ni wewe na shopkeeper. Hakuna kuenda mahali.

Okay, I will check this one out hapo Anisuma. The service hapo is really nice plus they can leave you with the TV for even 30 minutes as you test. And no one is disappointed ukisema afterwards “Wacha nifike hapa nikuje”

Sure, inbox me the moment you get it will appreciate and thanks for the hints on confirming the serial number …will always heed that advise.

Looks like it’s a high end miniled device , how about Samsung ? In another thread that I was following here you guys said that Samsung is the king when it comes to making miniled tvs . This i could agree based on rtings reviews .Also with the risk of burn ins especially with the OLED screens I think one choosing miniled over OLED would be a wise decision . my thoughts though .

LG’s prices are over the roof. They sell a 2020 CX 65 screen for probably 350k+. I wouldn’t strongly recommend @syndicate for any talker looking to get quality electronics.

Plug ni @syndicate Got all of my major electronics from him and rarely, in fact never have I had an issue it’s probably 5 years down the line.

Like Nyamgondho has said, when it comes to TVs mimi lazma niende nicheki in person na nicheze na TV for couple of minutes. Now the miniLED specs looks good on paper, but is that really the case in real life when compared to sweet smooth clean OLED?